Cosmos: A Space-Time Odyssey Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Based on Carl Sagan's original Cosmos series, astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson hosts this new version executive produced by Ann Druyan, Steven Soter, and Seth MacFarlane.
  • Genre(s): Documentary, Science, Educational

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 7, 2014
    100
    It's educational, kid-oriented and fun, and Tyson us confidently smooth popularizer of science. [17 Mar 2014]
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 6, 2014
    100
    At least the first episode of the new Cosmos is terrific. And if the other 12 episodes are as good, the series will serve as a valuable continuation of Sagan's legacy.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 6, 2014
    91
    It's a show that stands entirely on its own while never forgetting the series that inspired it.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 7, 2014
    80
    Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey is certainly trippy and visually dazzling, but it’s also a big-thought-provoking series crammed with scientific and historical fact. Hosted by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, it is a transporting mass of CGI special effects and cartoon sequences, but it has the heft and scope of cable’s most esteemed science series, “Planet Earth” and “Life.”
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Mar 7, 2014
    80
    The premiere episode nimbly balances information with visual spectacle, forging a middle ground between sci-fi and science fact.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 6, 2014
    75
    The reboot, with only Episode 1 to go by, looks like a noble, educational and decidedly visual effort that can only be enhanced by the HD crystal clarity that Sagan never had a chance to behold.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 7, 2014
    60
    Where Sagan’s narrative often approached poetry, Dr. Tyson’s can sound like an overwrought, overamplified planetarium show.... The animation used to present his story resembles low-budget anime and isn’t terribly absorbing. Bruno deserves better. Nit-picking aside, if the new Cosmos doesn’t deliver quite the punch of the original, it’s because this isn’t 1980.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 89
  2. Negative: 23 out of 89
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    As a huge fan of the original series, I'm happy to let you know the pilot continued the legacy of the great Carl Sagan behind the veryAs a huge fan of the original series, I'm happy to let you know the pilot continued the legacy of the great Carl Sagan behind the very respectable Neil DeGrasse Tyson with great overview and some eye candy visuals. I expect that the science will get more detailed once it focuses on more succinct subjects but so far it was an absolute joy for the anticipation!! Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    When i saw this New Tv show i was so suprised of how the effects are also seeing space time . the show blew me away its like watching myWhen i saw this New Tv show i was so suprised of how the effects are also seeing space time . the show blew me away its like watching my teacher talk about science and watching the most great science show i have ever seen . Grade A+ Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best documents of our lifetime. Tyson tells it as it is. While explaining the wonders of the Cosmos, he also explains the rationaleOne of the best documents of our lifetime. Tyson tells it as it is. While explaining the wonders of the Cosmos, he also explains the rationale behind the people who deny Science. Overall, very entertaining and educational. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Wondrous! This first episode was a grand outline of the universe and the history of the earth, told simply and clearly and utilizingWondrous! This first episode was a grand outline of the universe and the history of the earth, told simply and clearly and utilizing breathtaking visuals. I can't wait to see more. I think this show will help inspire a whole new generation to appreciate science. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Brilliantly presented story for newcomers and believers alike. Gets one to wonder and enhance their curiosity, serving the purpose of aBrilliantly presented story for newcomers and believers alike. Gets one to wonder and enhance their curiosity, serving the purpose of a science show. For all the believers, hope this show can present a concept beyond Religion's simple, complete view of everything. Which has served its purpose in evolution, in bringing the humans to 20th century and above all serving the basic human needs, which in a basic view will continue to do so in the future. Unfortunately it falls short after the basic needs. You need a new view of life to understand beyond that. Science is the answer, at least explore it ! Enjoy the show ! Collapse
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    3
    A big let down. Poor graphics....no science....no good
    will not be watching any more episodes, what a a waste of time.
    I expected better
    A big let down. Poor graphics....no science....no good
    will not be watching any more episodes, what a a waste of time.
    I expected better with the news hype.
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    science? haha no

    #fail Unfortunately this horrifically poor show has ended with cancelation albeit not swiftly enough according to
    science? haha no

    #fail

    Unfortunately this horrifically poor show has ended with cancelation albeit not swiftly enough according to justice. This was a huge time waste with no redeeming value.
    Expand

See all 89 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014

    The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014 Image
    Published: December 23, 2014
    We reveal the year's best-reviewed first-year series, as well as 2014's top TV movies, miniseries, and specials.
  2. Spring TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows

    Spring TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: March 4, 2014
    Our guide to the spring TV season looks at notable newcomers including Fargo, Believe, Silicon Valley, and Turn, and key returning favorites like Game of Thrones, Orphan Black, and Mad Men.