• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Close to Home Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 75
    Women -- especially young mothers juggling responsibilities at home and the office — will find much with which to identify in the story of Annabeth.
  2. 63
    Finnigan's performance dovetails perfectly with Close's neat if heavy- handed dramatic concept. [17 Oct 2005, p.39]
  3. 60
    [The show has] married the procedural to melodrama, with occasionally intriguing results.
  4. 50
    The trouble with this drama is that it doesn't veer much from the often dark tone of the other procedurals from the Bruckheimer TV factory.
  5. Finnigan, who was so right in NBC's loopy comedy "Committed," lacks the heft for the role of the no-nonsense prosecutor. Not that, as written, the role would be easy for anyone. It requires Annabeth to be a vigorous and energetic protagonist and, simultaneously, a weepy young mother with postpartum blues.
  6. 25
    Crusading criminal prosecutor Annabeth Chase... [is] the most irritating lead character on any new drama series this fall.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    By far the best of the Bruckheimer shows, it is a shame it was not on the air longer. It blended drama and humor so well, something that isBy far the best of the Bruckheimer shows, it is a shame it was not on the air longer. It blended drama and humor so well, something that is sorely missing in most of contemporary television. Collapse
  2. RachelT
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    great show Ms Finnegan is very good
  3. JamesS
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    daring and thought-provoking stories (so far) and main characters whose career-making-or-breaking behavior is driven by doing-the-right-thing daring and thought-provoking stories (so far) and main characters whose career-making-or-breaking behavior is driven by doing-the-right-thing make this a refreshing hour of TV for me -- PS: please tell the producers that the American Flag shown at the beginning and end with the "Close to Home" wall is displayed incorrectly (blue should be at top left) -- I'll be watching for this important symbolism to be corrected on future episodes! Expand
  4. chrisp
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    This show is yet another crime drama, but I really like this one. I've seen about five episodes and they have all been great. The This show is yet another crime drama, but I really like this one. I've seen about five episodes and they have all been great. The storylines are exciting and the acting is superb. The fact that these crimes occur in the suburbs give the average viewer a chance to feel like this could happen to them. Plus, Annabeth is hot. Not supermodel hot, but hot like the type of girl you want to bring home to meet the parents. I'm going to watch this show every Friday. Well, I'm not that big of a loser I have DVR. Move this show to a weeknight. It's a winner! Expand
  5. DianaL
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    better than most shows out there
  6. KP
    Oct 18, 2005
    5
    This show isn't so bad I'll refuse to have it on even for ignored background noise, but there's nothing really redeeming about This show isn't so bad I'll refuse to have it on even for ignored background noise, but there's nothing really redeeming about it either. The first episode, I was so many steps in front of the characters in figuring things out that it was annoying (rather than rewarding in the "see! I was right!" sense that that sort of foreshadowing is supposed to give the viewer). It was *obvious* to me what the outcome would be, and it took the characters so long to get there that I was ready to smack them upside the head. None of the interesting twists you'd expect from this kind of show. Nonetheless, until someone puts something more interesting in a competing timeslot, my TV will likely be tuned to this show when it's on and I'm home. ... even if just for the background noise. Definitely not one to TiVo. Expand
  7. PaulH
    Oct 16, 2005
    0
    show stunk bad.

See all 25 User Reviews