• Network: ABC , Global
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I really liked it. It was smart without being preachy. To all our fine Canadian and allied Military in Afghanistan, please come home safe and thank you.
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    Having spent 4 years in a Military Academy and 4 years as a US Marine, I tend to loose interest in shows of a military nature when you can't even get the actors to salute in a military manner. Please try to find someone that will teach your actors to handle a weapon better and to at least salute to make it more believable. I know it is just TV but when you put this kind of money outHaving spent 4 years in a Military Academy and 4 years as a US Marine, I tend to loose interest in shows of a military nature when you can't even get the actors to salute in a military manner. Please try to find someone that will teach your actors to handle a weapon better and to at least salute to make it more believable. I know it is just TV but when you put this kind of money out there I would think you would want it to be as real as possible. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed the pilot more than I expected. I realize that character development and plot cannot be see in their fullest but must be allowed to mature over time. We haven't been able to see into a combat hospital in sense since M*A*S*H and I look forward to seeing how this show will progress. I do not expect it to follow the format of the M*A*S*H series and hope it will develop it's ownI enjoyed the pilot more than I expected. I realize that character development and plot cannot be see in their fullest but must be allowed to mature over time. We haven't been able to see into a combat hospital in sense since M*A*S*H and I look forward to seeing how this show will progress. I do not expect it to follow the format of the M*A*S*H series and hope it will develop it's own persona. Only time will tell. It does help me to keep in mind that real people are over there right now. Keeping the sacrifice they make each and every day in the forefront is not a bad thing! Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    From Canada, eh? I guess that explains the good parts. It's getting better but I could do with a little less moralizing. The head doc is really solid and character driven, the psychiatrist is splendid, the hot shot brain surgeon is really a hot shot but the bland, bland, bland 'pretty' female lead, Michele something is just so much window dressing. Plus she's a bore.
  5. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I accidentally stumbled across this series on HULU the other night. I couldn't find anything that looked better so i watched it and was 'blown away." As a big fan of MASH, I didn't think that there could ever be a military hospital based drama or comedy that would come close...but this one does. I watched two episodes in a row and will go back tonight and watch the third. Particularly likeI accidentally stumbled across this series on HULU the other night. I couldn't find anything that looked better so i watched it and was 'blown away." As a big fan of MASH, I didn't think that there could ever be a military hospital based drama or comedy that would come close...but this one does. I watched two episodes in a row and will go back tonight and watch the third. Particularly like Elias Koteras and the character he plays but some of the younger actors appear capable and promising also. They deal with difficult issues - like the "friendly fire" sub-plot in one episode - with thought and insight. I highly recommend this for anyone who is a MASH fan or just likes a good, thought provoking drama. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    An engaging ensemble cast who carry off a nice blend of drama and humour. I liked that the drama was not over the top. Don't expect to see every military detail/convention accurately portrayed, but Combat Hospital has lots of potential and I have a feeling that this show will only get better.
  7. Jul 12, 2011
    0
    Im a USN corpsman and I was really interested in the show. However the first five minutes that i started watching it I was furious and annoyed. 98% of this show is completely fake. I cant even stand to watch it because of how upset I get. Very disappointing especially to someone who works daily in the medical field. If this show continues I hope that they can do better research andIm a USN corpsman and I was really interested in the show. However the first five minutes that i started watching it I was furious and annoyed. 98% of this show is completely fake. I cant even stand to watch it because of how upset I get. Very disappointing especially to someone who works daily in the medical field. If this show continues I hope that they can do better research and get all of the details correct from how uniforms and hair are worn, color of the camel spiders, all the way down to the equipment they use in their "one operating room". I just feel like it's a slap in the face to people who are in the military to not get details correct. Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    There is more gore than Mash but times have changed. Excellent drama and goodcharacter development. Good dialogue. I look forward to the next show each week.
  9. Aug 2, 2011
    0
    Please change my rating score for my comments on 2 August to "0''. I'm new to this site and didn't realize I had to enter a rating score. ... Perhaps the cast could spend a week or two in Afghanistan. That's about all it would take for them to realize how far this show misses the mark. I find this show quite insulting to those of us who served with medical units in Iraq or Afghanistan.
  10. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Great show great acting very beautiful women on the show I hope the show comes back I like show about the military. The show has good action and has a great cast
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It is a very good drama that needs time to develop. Networks want things to be hits from episode one. If they would have done that with MASH it probably wouldn't have gone 11 seasons. Give this some time and it has great potential. Good characterization and story lines throughout the first season is a great start but they need time to develop. This is like Firefly another series thatIt is a very good drama that needs time to develop. Networks want things to be hits from episode one. If they would have done that with MASH it probably wouldn't have gone 11 seasons. Give this some time and it has great potential. Good characterization and story lines throughout the first season is a great start but they need time to develop. This is like Firefly another series that never got the chance. Let's hope if CBS drops the ball somebody picks it up. Combat Hospital is a great show that is different than anything else on TV. Just because it isn't a CSI or NCIS or LA Law clone don't kill it. We need different not reality! Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Jun 22, 2011
    30
    The "medical drama" is far too paltry to sustain the series without ramping up the relevance of the war context.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 21, 2011
    50
    As if afraid they will be accused of not taking things seriously enough, the creators walk through much of the pilot as if through a minefield, which is to say ver-ry slowly and ver-ry carefully. Not the best pacing considering the subject matter.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Combat Hospital is as bland and generic as its title.