• Network: ABC , TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 196

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jayeb
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Courtney Cox works too hard at being funny. And she's just not.
  2. ChrisS
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    One-note and almost entirely unwatchable, if they reverse the sex then one could call it "creepy old men stalking young women"...what you don't find that tasteful and topical?
  3. PaulG.
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Needs character development, not 50 20 second meaningless joke set up scenes.
  4. SW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Couldn't finish it, and I love her!
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 28, 2009
    3
    It's sad to see Courtney Cox play such a brash & raunchy character in a show that seems like a "Sex in the City" spin-off with a single mom. I felt uneasy watching this and thinking about what liberal television networks believe to be ok for free television. Courtney's character talks about her "coochie" and gets interupted by her son while giving oral sex to another young man It's sad to see Courtney Cox play such a brash & raunchy character in a show that seems like a "Sex in the City" spin-off with a single mom. I felt uneasy watching this and thinking about what liberal television networks believe to be ok for free television. Courtney's character talks about her "coochie" and gets interupted by her son while giving oral sex to another young man and does not even seem bothered by it! This is trash television and Courtney' Cox should hold out for something better than this. Don't let your kids watch this garbage. I gave it a three just based on the fact that I got to see Courtney In her underwear twice in one 30 minute show and she looks great! Collapse
  6. RichardJ
    Oct 21, 2009
    2
    Yes, because her behavior will go a long way towards teaching her teen aged son who to respectfully treat his future relationships. What a sorry excuse to pornography.
  7. Kess
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    Really painful to watch. 1 1/2 episodes is it for me. Courtney Cox is NOT funny.
  8. NitaK
    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    It was awful. C Cox has either gone overboard on the Botox or she has truly lost her acting ability. She reduces herself to one "funny" expression, which is a stiff, annoyed grimace to her neighbor. I think it's intended to be funny because she does it all the time. ugh. lee.
  9. RaymondR
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    This show is simply to painful to take seriously. A 40 year old woman starving to satisfy her sexual desires with 20 year olds, while at the same time being a mom isn't a nice plot line. I really hope this gets cancelled soon...for Courtney Cox's sake. She really does herself a disservice in this series.
  10. WesleyH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    I lasted 8 minutes into it. Vular and it seemed to be trying way too hard. Won't watch it again, even though I'm a Courtney Cox fan. Find a better vehicle for this talent.
  11. RobertH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    The show gets 2 points for having Ms. Cox in it. Other than that, it is a glimpse at the future of the death of television comedy.
  12. DeniseB.
    Sep 27, 2009
    2
    Hated the show. Cox's x-husband is so lame, he makes me cringe. The show is so completely over the top in a way that is beyond annoying, Crude to say the least. Flashing a jr. high boy is jail material in some states. I couldn't wait to delete it (before teh end) and discontinue the season pass on the dvr.
  13. May 7, 2012
    2
    Bad. Uncomfortable scenes seem to be Cougar Town's order of the day. These can be great if done with style, but unfortunately, the sort of level of crazy desperation shown by the central character seems to make the whole thing a little farcical. Farce can be great for a few minutes, but please don't make a TV series out of it.
  14. Feb 11, 2014
    2
    Awful, awful, awful! Maybe in the minority, but this is possibly the most painful "comedy" show I have watched in a while. It was cancelled and picked up by TBS. But it is still terrible.
  15. NanA.
    Sep 25, 2009
    1
    The premise is sophomoric and the dialogue isn't much better. What a waste of Courtney Cox's talent?
  16. LINDAa
    Jan 7, 2010
    1
    This show is so stupid. Just another show about white women obsessing about how they look. This is not cougartown. The whole point is that she is suppose to be dating younger guys and confident that she is older. Now she is dating this new guy Scott Foley and he is just as old as she is. They obsess about eating and that's why white girls are anorexic today. That episode about This show is so stupid. Just another show about white women obsessing about how they look. This is not cougartown. The whole point is that she is suppose to be dating younger guys and confident that she is older. Now she is dating this new guy Scott Foley and he is just as old as she is. They obsess about eating and that's why white girls are anorexic today. That episode about don't watch me eat was just ridiculous. Courtney Cox is so bony and frail. She just looks sick. They could have chosen someone else for the lead. Her best friend is also a mess. Anyone with eyes can tell that she injects her face with botox. This whole show is silly but mess like this will stay on the tv for years. Expand
  17. DinoS
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    It's not funny, unimaginative, creepy, boring, insipid, 10-cliche-per-minute sitcom fare topped off with a bizarrely distracting soundtrack in lieu of a laugh track.
