Comedy Bang! Bang! : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Comedy Bang! Bang! Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Jon Hamm, Zach Galifianakis, Michael Cera, David Cross, "Weird Al" Yankovic, Sarah Silverman and Andy Richter are some of the guests on
    Scott Aukerman's sketch variety show based on his podcast of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jun 7, 2012
    75
    It's an oddity, but the comfortable looseness makes up for the fact that it's really about nothing in particular.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    Though it does not seem to be entirely scripted, it is (as opposed to the rambling podcast) highly organized and includes invented guests alongside those appearing as not necessarily reliable versions of themselves.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    While it would be unfair to say Comedy Bang! Bang! lacks moments of inventiveness, the whole exercise has the precious feel of a student project.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    I love this show. I knew from the podcast it would be special, but what makes it all the better is that it's different from all the other talkI love this show. I knew from the podcast it would be special, but what makes it all the better is that it's different from all the other talk shows which, while still enjoyable are pretty much carbon copies of each other. Different in a good, better way. Please let there be more of this show. Collapse
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    The only way this show could possibly be better is if it was 2 hours long and on every day. If you are a fan of things that are funny this isThe only way this show could possibly be better is if it was 2 hours long and on every day. If you are a fan of things that are funny this is the show for you and your awesome friends. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This show is genius. This this first time in ages I've seen comedy I could call "creative" and "new". But importantly, I laughed throughoutThis show is genius. This this first time in ages I've seen comedy I could call "creative" and "new". But importantly, I laughed throughout and at times laughed uncontrollably. I find myself sitting here anxiously awaiting another episode. I like it so much I'm going to seek out the podcasts of the same name. I don't expect many critics to get this show. Critics tend to cynically resist things that are fresh and new, because they are unconsciously trying to create a definition of what is art, and so something completely new and original therefore seemingly contradicts that definition. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2015
    7
    Comedy Bang! Bang! is one of the strangest shows in existence. I think the show's greatest strength is its cheesiness; something you can alsoComedy Bang! Bang! is one of the strangest shows in existence. I think the show's greatest strength is its cheesiness; something you can also find in abundance from Tim/Eric. The show often provides really funny (fake) TV shows and cutaways that only appear once, but that usually appear to highlight a gag, make fun of a silly cultural trope in TV, or take something too literally. The show's tone is wildly unpredictable, as it can be innocent and focused on the obvious at times, and at other times, it is preposterously dark (yes, it makes fun of Satan and human trafficking). I enjoy the show for its loose format and plays on words. Sometimes, however, the show can be disappointing and a little slow, and it is especially hard for new viewers to grasp. I would recommend it, but only to intellectual hipsters who enjoy things like Class-B films and Flight of the Conchords. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    This show can try all it wants, but the truth is that there is almost no sign of comedy anywhere. The ideas behind the show are even worse. IThis show can try all it wants, but the truth is that there is almost no sign of comedy anywhere. The ideas behind the show are even worse. I never really liked IFC's shows, but this one goes below any standard. Expand
  6. May 26, 2015
    1
    This show isn't funny at all. at best it's mediocre. I have tried to watch it multiple times but its impossible to get more than two minutesThis show isn't funny at all. at best it's mediocre. I have tried to watch it multiple times but its impossible to get more than two minutes in before the terrible jokes make me change channels. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2015
    0
    I have to try too hard to laugh at this show. I know they get some great guests but laughter should be involuntary and it has never happenedI have to try too hard to laugh at this show. I know they get some great guests but laughter should be involuntary and it has never happened for me while watching. It's as predictable as Gilligan's Island.
    Not a prude and I have a great sense of humor (like saying I'm not a racist) but it just never makes me even chuckle. Sorry Comedy Bang Bang but I can't put the effort into watching your show any more. Too much work on my part!!
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews