• Network: BBC America
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    Copper is a show I wanted to like. A cop drama set in 19th century New York? It should have been a winner. However the show is set back by it lack of talent. While a few actors (namely Corcoran) possess some ability on screen, most sadly do not. In a period show, that's quite an offense. It is a great idea, poorly executed.
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    1
    I've seen most of the episodes, and found the series to be a great idea sloppily executed. The pawnbroker character, in particular, is about the crudest racial stereotype you will find on American TV.
  3. May 5, 2013
    4
    This show feels like a soap opera made for housewives and teens. The musical timing is absolutely cliche, to the point where it actually becomes funny. I find myself laughing at this show in places that shouldn't be funny especially listening to the script The script is bad. Corky, Copper, Kevin, Corkmiester? is he Irish? American? He changes his accent mid-sentence. In episode 9 he has a full Irish accent and even though he's the lead he's undoubtedly the worst actor in this series. Is everyone in New York Irish or American? Where are all the Jews, Germans, Italians? Collapse
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    It doesn't jump out at first and takes a bit of getting used to but Copper offers a new take on the familiar Western theme. It has just enough action and fantastic acting from a well-assembled cast including Franka Potente (of Bourne Fame) to keep you entertained. It may not be everyone's cup of tea but is worth checking out and maybe it will grow on you and it slowly is starting to do with me.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    God tv series, nice to see the old version of New York.Sherlock Holmes taste, I found a very successful,you can see a sharp time of the beginning of capitalism and racism
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    0
    I have been watching "Copper" since it started and thought it was a fair, C+ show. After watching this sunday's episode,9/9, I will no longer be recording it. The one Jewish character is the most negative stereotype I have ever seen on a network program. What makes this so reprehensible is that there are no other Jews depicted on the show. There are multi-character blacks, Irish and others but only one Jew who is a pawn broker who lies for money. Does "Copper" have another agenda besides telling a story? Too bad this goes unnoticed by the reviewers. Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    TV is littered with cop/detective shows set in modern time attempting to find a niche to get people to watch something more than once. It is so difficult to make a unique show, if they find success they copy it and add a city's name to make it sound different. This is a detective show, but it delivers a special treat way the way of very brave producers. They have taken on the immense task of delivering a time and place most know little about. This show delivers the same caliber of acting and writing, if not better, than our normal dramas. But adding to this is a very accurate depiction of two sides of 1865 New York. We are given dynamic characters with real flaws and vices. The struggle is honest without being over the top.

    We should all judge the merits of the show after watching a few episodes, the efforts of the crew deserve this much.
    Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    I'd settle in at 7.5, but this show has a bit of a slow burn, so i think it will get better as the series progresses. No issues with the acting and writing, though there is room for improvement on both counts. Someone wondered why this is on BBC America, my recollection is that they tried to sell this show to AMC and they decided to pass so perhaps BBC America was the next best fit. Certainly could see why AMC would pass with the quality of their shows ( though I think Copper will prove to be a better show than "Hell on Wheels" in time) but BBC America is the next best Non-Premium channel out there as far as original programming goes. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Surprisingly interesting pilot. I liked that it wasn't sewn up in some neat, satisfying way - but that it's yet another wake-up call to the lead character that class and corruption come into every aspect of his job. Expand
  10. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Not bad - but it will take some time for the characters to develop. Also wondering why this is on BBC America - since it seems to have been filmed and developed in America.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 31, 2012
    63
    Copper lacks the brains or kick to lift it above being a period piece. [10 Sep 2012, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    63
    So far, it's certainly no "Homicide," in which the dialogue was always crisp and unexpected.... But when Copper puts down its billy clubs and delves deeper into its characters, the series has great possibilities.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Aug 21, 2012
    80
    The second hour is more engrossing than the first, and is easily rich enough to keep us coming back for more.