• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Community Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jeff Winger (Joel McHale) is a lawyer who must attend community college after it is discovered he lied about where his law degree was from.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    91
    Community can be fresh, funny, smart and extremely aware of its own cleverness; it also can be terrifically odd--odd good, or odd bad, or sometimes odd-good-bad-strange all at once.
  2. McHale gets to flirt and insult to his heart's content, and he's impishly believable in both modes. The supporting cast members manage to make each of their sad little lives amusing, so what could have been a downer of a show is often absurdly funny.
  3. Ken Jeong plays the Spanish professor, Mr. Chang, the kind of quiet joke in the topsy-turvy world that characterizes this sweetly funny show.
  4. If creator/writer Dan Harmon earns only a "C" for the framework of his show, he gets higher grades for its brisk pace and clever writing. And some extra credit is in order for casting, as well.
  5. Community is mercilessly snarky and also surprisingly charming, which is not easy to pull off.
  6. 63
    It's not as funny as "30 Rock" nor as distinctive as "The Office," but it's a clear improvement on the seemingly unsalvageable "Parks & Recreation."
  7. 40
    Community's party animals tend to get their kicks less from bongs, grain-alcohol projectile vomiting and peeping into sorority windows than from irregular Spanish verbs and lengthy recitations of the script of The Breakfast Club, which, for the most part, is even less amusing than it sounds.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 124
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    The one problem with this show is that every episode is only 30 minutes long, always leaving me wanting more. Every episode is absolutely hilarious and the writing is fantastic. Not only does it make fun of every genre of television and movies, it makes fun of what their show is about. They play to the fact that its a group of friends from all different backgrounds. Every character is well developed and even the side characters that are only in a few episodes service the show in a perfect way. Starburns' is a mystery in himself and the Dean is never fully explained but that adds to their characters. This show is perfect and is one of the funniest shows on television. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Go Greendale! The best comedy show on air. Each episode is a surprise, and humor is bright and quick. The characters have extreme personalities, but this is fun!
    Each week waiting for the new episode, and now I hope that NBC continues it! Please!
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    This a world were fan-service rubbish like Sherlock has universal acclamation and a show that actually is clever has critics panning it. Community actually is a truly smart show with actual plots and writers that care about more than turning out "super-rad" one-liners. In what universe are NBC comedies staring Joe McHale smarter than BBC series with Martin Freedman? This one I guess. We may be in the worst possible time-stream. everybody cut out a beard. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome. I spent days watching episode after episode. Its Originality and humour is what makes the show so entertaining. Every episode has a different message it comes across, relating to either friendship values, or general moral ethics. The characters are all part of a study group that is runned by Jeff Winger. Its funny how the group depend on him to do just about everything, whether it is to talk about someone's issues or whether its to calm an individual down or even whether its to start a conversation. He acts as a father figure in the group but he does so in such a snobbish way. His litigant past makes him a very experienced public speaker and has a very sophisticated way of interpreting his ideas. In the last few episodes he has started to be way to presumptuous and his arrogance is starting to be a little irritating. All the other characters fit the group like a glove. I love Abed's inexpressive and fantasy driven character. his friendship with Troy, another unique character, is what makes the show. One character that I gradually started to be indiferent about , despite the fact that he is Hilariously crude, is Peirce. He is SOOO funny but sometimes crosses the line. Another character that I am uneasy about is the Dean. He is soo gay that it pisses me off. Get him off the show. the little end clips are epic.
    cant wait for the next season.
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    One of the funniest shows on TV right now along with The Big Bang Theory. Danny Pudi (Abed) should be considered a top contender for an Emmy next year. One of the best ensemble casts since Friends in my opinion. You can never go wrong with Chevy Chase. Side note: Alison Brie...Wow...I want to kiss her face. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Loved everything about the first 3 episodes, yes I just started but who cares I'm lucky. So far it shows romantic and a funny storyline along with a heartfelt family like study group. Perfect. Expand
  7. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    0
    This show is sooo boring. The actors are not funny at all. I love comedies but this show just really bored me to tears. Plus Joel McHale has gotten so arrogant since he was on The Soup. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  5. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  6. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.