• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Cougar Town Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The show continues its move away from its provocative title to become a comedy about Jules (Courteney Cox), who sees her son off to college this season, and her friends.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Very few shows can get away with genuine moments of emotion while also incorporating the phrase "dead-baby tacos." [1 Oct 2010, p.72]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Their [Courteney Cox & Jennifer Aniston's] scenes are enjoyable enough, but pale next to the wine-sodden antics of Jules' circle of friends as they play a hilarious "movie mash-up" drinking game that Jules somehow can't get the hang of. Cougar Town developed in its first season from a crude and rather desperate sex farce to a terrifically enjoyable ensemble piece that doesn't need big guest stars to zing. (Although if it brings more eyeballs to the show, all the better.)
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    80
    Midway through the first season, Lawrence, Biegel and the other writers realized their cast was so funny together that the wisest course was to just put everyone together as often as possible, let everyone be goofy, and see what happened. By the end of the season, it was often funnier many weeks than the "Modern Family" episode leading into it. And even with Aniston's guest appearance tonight, this is still the show that Cougar Town became at mid-season last year.
  4. Reviewed by: Katherine Stevens
    75
    Finally, we have a show with all the memorable wit of Bill Lawrence's previous series, Scrubs, minus the inner monologues.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Cougar tends to start out big and a bit nasty, then pull back for a gentler finish. The problem may be that many viewers pull out before it gets there.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    63
    [Now in season 2]Courtney Cox's sitcom...is a light, fast show about friends and couples who hang together, banter together and drink together. [8 Nov 2010, p.40]
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    60
    Traditional sitcoms get mileage from the characters acting the same way in a variety of situations, and much of Cougar Town's warmth comes from that sort of predictability. However, the show got better when individuals changed a bit, and the premiere hinted at more of that to come.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Season 2 of Cougar Town is much better than its first season! Courteney Cox, Christa Miller and Busy Phillips are really good at what they do,Season 2 of Cougar Town is much better than its first season! Courteney Cox, Christa Miller and Busy Phillips are really good at what they do, especially Christa Miller. This season has found the perfect mix of emotions. This show can make you laugh and cry in the same episode! Although this is just a 30-minute show, the story is well-built in the episode, but still continues the story of the whole season. This show is really underrated. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Cougartown helped restore my faith in TV writing and will hopefully help pave the way for the return of well-written sitcoms. Its main problemCougartown helped restore my faith in TV writing and will hopefully help pave the way for the return of well-written sitcoms. Its main problem may lie in the show's misleading title, which can detract potential viewers who understandably believe that the focus lies on the cougar concept, and whatever connotations that may invoke. The show never actually even uses the term cougar, except that it is the name of the local high school football team. While the storyline initially did feature Courtney Cox's character Jules reentering the dating scene and dating younger men, it was thankfully shelved. As it turns out, the only reference to the original concept lies with the semi-regular appearances of Barb, who mainly shows up to for a cougar-related joke and disappears.
    The show actually doesn't develop its true identity until about halfway through the first season: it is an ensemble piece in which neighbors, spouses, ex-spouses, friends, etc., most of them living on one cul-de-sac, find themselves spending so much time together that they form a unique type of family.
    As skeptical as I was initially watching the show, you truly can not help but get drawn in to this assortment of characters with their comraderie, inside jokes, rapid-wit dialogue, and collective love of wine consumption (except for the underage Travis, of course). Once again, I stress...this is a character driven show; without painstakingly describing each one, let's just say you're undoubtedly going to find the ones you want to indentify with, just like the best shows. For those who love classic sitcoms with ensembles/groups of friends (including Friends, which some say this show feels like the forty-something version of), you will find yourself unexpectedly addicted. If you own the DVD, be prepared: it is extremely difficult to just watch one episode. It's very strange that Cougartown doesn't get higher ratings. It absolutely has the all the goods and Emmy potential. Don't let the name fool you.
    Collapse
  3. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Loved how this show improved! Sad that is so underrated and underappreciated. Courteney and the rest are outstanding. They really need to beLoved how this show improved! Sad that is so underrated and underappreciated. Courteney and the rest are outstanding. They really need to be on Emmy Radar. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I just love Cougar Town! Funny witty, dumb at times and yet emotional and deep. The cast is really good and, at least to me, you can feel theI just love Cougar Town! Funny witty, dumb at times and yet emotional and deep. The cast is really good and, at least to me, you can feel the deep friendship between the characters. The production value is great. A weekly 30 minutes of fun I don't want to miss each week! I like the fact that the show and the characters evolve from one episode to the next.

    Ohhh yeah... Well Courteney Cox is still hot! She is truely a nice cougar!
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    8
    Thanks to Abed for constantly joking about about this show because he is the one who got me into it. (Community fans, you know what I mean)Thanks to Abed for constantly joking about about this show because he is the one who got me into it. (Community fans, you know what I mean)

    I'll admit, I was one of the first people to call BS on a show called "Cougar Town". Had I stopped watching after season one I probably would've upheld that belief but I'm glad I stuck with Cougar Town after a questionable start. Lawrence and the producers realized that they should just do what made Scrubs so great. Allow to show to be as goofy as it has to be and build up so many recurring jokes that every minute of every show has a laugh or two. I just hope they don't run out of funny jokes about the title in the intro.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    There are 2 sides to this show, or rather 2 types of episodes. Type 1 is the very chick-flick-y episodes with a focus on story and emotionalThere are 2 sides to this show, or rather 2 types of episodes. Type 1 is the very chick-flick-y episodes with a focus on story and emotional crap, and very few jokes. The first season consisted almost entirely of these chick flick episodes which made they show mostly popular with women and the season pretty crap. The other type of episodes are ones that are more focused on jokes and are actually funny. The 2nd season is mostly the funny type episodes, with a few short sprees of chick flick eps, so overall its quite good, but there are some themes that are overdone, mainly *Penny Can*. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    I loved Friends but hated Jennifer Aniston!! I loved Courtney!!! Now after this show seriously???? I hate Courtney Cox!! Thats a lot of makeI loved Friends but hated Jennifer Aniston!! I loved Courtney!!! Now after this show seriously???? I hate Courtney Cox!! Thats a lot of make up!!! Please!!! How can u stop this show???? Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.