• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 12, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Comic Book Men Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Walt Flanagan, the store's manager, with employees Mike Zapcic, Ming Chen, and regular visitor Bryan Johnson--aka Steve-Dave Pulasti--discuss comics and pop culture in AMC's reality show set in Kevin Smith's comic book store named Jay and Silent Bob's Secret Stash.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Reality, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 10, 2012
    83
    Comic Book Men is a pleasant surprise and an overall splash of fragrant cologne on the smell test-flunking reality genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Given the characters who also turn up looking to sell comics and memorabilia, Smith's original idea--"Pawn Stars" with comics--might have been enough to win him a slot just about anywhere on cable. The podcast just makes it funnier.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 9, 2012
    67
    Way too obscure for the average viewer, Comic Book Men is strictly for Smith groupies, and there are probably enough of those to keep this six-parter afloat over its short run.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    Oddly enough, many viewers may not need to know DC Comics' Issue No. 1 chapter, verse and thought bubble to find Comic Book Men mildly amusing.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    The illustrated title sequence of Comic Book Men depicts these guys as musclemen in tights, but the scenes that follow are strictly mild-mannered.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 10, 2012
    40
    Comic Book Men's idle chit-chat about comics comes off as remedial and boring.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 10, 2012
    30
    It's diverting, a little sad, a little boring, full of geeky macho posturing and ultimately pointless, much like a Wednesday afternoon in a comic-book shop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is awesome. It is a lot of fun. It reminds me of me and my friends. Only difference is The comic book men have the best job ever. Working at a comic book store. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Ok, before I begin this show is easily my favorite show I have watched since I watched Spongebob when I was a kid in the late 90's. So let us begin. The humor is extremely clever and witty but actually relates to the main focus of the show, that being comics and overall about the nerdy community. As a comic book and collectible collector ever since I was around the age of 4 it brought back a lot of amazing memories of my father and I going to conventions that were 3 hours away. Seeing the items that the customer bring in was also really awesome. The coolest part is seeing these people who work in the store and the people who are selling the items are so immersed into it. If shows passion that most shows don't show anymore. It is also very cool that the amount of pride they take being from Jersey. Which is refreshing to see people who love where there from. Overall this show is amazingly enjoyable and always making me laugh but also allowing me to enjoy a old past time of mine. I do understand that this show will not appeal to everyone, mainly because not everyone is a comic nerd like myself but, for me I love it. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    My teenage son and I watched the show after The Walking Dead and we are addicted. The guys on the show come off as real people and are naturally funny. I don't know what it is but Bryan is very funny. We are worried that it won't get picked up for another season. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Makes you smile and laugh because the characters are so endearing. This is a show of friends doing something they love and it's not at all about the money. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    6
    As a collector of many things in my day (beer cans, Olympic pins, baseball cards), I enjoy the negotiations between collectors and the store. And the personalities are amusing. It's certainly not a show that I'd dedicate an hour to every week, but as something to listen to while doing other things, it's perfect. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    2
    Terrible show i like comic books and superheroes but this is basically a replica of Pawn Stars which i love but theres no hope for this show. for me but for Comic Book ppl theres hope for you guys Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    I truly wish there was a negative number to describe this absolute garbage heap of a show. Thankfully we can all take comfort in the fact that this will be cancelled. The idea that there is any sort of audience for this show is both appalling and saddening. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews