Close to Home : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JamesS
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    daring and thought-provoking stories (so far) and main characters whose career-making-or-breaking behavior is driven by doing-the-right-thing make this a refreshing hour of TV for me -- PS: please tell the producers that the American Flag shown at the beginning and end with the "Close to Home" wall is displayed incorrectly (blue should be at top left) -- I'll be watching for this daring and thought-provoking stories (so far) and main characters whose career-making-or-breaking behavior is driven by doing-the-right-thing make this a refreshing hour of TV for me -- PS: please tell the producers that the American Flag shown at the beginning and end with the "Close to Home" wall is displayed incorrectly (blue should be at top left) -- I'll be watching for this important symbolism to be corrected on future episodes! Expand
  2. SusanM
    Oct 19, 2005
    6
    Was hoping for better. Ms Finnegan is a good actress but I don't think this character fits her all that well. So far there has been little development of her supporting characters. However, I have enjoyed the story lines. I had hoped to like the show a bit more but at least its not painful to watch. Its just fair. Frankly, I miss Judging Amy in this time slot. That was a heck of a Was hoping for better. Ms Finnegan is a good actress but I don't think this character fits her all that well. So far there has been little development of her supporting characters. However, I have enjoyed the story lines. I had hoped to like the show a bit more but at least its not painful to watch. Its just fair. Frankly, I miss Judging Amy in this time slot. That was a heck of a cast and although the show was a bit "soapy," I didn't mind at all. I miss Tyne Daly most of all. Expand
  3. RuthB
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Great show.
  4. DawnA
    Jan 5, 2006
    1
    Boring. I don't like the show at all.
  5. JohnBW
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Jim Leonard Spins a good yarn. Very believable storylines....
  6. SusanM.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Wonderful show! A good Canadian girl heads up the cast. If this isn't a hit, there's something seriously wrong with the viewing public.
  7. PaulH
    Oct 16, 2005
    0
    show stunk bad.
  8. DianaL
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    better than most shows out there
  9. JessicaS
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    The storylines are very interesting and the crimes are different than those from any other drama in this genre. The lead character is direct and non-abrasive like on other shows and gives lawyers a good name. It is nice to see something different in the crime drama genre.
  10. bRIANb
    Oct 19, 2005
    0
    This show was horrible and needs to be taken off the air immediately
  11. HopeD.
    Oct 25, 2005
    8
    The cast is good. The show takes place in Indianapolis, however, the if you listen closely to the charaters accent's, one would be lead to believe they were in the deep south rather than the midwest or perhaps in "The Bible Belt" since the cases seem to have a slight religious overtone and the attitudes of the characters are a bit conservative. Perhaps a visit to Indianapolis might The cast is good. The show takes place in Indianapolis, however, the if you listen closely to the charaters accent's, one would be lead to believe they were in the deep south rather than the midwest or perhaps in "The Bible Belt" since the cases seem to have a slight religious overtone and the attitudes of the characters are a bit conservative. Perhaps a visit to Indianapolis might be a pleasant surprise to the writers and the cast and might change the way Hoosiers are portrayed. It almost feels like a generic version of the CSI shows...would it be more interesting to see it as CSI Indianapolis? This show has potential if it can manage to lose the religious, conservative overtones while attempting to portray suburbian, smaller towns. Expand
  12. SandraA
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Excellant Program and Cast. I love the program and watch it every week if I can.
  13. emmab
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    Christian Kane is so LUSH!!! i luv his so much but think he shud b in the show more!
  14. angieq
    Mar 11, 2006
    9
    Jennifer Finnigan is captivating as a suburban Mom with whom we can identify...having to choose between home and a career...and as a lead prosecutor...smart, witty and entirely believable. I hope this show will be renewed..we look forward to it each week and it never fails to pleasel
  15. LynaN
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    This show is great! Every case will sure to get viewers attention. I normally don't watch legal shows but this is one I never miss. And this show is getting better and better then before.
  16. JoanK
    May 12, 2006
    9
    Great show. However tonight's show (May 12) writers forgot they were supposedly in Indiana. Indiana jury would never have found Cantrell not guilty. Remember Mike Tyson went to jail....
