Clear History

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2013
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 9, 2013
    60
    A perverse parable of envy and misfortune that loses some steam as it turns into a wacky but predictable revenge caper that you know can't end well.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Despite a number of funny lines sprinkled through the script, this History isn't very memorable. It seems more like Larry David's What I Did on My Summer Vacation project.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 7, 2013
    60
    While it’s fun to see the band Chicago drawn into a subplot about the sexual history of Nathan’s ex (Amy Ryan)--or savor an in-joke playing off the name of HBO CEO Richard Plepler--even some of those intricately woven gags feel like a bit of a distraction.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    It all feels like “Curb”-cutting-room-floor material set atop a feeble plotline and a group of unrealized and disposable supporting performances. Clear History is pretty, pretty average.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    If your a fan of Larry David, i'm sure you will find this comedy enough appealing. The cast alone is worth the watch and the material isIf your a fan of Larry David, i'm sure you will find this comedy enough appealing. The cast alone is worth the watch and the material is usually funny. Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    3
    Childish story, Flat direction, boring acting, but somewhere between the emptiness and the Larry Davids socio schizophrenia he is introducing,Childish story, Flat direction, boring acting, but somewhere between the emptiness and the Larry Davids socio schizophrenia he is introducing, formalized enjoyment can jump through the fireplace Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    I love "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and really enjoy Larry David's unique, neurotic humor and since it looks like "Curb" is dead and we'll see noI love "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and really enjoy Larry David's unique, neurotic humor and since it looks like "Curb" is dead and we'll see no more of it, we get the next best thing: "Clear History."

    The HBO movie is definitely hilarious but it does feel overly familiar as it looks like an extended episode of "Curb." Also, a lot of the really great cast is never used to their potential and often feel like background characters--for example, Danny McBride goes viciously underutilized.

    Overall, while the film has some issues in the fact it feels like the same thing we've seen over and over again, the movie is still pretty funny and can easily satisfy the hole left behind from "Curb."
    Full Review »