Conan (2010) : Season 1

  • Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 8, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 14, 2010
    88
    The first few nights showed O'Brien settling in with his charmingly original humor, which is sophisticated yet twerpily silly. [29 Nov 2010, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Dec 8, 2010
    83
    He's always making his audience come up to his level, instead of lowering himself to theirs. He's gonna do just fine. But more Andy, please.
  3. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Dec 8, 2010
    80
    Whatever the case, he and his show are easier to like. The hour flew by, and it seemed much looser, organic and easy-going than anything I saw last year by him on NBC.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Conan O'Brien debuted his new talk show, Conan, on TBS last night and it didn't feel all that different from the show O'Brien debuted last year on NBC under "The Tonight Show" banner.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Despite some jitters, Conan looked comfortable in his new domain. He had nervous energy to spare, but then again he does most nights.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Is Conan the sort of show that's going to revolutionize TV? Probably not. But Conan O'Brien remains a singularly appealing and wonderfully silly voice in the crowded clamor of late night, and it's good to see him back where he belongs.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 8, 2010
    67
    So far, so good. No late night talk show has ever been canceled after one edition--not even Chevy's--while first albeit abbreviated impressions of Conan are promising.
  8. Not everything worked, of course, and anyone expecting Conan to reinvent the wheel or drastically shake up the genre is probably disappointed. But if you were simply glad to see his brand of quirky comedy back in late night--and free of the network guardrails--it was cause for celebration.
  9. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Dec 8, 2010
    63
    There's potential for Conan, once his ego gets off the couch. [9 Nov 2010, p.8]
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Dec 8, 2010
    63
    Conan O'Brien's new show, Conan, finally debuted on TBS last night after months of hype--looking pretty much like his two former shows, "Late Night" and "The Tonight Show."
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Dec 8, 2010
    63
    It's as if he never left. Which has its pluses and minuses.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    CoCo is back and... samer than ever! I semi-expected something different on TBS, but Conan basically did his same old show, perhaps a bit moreCoCo is back and... samer than ever! I semi-expected something different on TBS, but Conan basically did his same old show, perhaps a bit more like "Late Night" than "Tonight", but basically the same. If you think that he does that format much better than Dave and Leno (which I do), this is a good thing. If you expected some changes to the format on the basic cable (where he also goes against Stuart and Colbert)... there were not to be seen on the first night. But the main thing is that Conan is back (with Andy) on the air! Let's hope the ratings stay high just to annoy NBC and Leno. Let's also hope they allow him to change the stale nightly talk-show format (monologue - some running bit - guest 1 - guest 2 - music/comedy performance). Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2010
    6
    I like Conan's sense of humor and his writing background. To be honest, my late night viewing is more determined by the guests and musicI like Conan's sense of humor and his writing background. To be honest, my late night viewing is more determined by the guests and music performers. Conan and George Lopez haven't measured up. Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    A good show and I haven't missed one yet. However, I wish Conan would go back to his roots. It seems like he tried to cater to NBC's wishesA good show and I haven't missed one yet. However, I wish Conan would go back to his roots. It seems like he tried to cater to NBC's wishes on "The Tonight Show", and hasn't dropped that act. Hopefully he does that soon. Full Review »