Community : Season 4

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 7, 2013
    60
    The new episodes don’t have the old complexity, messiness and poignance. They don’t inspire the wild excitement of having no idea what’s going to come on the screen next. They don’t have that electric sense of experimenting on the fly. And they don’t seem to do what Harmon had them do, what Community itself did, which is: grow.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 6, 2013
    40
    The show has been dumbed down, its humor broadened past recognition, and the two episodes provided for review have fewer laughs between them than a single good scene from the old Community.
  3. 50
    It’s not a terrible show. But it’s missing that unharmonious Harmon-ian spark of madness, that smiling volatility that made the show exciting (for fans) even when a line or scene or whole episode wasn’t quite working.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    The new episodes are such a good faith effort to continue Harmon’s legacy it’s a shame that they don’t really work at all.
  5. Reviewed by: Liz Medendorp
    Feb 7, 2013
    60
    If Community has been an underappreciated gem for the past three years, its fourth season premiere is sadly lackluster. But if the Dean’s episode-ending prediction isn’t entirely convincing, it could be that Guarascio and Port just need more time.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Feb 8, 2013
    60
    The writers of Community have done a good job with what they were given. The problem is, they needed Dan Harmon.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    4
    Since I saw the announcement of Dan Harmon's dismissal, I became very worried for this show's future. I was willing to give it a chanceSince I saw the announcement of Dan Harmon's dismissal, I became very worried for this show's future. I was willing to give it a chance though, since the writing department of the show is still the same and it has a grasp on what really moves this show. However, after seeing the first episode of the season 4, some of my worries turned out to be plausible.

    The show's old formula is still intact, full of cultural references like The Hunger Games, Muppet Babies, a spoof with laugh-track (which might got some people apprehensive at first sight) etc. However, the departure of Dan Harmon is very visible and now we know how important his work was, pushing everyone from the cast and staff to do what he thought it was good. His magic was to dump all sort of references in the episode and still manage to make it a cohesive story, taking liberty of squeezing out the best of every actor and actress there. All that seem lost in this episode. It felt like cobbled-up takes with the usual references but without anything to tie them together. The cast seemed lost, their talent unappreciated by the weak script they had to follow. Even Pierce, who's supposed to come up with a funny but outrageous bigotry every now and then was left out, his presence in the first episode being similar to a background prop.

    It hurts to see this show being so dull. When I heard we would have only 13 episodes I wished for more, now I'm seriously hoping it ends up fast enough. And if the show hits the bottom, I sincerely hope the new show runners David Guarascio and Moses Port never find a job in the TV again. You had it all, you could've even begged for Harmon's enlightenment but you tried and ruined it.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    1
    This show has gone from great to insufferable with the loss of its creator, as much as it pains me to admit as a former fan.
    I've watched the
    This show has gone from great to insufferable with the loss of its creator, as much as it pains me to admit as a former fan.
    I've watched the first 7 episodes of season 4, and I have nothing good to say about them.
    The magic is gone.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    Although Community Season 4 will certainly not be as good as Seasons 1 and 2, I'm sure it will still be an outstanding piece of television,Although Community Season 4 will certainly not be as good as Seasons 1 and 2, I'm sure it will still be an outstanding piece of television, and be superior to many other current TV programmes. Full Review »