  18. matt
    Sep 24, 2009
    1
    I don't get it. Is Courtney Cox in love with her son?
  19. Jan 3, 2014
    1
    I just don't like it! Loved friends, it's just the women have very annoying personalities. The guys not so bad. I don't think it will go far. At least I hope not. I have tried several times to watch it. The commercials. Change the brew statement (is that what they are saying). Courtney dresses terrible stripe tees and high heels. They look like dirty women. Please bring backI just don't like it! Loved friends, it's just the women have very annoying personalities. The guys not so bad. I don't think it will go far. At least I hope not. I have tried several times to watch it. The commercials. Change the brew statement (is that what they are saying). Courtney dresses terrible stripe tees and high heels. They look like dirty women. Please bring back House of Payne and the Browns. Family shows. Expand
  20. ClaireD.
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Cougartown was so bad it was actually painful to watch. What's funny about a teenage boy walking in on his mother performing oral sex on a younger man she just picked up? This show was insulting to everyone. Try Modern Family for a comic look at real life family issues.
  21. christineg.
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Too painful to keep watching. It went from bad to worse. So unrealistic. So sick of the "Friends" people, including Jennifer Aniston. Get them off the screen, PLEASE!!!
  22. JudyF.
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    Too painful to watch - ugh - cancel it already!
  23. robN
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Absolute crap. Not only was the show not funny, it was actually uncomfortable to watch!
  24. MattS
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    What a vile, vile show. I'm not objecting to sex
  25. KDG
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    I can't remember the last time I watched a TV show, let alone a comedy, and walked away genuinely angry. Oh, Mr. Lawrence, please leave this mistake behind you and return to Scrubs. And Courtney, I love you, but this is an even worse choice (& I can't believe it either) than Dirt.
  26. jennys
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    Horrible, unfunny, annoying show!
  27. BrandonS.
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Awful. The pilot had some dialogue that said it all: "Why don't you ever laugh at my jokes?" "Because your jokes make me sad." Got that right. Get ready to be canceled, Cougar Town. What a disaster.
  28. BonnieL
    Sep 28, 2009
    0
    Terrible. Waste of time. Loved Courtney Cox in Dirt. Could only watch for 15 minutes. Would rather watch Dirt Reruns. Take this off the air quick.
  29. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    Absolutely awful. Courtney Cox desperately grinds out horrendous writing and ridiculously plays along with an agonizingly terrible supporting cast, especially the wretched Busy Phillips. I cannot express how terrible this show is, the worst on television.
  30. Mar 12, 2011
    0
    BOYCOTT. MISOGYNY.

    The term Cougar is just another woman-hating, woman-loathing, undermining put-down. Courtney Cox - Shame on you! Were you really that desperate for work you had sell-out your own sex to get it?
  31. May 25, 2011
    0
    This show is shockingly bad. The dialogue is forced, predictable, cliched and just not funny. The few times I've seen it, I just cannot believe that this is what is being presented as entertainment. Please cancel this show, it is just terrible.
  32. aev
    Feb 5, 2013
    0
    This show is so terrible. The acting is the worst (Courtney Cox needs to get a hint). The jokes are boring, and the alcoholism shown as it was so funny it's just sad. I really do not understand how this show got to come back to tv.
  33. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    A bunch of old actors trying to hard. Courtney Cox's character is just one huge alcoholic who doesn't work, along with everyone else in the show? Stupid comedy and a waste of money to make.
  34. Dec 15, 2014
    0
    I don't see how this predictable cast of characters lasted as long as it did. The fact that everyone sleeps with everyone is par for the course I suppose but when the son is thrown into the mix it makes the whole thing incestuous. Few jokes ever get off the ground and the emotion is forced.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Alasdair Wilkins
    Jan 6, 2014
    75
    Five seasons in, Cougar Town may not have many new points to make about its characters, but those viewers already convinced of the show’s charms will find the show as amusing and entertaining as ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    63
    What we have is a light, fast show about friends and couples who hang together, banter together and drink together. [8 Nov 2010, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    50
    This is a story of desperation, not liberation. Cox is too good for this.