• Network: ABC , TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 8 out of 56

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    This is the best season of the show so far. For anyone still not watching please get on board. Lawrence and his team have crafted a gem of a show that encompasses everything about daily life into a sitcom. The characters are fun and lovable, and with both guy and girl dynamics it appeals to everyone. Forget the title and keep enjoying the best writing on TV.
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    So far, the show is great. What can i say? If you loved the show from the very first episode (or two), you DEFINITELY won't be disappointed!
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    This is definitely one of the best sitcoms i have watched recently. Their first season got off with a shaky start due to the slight controversy of it's title. But if you just get past that, you will find yourself watching a tv show about friendship through every situation and loving these hilarious, well balanced and dynamic characters. Every single one of this characters has their own role on the show, and each adds a different twist with their own specific humours, that somehow manages to appeal to everyone. I strongly recommend it, it's abnormally funny. I just wish i had these kind of friends! Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    7
    I like Cougar Town. Sometimes I even love it. Great characters, great chemistry. But sometimes, especially last season, the writers got too wrapped up in gimmicks like penny can, instead of the real relationships between their characters. Don't get me wrong, Penny Can was great, then they overdid it and ruined it. At least for me. This first episode of season three promises to get us back to stories about the characters. The first ten minutes fell a little flat for me, but it picked up from there. I'm definitely going to keep watching. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    6
    I quite liked the first 2 seasons of this show but now it is starting to wear thin. Ellie's meanness used to be amusing but now it just feels nasty and desperate. Jules' quirky sweetness used to be endearing and entertaining but now it just feels forced. On top of this - Christa Miller and Courtney Cox's faces can't make expressions anymore. I find myself facially emoting while I am watching them - like I am subconsciously willing their stone masks into some kind of animation. It was fun for a while but now I'll be moving on. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    5
    There's times of joy but, in the big picture, Cougar Town lacks of good - or even medium - writing. There is no development of characters or plots in this season, leaving it with just a boring scenario of jokes and situations.
  7. May 18, 2012
    4
    This is the worst season yet for me. It lacks the quick wit of the first two seasons, and has been just downright awful. Still, it is better than most sitcoms out there, and I have faith its next season will be better than this one.
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    Terrible show. There is no sense of humor and there is no proper story involved. The writers have to think about a good story and progress in the proper direction. Try HIMYM, or BigBang Theory.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 14, 2012
    83
    Cox remains a very engaging lead, and her supporting cast is rock solid.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Witty and wacky--but emphasizing the wacky above all--this sharp-tongued, sweet-souled sitcom picks up without losing a (heart)beat.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 13, 2012
    88
    Cougar Town returns with its wit, silliness and good-heartedness fully intact.