Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 646 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jeff Winger (Joel McHale) is a lawyer who must attend community college after it is discovered he lied about where his law degree was from.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    91
    Community can be fresh, funny, smart and extremely aware of its own cleverness; it also can be terrifically odd--odd good, or odd bad, or sometimes odd-good-bad-strange all at once.
  2. McHale gets to flirt and insult to his heart's content, and he's impishly believable in both modes. The supporting cast members manage to make each of their sad little lives amusing, so what could have been a downer of a show is often absurdly funny.
  3. For a good three days afterward, I was tempted to introduce one of the pilot's best lines into casual conversation--no, I won't spoil it for you, but it involves sharks--yet I wondered if it might not just be a fluke. But I saw the second episode of Community yesterday, and the same thing happened.
  4. Community is mercilessly snarky and also surprisingly charming, which is not easy to pull off.
  5. If creator/writer Dan Harmon earns only a "C" for the framework of his show, he gets higher grades for its brisk pace and clever writing. And some extra credit is in order for casting, as well.
  6. Reviewed by: Kris King
    63
    While the cast delivers solid, funny performances, they're mostly just playing caricatures of themselves, and the rest of the supporting players range from forgettable to obnoxious, especially Danny Pudi, whose rambling Abed is about as endearing as stepping on a nail.
  7. 40
    Community's party animals tend to get their kicks less from bongs, grain-alcohol projectile vomiting and peeping into sorority windows than from irregular Spanish verbs and lengthy recitations of the script of The Breakfast Club, which, for the most part, is even less amusing than it sounds.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 129
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Go Greendale! The best comedy show on air. Each episode is a surprise, and humor is bright and quick. The characters have extremeGo Greendale! The best comedy show on air. Each episode is a surprise, and humor is bright and quick. The characters have extreme personalities, but this is fun!
    Each week waiting for the new episode, and now I hope that NBC continues it! Please!
    Expand
  2. katT
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    It's not making fun of community college, rob. this is the best comedy on tv! so smart it doesn't need any musical number fillers.
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    I am so glad this show is on TV. It is one of the most well writting series I have ever watched and the characters are amazing. I urge you toI am so glad this show is on TV. It is one of the most well writting series I have ever watched and the characters are amazing. I urge you to watch this show! Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This is the funniest show on television right now. If you are new to the show don't start with the pilot, I really get the feeling thatThis is the funniest show on television right now. If you are new to the show don't start with the pilot, I really get the feeling that because the pilot sucked they thought it would be scrapped so told the writers to do whatever until they got the axe. After the first run of episodes the show finds its stride so I would really recommend watching this show in case its cancelled for good. Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    9
    The best part of a new show is when you truly enjoy every bit of it. Community is this fresh new take on meta humor and great writing thatThe best part of a new show is when you truly enjoy every bit of it. Community is this fresh new take on meta humor and great writing that gives this show a whole new following with its brilliant cast and crew. Expand
  6. Chris
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Liked the pilot. Great cast and definitely has a lot of promise.
  7. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    0
    This show is sooo boring. The actors are not funny at all. I love comedies but this show just really bored me to tears. Plus Joel McHale hasThis show is sooo boring. The actors are not funny at all. I love comedies but this show just really bored me to tears. Plus Joel McHale has gotten so arrogant since he was on The Soup. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  5. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  6. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.