Copper : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 3 out of 51

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    TV is littered with cop/detective shows set in modern time attempting to find a niche to get people to watch something more than once. It is so difficult to make a unique show, if they find success they copy it and add a city's name to make it sound different. This is a detective show, but it delivers a special treat way the way of very brave producers. They have taken on the immense taskTV is littered with cop/detective shows set in modern time attempting to find a niche to get people to watch something more than once. It is so difficult to make a unique show, if they find success they copy it and add a city's name to make it sound different. This is a detective show, but it delivers a special treat way the way of very brave producers. They have taken on the immense task of delivering a time and place most know little about. This show delivers the same caliber of acting and writing, if not better, than our normal dramas. But adding to this is a very accurate depiction of two sides of 1865 New York. We are given dynamic characters with real flaws and vices. The struggle is honest without being over the top.

    We should all judge the merits of the show after watching a few episodes, the efforts of the crew deserve this much.
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    God tv series, nice to see the old version of New York.Sherlock Holmes taste, I found a very successful,you can see a sharp time of the beginning of capitalism and racism
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    I'd settle in at 7.5, but this show has a bit of a slow burn, so i think it will get better as the series progresses. No issues with the acting and writing, though there is room for improvement on both counts. Someone wondered why this is on BBC America, my recollection is that they tried to sell this show to AMC and they decided to pass so perhaps BBC America was the next best fit.I'd settle in at 7.5, but this show has a bit of a slow burn, so i think it will get better as the series progresses. No issues with the acting and writing, though there is room for improvement on both counts. Someone wondered why this is on BBC America, my recollection is that they tried to sell this show to AMC and they decided to pass so perhaps BBC America was the next best fit. Certainly could see why AMC would pass with the quality of their shows ( though I think Copper will prove to be a better show than "Hell on Wheels" in time) but BBC America is the next best Non-Premium channel out there as far as original programming goes. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Not bad - but it will take some time for the characters to develop. Also wondering why this is on BBC America - since it seems to have been filmed and developed in America.
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Surprisingly interesting pilot. I liked that it wasn't sewn up in some neat, satisfying way - but that it's yet another wake-up call to the lead character that class and corruption come into every aspect of his job. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    It doesn't jump out at first and takes a bit of getting used to but Copper offers a new take on the familiar Western theme. It has just enough action and fantastic acting from a well-assembled cast including Franka Potente (of Bourne Fame) to keep you entertained. It may not be everyone's cup of tea but is worth checking out and maybe it will grow on you and it slowly is starting to do with me.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 31, 2012
    63
    Copper lacks the brains or kick to lift it above being a period piece. [10 Sep 2012, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    63
    So far, it's certainly no "Homicide," in which the dialogue was always crisp and unexpected.... But when Copper puts down its billy clubs and delves deeper into its characters, the series has great possibilities.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Aug 21, 2012
    80
    The second hour is more engrossing than the first, and is easily rich enough to keep us coming back for more.