• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Community Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 597 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jeff Winger (Joel McHale) is a lawyer who must attend community college after it is discovered he lied about where his law degree was from.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    91
    Community can be fresh, funny, smart and extremely aware of its own cleverness; it also can be terrifically odd--odd good, or odd bad, or sometimes odd-good-bad-strange all at once.
  2. McHale gets to flirt and insult to his heart's content, and he's impishly believable in both modes. The supporting cast members manage to make each of their sad little lives amusing, so what could have been a downer of a show is often absurdly funny.
  3. Ken Jeong plays the Spanish professor, Mr. Chang, the kind of quiet joke in the topsy-turvy world that characterizes this sweetly funny show.
  4. If creator/writer Dan Harmon earns only a "C" for the framework of his show, he gets higher grades for its brisk pace and clever writing. And some extra credit is in order for casting, as well.
  5. Community is mercilessly snarky and also surprisingly charming, which is not easy to pull off.
  6. 63
    It's not as funny as "30 Rock" nor as distinctive as "The Office," but it's a clear improvement on the seemingly unsalvageable "Parks & Recreation."
  7. 40
    Community's party animals tend to get their kicks less from bongs, grain-alcohol projectile vomiting and peeping into sorority windows than from irregular Spanish verbs and lengthy recitations of the script of The Breakfast Club, which, for the most part, is even less amusing than it sounds.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 127
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Go Greendale! The best comedy show on air. Each episode is a surprise, and humor is bright and quick. The characters have extreme personalities, but this is fun!
    Each week waiting for the new episode, and now I hope that NBC continues it! Please!
    Expand
  2. WesletC
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    The best comedy on television. Watch it!
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Smart show with fantastic references and unrealistic dialogue, but it's a comedy and that's to be somewhat expected. Only has one useless character (Shirley) and rarely has a stale episode. Those that are stale still have good writing. By far, the funniest sitcom on broadcast television. I look forward to every episode. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Best comedy currently on NBC. As good as Arrested Development and Modern Family. This show puts Big Bang Theory to shame.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Over the course of its first season, I have really come to like "Community" very much. The highlights of the first season are "Comparative Religion" (episode 12) and "Modern Warfare" (episode 23). Every episode is unique in its own way by either parodying some cult movie or just playing with the dynamics and relationships between the characters. Expand
  6. Markus
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    After all the forced premise "comedies" that have infested the TV landscape lately this quirky and somewhat unusual take on a college sitcom provides some of the most clever writing and witty exploitation of "seen a billion times before" moments. It's good to see Joel McHale act and his fellow cast is one of the most interesting collection of potentially hilarious characters I have witnessed in years. There is so much to get here and even though it's only five episodes in I almost cried, laughed hysterically and often found myself amazed at the beauty and creativity of the situations. Expand
  7. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    0
    This show is sooo boring. The actors are not funny at all. I love comedies but this show just really bored me to tears. Plus Joel McHale has gotten so arrogant since he was on The Soup. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  5. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  6. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.