Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Based on Carl Sagan's original Cosmos series, astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson hosts this new version executive produced by Ann Druyan, Steven Soter, and Seth MacFarlane.
  • Genre(s): Documentary, Science, Educational
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 7, 2014
    100
    It's educational, kid-oriented and fun, and Tyson us confidently smooth popularizer of science. [17 Mar 2014]
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 6, 2014
    100
    At least the first episode of the new Cosmos is terrific. And if the other 12 episodes are as good, the series will serve as a valuable continuation of Sagan's legacy.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 6, 2014
    91
    It's a show that stands entirely on its own while never forgetting the series that inspired it.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 7, 2014
    80
    Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey is certainly trippy and visually dazzling, but it’s also a big-thought-provoking series crammed with scientific and historical fact. Hosted by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, it is a transporting mass of CGI special effects and cartoon sequences, but it has the heft and scope of cable’s most esteemed science series, “Planet Earth” and “Life.”
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Mar 7, 2014
    80
    The premiere episode nimbly balances information with visual spectacle, forging a middle ground between sci-fi and science fact.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 6, 2014
    75
    The reboot, with only Episode 1 to go by, looks like a noble, educational and decidedly visual effort that can only be enhanced by the HD crystal clarity that Sagan never had a chance to behold.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 7, 2014
    60
    Where Sagan’s narrative often approached poetry, Dr. Tyson’s can sound like an overwrought, overamplified planetarium show.... The animation used to present his story resembles low-budget anime and isn’t terribly absorbing. Bruno deserves better. Nit-picking aside, if the new Cosmos doesn’t deliver quite the punch of the original, it’s because this isn’t 1980.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 88
  2. Negative: 26 out of 88
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    As a huge fan of the original series, I'm happy to let you know the pilot continued the legacy of the great Carl Sagan behind the veryAs a huge fan of the original series, I'm happy to let you know the pilot continued the legacy of the great Carl Sagan behind the very respectable Neil DeGrasse Tyson with great overview and some eye candy visuals. I expect that the science will get more detailed once it focuses on more succinct subjects but so far it was an absolute joy for the anticipation!! Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    When I first watched the trailer for Cosmos, I knew I was in for a great treat. Neil DeGrasse Tyson takes us on a fabulous and stunningWhen I first watched the trailer for Cosmos, I knew I was in for a great treat. Neil DeGrasse Tyson takes us on a fabulous and stunning journey through the wonders of our universe. View in awe a trip from our planet to the end of the observable universe, witness the creation of the universe and its transition through time within just ten minutes using a cosmic calendar, and see the friendship between Edmond Halley and Sir Issac Newton. What really makes this documentary is the visual effects. Thanks to the technology of today, these effects look very realistic. They allow us to leave our sight limits and envision things beyond our imagination, like the Virgo Supercluster. It also allows to look back in the past, and see how life evolved from bacteria, to the Tiktaalik, all the way to our species. There is also another side of these visual effects, which is the cartoon segment, a very huge contrast from that of the other effects. These effects normally are utilized for talking about scientists or people in the past, like Giordano Bruno or Galileo. I believe it works well because since we are used to cartoons, we do not expect the pictures to be stunning and perhaps people would start to get annoyed if it was just all realistic effects throughout the program. The choice to use cartoons for this portion instead of using actors is much better, because using actors would make it more corny and humorous. Neil DeGrasse Tyson was the perfect choice for this, after all he is an astrophysicist. Tyson makes everything clear and understandable to the viewer and the camera position on Tyson makes it look like he is talking directly at you, which makes you listen and pay attention. This documentary has taught me things that I have never known, and the topics are really intriguing. If you are curious about our universe, or just perhaps looking for an interesting program, Cosmos is the perfect choice. Believe me, you will not regret it. Expand
  3. May 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As wonderful as Carl Sagan's. Thank you Cosmos for teaching the common people, with beautiful and clear words, about the meaning the universe. This is, without any doubt, the best TV show of the year Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Ha! The Christian trolls are out in force on this one. Guess what?! Genesis is not science! Get over it! Great show, The writing isHa! The Christian trolls are out in force on this one. Guess what?! Genesis is not science! Get over it! Great show, The writing is inspiring and informational, and it's always great to see Neil Tyson's face and hear his voice. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the show. Fox has a website so you can watch it online whenever you want, and you don't have to deal with the commercials. Google the website, watch it over and over, learn it, tell your friends. Yeah Science! Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    I have not seen all the originals series but I remember that He had the feeling that the world will end in a nuclear winter ... and he wasI have not seen all the originals series but I remember that He had the feeling that the world will end in a nuclear winter ... and he was very passionate...
    The new series are a little of the same with a water down version for the FOX extreme christian people...

    Well if these are their target group Its a 10/10 for me... the rest of the stories have been said from other good shows in many channels... We are not in the "dark ages TV' anymore :D
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    3
    A big let down. Poor graphics....no science....no good
    will not be watching any more episodes, what a a waste of time.
    I expected better
    A big let down. Poor graphics....no science....no good
    will not be watching any more episodes, what a a waste of time.
    I expected better with the news hype.
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    science? haha no

    #fail Unfortunately this horrifically poor show has ended with cancelation albeit not swiftly enough according to
    science? haha no

    #fail

    Unfortunately this horrifically poor show has ended with cancelation albeit not swiftly enough according to justice. This was a huge time waste with no redeeming value.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014

    The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014 Image
    Published: December 23, 2014
    We reveal the year's best-reviewed first-year series, as well as 2014's top TV movies, miniseries, and specials.
  2. Spring TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows

    Spring TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: March 4, 2014
    Our guide to the spring TV season looks at notable newcomers including Fargo, Believe, Silicon Valley, and Turn, and key returning favorites like Game of Thrones, Orphan Black, and Mad Men.