  17. JimP
    May 15, 2006
    1
    More of the same with this show. In same genre as CSI, CSI Miami, Numbers, Cold Case, CSI NY, - how about something original?
  18. LilyH
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this show!! I think the cast is great, and Jennifer Finnigan is my favourite actress!
  19. AF
    Apr 6, 2007
    0
    I usually like this type of show. But this show seems predicitable, judgemental and ridiculously right-wing. I think the main actress could be very good. It's a shame her talents are wasted on this conservative predictable tightly wound drivel.
  20. JohnS
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Well written and executed! It made me laugh and cry. Intelligent, witty and articulate, bravo prime time tv.
  21. KP
    Oct 18, 2005
    5
    This show isn't so bad I'll refuse to have it on even for ignored background noise, but there's nothing really redeeming about it either. The first episode, I was so many steps in front of the characters in figuring things out that it was annoying (rather than rewarding in the "see! I was right!" sense that that sort of foreshadowing is supposed to give the viewer). It was This show isn't so bad I'll refuse to have it on even for ignored background noise, but there's nothing really redeeming about it either. The first episode, I was so many steps in front of the characters in figuring things out that it was annoying (rather than rewarding in the "see! I was right!" sense that that sort of foreshadowing is supposed to give the viewer). It was *obvious* to me what the outcome would be, and it took the characters so long to get there that I was ready to smack them upside the head. None of the interesting twists you'd expect from this kind of show. Nonetheless, until someone puts something more interesting in a competing timeslot, my TV will likely be tuned to this show when it's on and I'm home. ... even if just for the background noise. Definitely not one to TiVo. Collapse
  22. RachelT
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    great show Ms Finnegan is very good
  23. chrisp
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    This show is yet another crime drama, but I really like this one. I've seen about five episodes and they have all been great. The storylines are exciting and the acting is superb. The fact that these crimes occur in the suburbs give the average viewer a chance to feel like this could happen to them. Plus, Annabeth is hot. Not supermodel hot, but hot like the type of girl you want to This show is yet another crime drama, but I really like this one. I've seen about five episodes and they have all been great. The storylines are exciting and the acting is superb. The fact that these crimes occur in the suburbs give the average viewer a chance to feel like this could happen to them. Plus, Annabeth is hot. Not supermodel hot, but hot like the type of girl you want to bring home to meet the parents. I'm going to watch this show every Friday. Well, I'm not that big of a loser I have DVR. Move this show to a weeknight. It's a winner! Expand
  24. CARAW
    Sep 26, 2006
    4
    I can't believe you killed off Annabeth's husband. What...just to add more love interests for her. Wha't wrong with have a strong mother, husband, baby juggling "real" life. I loved the show for that very reason and now you have killed by reason for watching the show. Strike one! Then you replace John Carroll Lynch. I loved him in this show. Strike Two. You think not having I can't believe you killed off Annabeth's husband. What...just to add more love interests for her. Wha't wrong with have a strong mother, husband, baby juggling "real" life. I loved the show for that very reason and now you have killed by reason for watching the show. Strike one! Then you replace John Carroll Lynch. I loved him in this show. Strike Two. You think not having a strong committed relationship on a TV is bad for ratings. Bull*&#@. I will no longer watch this TV show. Expand
  25. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    By far the best of the Bruckheimer shows, it is a shame it was not on the air longer. It blended drama and humor so well, something that is sorely missing in most of contemporary television.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Alynda Wheat
    42
    Home isn't a bad show--it's just bad-intentioned. [7 Oct 2005, p.64]
  2. Finnigan, who was so right in NBC's loopy comedy "Committed," lacks the heft for the role of the no-nonsense prosecutor. Not that, as written, the role would be easy for anyone. It requires Annabeth to be a vigorous and energetic protagonist and, simultaneously, a weepy young mother with postpartum blues.
  3. 50
    What would otherwise be a tedious collection of working-mom and lawyer-show clich├ęs is saved by an excellent cast.