Cold Case : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2003
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 26, 2013
    30
    The pilot episode is so cliched, predictable, obvious, devoid of humanity or even human interest that one would actually like to say nothing definitive about it, in the reasonable assumption that next week's would have to be better.
  2. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 26, 2013
    30
    An entire series built on the past tense could become tiresome, no matter how slick the visuals may be. [27 Sept 2003, p.C4]
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Feb 26, 2013
    30
    Someone must believe the allure of "CSI" lies in its "look" - Cold Case also offers time-tripping flashbacks blending the past incident into present time - along with the behavioral "cool" of its central character. But even when William Petersen plays reserved, his "CSI" cop seems to be seething at his core. That suppressed fire makes him worth watching. Morris is barely an ember.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Good show. It has good acting, decent story line, and lots of suspense to keep you guessing to the very end. As it neared toward the end ofGood show. It has good acting, decent story line, and lots of suspense to keep you guessing to the very end. As it neared toward the end of the series though, it kind of lost a little bit of spunk but I love it anyways Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2015
    9
    Cold Case had that rare combination of both quality and quantity in an episodic show. Some of the episodes were put together so well that itCold Case had that rare combination of both quality and quantity in an episodic show. Some of the episodes were put together so well that it felt like I was watching a short film. The flashbacks often had amazing actors, interesting set designs, and perfectly period costumes. I watched all seven seasons and although not every single episode was a winner there are plenty that I still think back on as truly outstanding television. My personal favourite episode was season 2, episode 22 "Best Friends". Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    This is my favourite crime show on tv. it is different to all the rest with how you get to see all of the flashbacks of old cases which haveThis is my favourite crime show on tv. it is different to all the rest with how you get to see all of the flashbacks of old cases which have been reopened. Wish it had more seasons to come. Full Review »