Clear History

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2013
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    If your a fan of Larry David, i'm sure you will find this comedy enough appealing. The cast alone is worth the watch and the material is usually funny.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    6
    On par with some of the lesser Curb episodes; which is to say good enough to keep you watching, but not good enough to actually make you laugh all that much. The problem here is that the main character is just too abrasive to be likable. At his best Mr. David is funnier than almost anyone on TV, but at his worst he can be cringe inducing. Many of the scenarios herein fall firmly into thatOn par with some of the lesser Curb episodes; which is to say good enough to keep you watching, but not good enough to actually make you laugh all that much. The problem here is that the main character is just too abrasive to be likable. At his best Mr. David is funnier than almost anyone on TV, but at his worst he can be cringe inducing. Many of the scenarios herein fall firmly into that category, and thus watching Clear History can at times be an unpleasant experience. But I do admit to watching the whole thing and laughing more than a few times, mostly at the banter of the supporting cast. The casting director really did a good job on this one. And as always with Mr. David's work the plotting is surprisingly intricate; the twists and turns and "aha!" moments associated with Seinfeld and CYE are as plentiful and clever as ever. It's definitely worth a watch. Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    3
    Childish story, Flat direction, boring acting, but somewhere between the emptiness and the Larry Davids socio schizophrenia he is introducing, formalized enjoyment can jump through the fireplace
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    I love "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and really enjoy Larry David's unique, neurotic humor and since it looks like "Curb" is dead and we'll see no more of it, we get the next best thing: "Clear History."

    The HBO movie is definitely hilarious but it does feel overly familiar as it looks like an extended episode of "Curb." Also, a lot of the really great cast is never used to their potential
    I love "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and really enjoy Larry David's unique, neurotic humor and since it looks like "Curb" is dead and we'll see no more of it, we get the next best thing: "Clear History."

    The HBO movie is definitely hilarious but it does feel overly familiar as it looks like an extended episode of "Curb." Also, a lot of the really great cast is never used to their potential and often feel like background characters--for example, Danny McBride goes viciously underutilized.

    Overall, while the film has some issues in the fact it feels like the same thing we've seen over and over again, the movie is still pretty funny and can easily satisfy the hole left behind from "Curb."
    Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2017
    7
    The story of how to mess up the second chance as well.

    A much better film than I anticipated from the director of 'Superbad'. This is a television film, that's the sad part, but the production quality was like made for the big screens. From the title to the performances and the locations, all were very good. This is the tale of a man who gave up his share in a startup to realise it a
    The story of how to mess up the second chance as well.

    A much better film than I anticipated from the director of 'Superbad'. This is a television film, that's the sad part, but the production quality was like made for the big screens. From the title to the performances and the locations, all were very good. This is the tale of a man who gave up his share in a startup to realise it a few years later that he had lost a big fortune. And his second chance, how he's going to react and what he gets is what the film was focused.

    The casting was really good. Even for the tiny roles, many big names came in. But Larry David ruled as the story presented from his perspective. Don't ignore it thinking it is a small screen product, because this was a unique story and very entertaining. Almost a perfect flick, including a fine pace. But in a few segments, it dragged with unnecessary scenes. More like unneeded developments to stretch the runtime. Though there's no complaint for the overall film. It's not a must see film, but if you miss it you are going to miss out a good entertainment. And finally, I liked the end credits.

    7/10
    Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Aug 12, 2013
    70
    For better and worse, it feels like an extended version of a "Curb Your Enthusiasm" episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 12, 2013
    70
    It plays in many ways like a leisurely, bucolic version of "Curb," with a larger cast of characters and something like a "journey" for the main character.
  3. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Aug 9, 2013
    70
    With its seaside setting and lighthearted fun, Clear History is a kind of pleasant, late-summer gazpacho, enjoyed to the sounds of Chicago and debates about whether there is a racial preference between black and white dwarves.