• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 12, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 9, 2012
    67
    Way too obscure for the average viewer, Comic Book Men is strictly for Smith groupies, and there are probably enough of those to keep this six-parter afloat over its short run.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Given the characters who also turn up looking to sell comics and memorabilia, Smith's original idea--"Pawn Stars" with comics--might have been enough to win him a slot just about anywhere on cable. The podcast just makes it funnier.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    Oddly enough, many viewers may not need to know DC Comics' Issue No. 1 chapter, verse and thought bubble to find Comic Book Men mildly amusing.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    The illustrated title sequence of Comic Book Men depicts these guys as musclemen in tights, but the scenes that follow are strictly mild-mannered.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 10, 2012
    30
    It's diverting, a little sad, a little boring, full of geeky macho posturing and ultimately pointless, much like a Wednesday afternoon in a comic-book shop.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 10, 2012
    83
    Comic Book Men is a pleasant surprise and an overall splash of fragrant cologne on the smell test-flunking reality genre.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 10, 2012
    40
    Comic Book Men's idle chit-chat about comics comes off as remedial and boring.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    6
    As a collector of many things in my day (beer cans, Olympic pins, baseball cards), I enjoy the negotiations between collectors and the store. And the personalities are amusing. It's certainly not a show that I'd dedicate an hour to every week, but as something to listen to while doing other things, it's perfect. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    I'm a comic book fan, I'm a Kevin Smith fan, I REALLY wanted to like this show...but it's bad. It's basically uninteresting people doing uninteresting things. Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    0
    why did AMC agree to do this show!! it's so pointless and stupid. worst tv show. Even the Talking dead is 100 times better than it, and all they do is talk about the episode that just came on. Full Review »