• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Community Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth season returns after being delayed from its initial premiere date of 19 Oct 2012. Expect to see exit of Pierce Hawthorne as Chevy Chase left the show in November 2012.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 6, 2013
    91
    Still defiantly Community, still good and still uninterested in adding new viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 6, 2013
    88
    The quirky campus comedy is as clever and edgy as ever.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Feb 1, 2013
    83
    There are enough surreal, self-referential, and/or testicle-related jokes to have me signing up for at least a few more weeks of tutelage. [8 Feb 2013, p.69]
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 7, 2013
    70
    This feels very much like the show I've been watching all along.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 7, 2013
    67
    It feels like Port, Guarascio and the other writers decided to reverse-engineer the Harmon version of Community, but couldn’t quite manage without the missing ingredient of Harmon himself.
  6. Reviewed by: Liz Medendorp
    Feb 7, 2013
    60
    If Community has been an underappreciated gem for the past three years, its fourth season premiere is sadly lackluster. But if the Dean’s episode-ending prediction isn’t entirely convincing, it could be that Guarascio and Port just need more time.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 6, 2013
    40
    The show has been dumbed down, its humor broadened past recognition, and the two episodes provided for review have fewer laughs between them than a single good scene from the old Community.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Community is just, well it can't be described in words unfortunately. Community is by far the best comedy show/series since friends in my opinion. Yes it IS that good, just watch it and you will know why, it's just unexplanable. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Awesome, same show, same laughs. Love it. All the people who don't like it obviously didn't like the show in the first place or just had expectations so low that they convinced themselves that it is bad. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    Although Community Season 4 will certainly not be as good as Seasons 1 and 2, I'm sure it will still be an outstanding piece of television, and be superior to many other current TV programmes. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    You can't just take a series away from its creator and try to capture the same tone. There were a lot of great moments and a few nice episodes in the season but the show increased its pace so much that there were drastic changes in the characters and somehow the show tried to play off safe at the same time by blending in parody episodes. This made the setting and the characters unreletable. Abed was a genius, he became irritating. Troy became a nothing more than a sidekick. Shirley was left in the background. Britta turned into understanding girlfriend instead of a self contradicting rebel. Jeff became a girl with daddy issues rather than a mentor. Pierce became useless. Characters had no contribution to the overall self awareness of the show. The season was still fun to watch but I guess not many people enjoyed where this was all going. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Been watching this series and I couldn't work out why it was suddenly misfiring so badly. I must have been the last person on earth to find out that the shows creator got fired. It feels like a cloning process that has gone horribly wrong. So painful for this to happen to what was one of the most inventive shows on T.V.

    That's show business!
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    After all the well publicised troubles Community’s fourth season finds the show without creator and original show runner Dan Harmon, and unfortunately his absence is felt. That’s not to say that it is totally unwatchable, the characters fans have come to know and love make sure of that, but it does often seems to be trying too hard to play up to the expectations of what the show should be. be. A number of episodes simply try to fit in too many ideas to the extent that none of them can be properly explored and the concept episodes that the show has become famous for aren't even in the same league as episodes like Modern Warfare or Advanced Dungeons and Dragons.

    If you go into this season with lower expectations then you’ll most likely still find a few things to enjoy but, what was once arguably the most imaginative show on television, is now a shadow of its former self.

    **Update: Dan Harmon is back in charge for season 5 and there were more laughs in the first two episodes than most of this season put together.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    1
    This show has gone from great to insufferable with the loss of its creator, as much as it pains me to admit as a former fan.
    I've watched the
    first 7 episodes of season 4, and I have nothing good to say about them.
    The magic is gone.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  5. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  6. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.