• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Copper  Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Detective Kevin Corcoran (Tom Weston-Jones) solves cases in lower Manhattan's Five Points, while seeking answers to his wife's disappearance and his daughter's murder in 1864.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 16, 2012
    100
    Copper has much to recommend it: action, passion and great performances arising from an exploration of classic American themes.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 16, 2012
    83
    The characters hold promise, the show looks swell, the stories reflect rich history and the makers have earned our trust.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 17, 2012
    80
    A half-dozen plots routinely swirl around Copper, banging into each other. Levinson and the cast never let them unravel.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Aug 16, 2012
    67
    It's a promising framework for a series, and the first two episodes of Copper work in fits and starts.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Aug 17, 2012
    63
    Everything about the show feels just a bit off: underfunded, insufficiently cast and flatly written.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 16, 2012
    60
    All of these characters and situations are mildly interesting, but it's difficult to know from just a couple of episodes if they're ever going to become desperately interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 17, 2012
    40
    It doesn't lack in ambition. It's in the stilted, stiff execution where things fall apart.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    TV is littered with cop/detective shows set in modern time attempting to find a niche to get people to watch something more than once. It is so difficult to make a unique show, if they find success they copy it and add a city's name to make it sound different. This is a detective show, but it delivers a special treat way the way of very brave producers. They have taken on the immense task of delivering a time and place most know little about. This show delivers the same caliber of acting and writing, if not better, than our normal dramas. But adding to this is a very accurate depiction of two sides of 1865 New York. We are given dynamic characters with real flaws and vices. The struggle is honest without being over the top.

    We should all judge the merits of the show after watching a few episodes, the efforts of the crew deserve this much.
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    God tv series, nice to see the old version of New York.Sherlock Holmes taste, I found a very successful,you can see a sharp time of the beginning of capitalism and racism Collapse
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Not bad - but it will take some time for the characters to develop. Also wondering why this is on BBC America - since it seems to have been filmed and developed in America. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Surprisingly interesting pilot. I liked that it wasn't sewn up in some neat, satisfying way - but that it's yet another wake-up call to the lead character that class and corruption come into every aspect of his job. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    Copper is a show I wanted to like. A cop drama set in 19th century New York? It should have been a winner. However the show is set back by it lack of talent. While a few actors (namely Corcoran) possess some ability on screen, most sadly do not. In a period show, that's quite an offense. It is a great idea, poorly executed. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    4
    This show feels like a soap opera made for housewives and teens. The musical timing is absolutely cliche, to the point where it actually becomes funny. I find myself laughing at this show in places that shouldn't be funny especially listening to the script The script is bad. Corky, Copper, Kevin, Corkmiester? is he Irish? American? He changes his accent mid-sentence. In episode 9 he has a full Irish accent and even though he's the lead he's undoubtedly the worst actor in this series. Is everyone in New York Irish or American? Where are all the Jews, Germans, Italians? Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    0
    I have been watching "Copper" since it started and thought it was a fair, C+ show. After watching this sunday's episode,9/9, I will no longer be recording it. The one Jewish character is the most negative stereotype I have ever seen on a network program. What makes this so reprehensible is that there are no other Jews depicted on the show. There are multi-character blacks, Irish and others but only one Jew who is a pawn broker who lies for money. Does "Copper" have another agenda besides telling a story? Too bad this goes unnoticed by the reviewers. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews