• Network: ABC , TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 196

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    6
    I think this is difficult series to get into. The Pilot is awful! It's very shallow, promotes negative values and starts being quite demeaning to women... but it does get better. Each character will eventually find her/his voice and the one liners become funnier. Season 2 is much better.
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Bill Lawrence's brand of comedy is the closest you'll get to real-life dialogue between friends. The scenarios, the inside jokes, the laughs, the tears are all there just as they are in your daily lives. Cougar Town embraces going through life by surround yourself with your closest friends and that's why it's so great. Like Scrubs before it, Bill Lawrence has made another group of TVBill Lawrence's brand of comedy is the closest you'll get to real-life dialogue between friends. The scenarios, the inside jokes, the laughs, the tears are all there just as they are in your daily lives. Cougar Town embraces going through life by surround yourself with your closest friends and that's why it's so great. Like Scrubs before it, Bill Lawrence has made another group of TV characters you would want to spend your time with. Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    While it does take a while to get into (I actually started with season 2, then watched the first season), this cast on this show is wonderful. The premise is a tad superficial, yet strangely appropriate for the chosen setting. I love the complicated relationships between the characters, and the expected behaviour between others (I'm a sucker for familiarity on shows). Overall, highlyWhile it does take a while to get into (I actually started with season 2, then watched the first season), this cast on this show is wonderful. The premise is a tad superficial, yet strangely appropriate for the chosen setting. I love the complicated relationships between the characters, and the expected behaviour between others (I'm a sucker for familiarity on shows). Overall, highly entertaining and makes me laugh plenty. Collapse
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This is the funniest show ever!!! Every episode is hilarious and the characters are very lovable. Don't be fooled by the title, the show has almost nothing to do with older women chasing younger guys.
    The show's sense of humor is definitely not typical of modern media, it would probably only appeal to certain people. Nonetheless, i LOVE THIS SHOW!!! It's hard to compare it to any other,
    This is the funniest show ever!!! Every episode is hilarious and the characters are very lovable. Don't be fooled by the title, the show has almost nothing to do with older women chasing younger guys.
    The show's sense of humor is definitely not typical of modern media, it would probably only appeal to certain people. Nonetheless, i LOVE THIS SHOW!!! It's hard to compare it to any other, since it's so inherently unique, but i recommend that anyone who likes shows like 30 Rock watch it.
    Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This show is just fantastic. Get over the name people! It doesn't have anything to do with older women banging out young dudes. It is a show about friendship, family and booze. What else in life is important? Do yourself a favor and invest some time getting to know and appreciate this show. You'll thank me later. JPC
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    It also annoys me that people have something against the name. It's just a title! This comedy is quick, sharp and unexpected and the characters all gel really well. The story advances slowly which is the best thing to do for a 30 minute show lasting 22 episodes because it leaves them enough time to put in different character learning episodes where we connect with the character more.
  7. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Cougar Town is really funny. The characters are just hilarious enough to make you burst into laughter because of the smart play of words and excellent acting by the actors. It is just unfortunate that it is being judged on the title alone and that people do not see how relevant the issues tackled in Cougar Town are. Moreover, the Season 2 is really touching but still funny. The Pilot isCougar Town is really funny. The characters are just hilarious enough to make you burst into laughter because of the smart play of words and excellent acting by the actors. It is just unfortunate that it is being judged on the title alone and that people do not see how relevant the issues tackled in Cougar Town are. Moreover, the Season 2 is really touching but still funny. The Pilot is not a good basis for the show because it has continuously improved in so many aspects in so many levels. This is one of those shows that can make you laugh and cry in the same episode and get the message across. Expand
  8. talithaf
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Great show! Lightheartedly joking about getting older and being on your own. A lot of women have missed their twenties, and cougar town shows you how not to make up for it. I think Jules' charachter is actually quite realistic. Girls just wanna have fun! No matter if they are 20 or 40. Also, if you can't joke about sex and relationships, what are you going to joke about? Work, Great show! Lightheartedly joking about getting older and being on your own. A lot of women have missed their twenties, and cougar town shows you how not to make up for it. I think Jules' charachter is actually quite realistic. Girls just wanna have fun! No matter if they are 20 or 40. Also, if you can't joke about sex and relationships, what are you going to joke about? Work, other people? Get a life people! Expand
  9. jamesd
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This show is hilarious, period. It is not meant for kids, so I wish these reviewers would stop trashing it for containing mature content. I've never seen such snobby reviews in my entire life!
  10. risatrix
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Anyone who complains about the sex jokes (no worse than "Two and a Half Men", incidentally) just doesn't get it: women are allowed to objectify men now -- which is a great relief to women who have gotten sick of sitting through gratuitous breast shots for decades. The show is funny, it keeps enough ironic distance to recognize its own cheesiness (it's a sitcom, what else do we Anyone who complains about the sex jokes (no worse than "Two and a Half Men", incidentally) just doesn't get it: women are allowed to objectify men now -- which is a great relief to women who have gotten sick of sitting through gratuitous breast shots for decades. The show is funny, it keeps enough ironic distance to recognize its own cheesiness (it's a sitcom, what else do we expect?), and it has some great comic actresses. Nuff said. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    Really enjoyed this show - recently finished watching the first 2 series. The first couple of episodes are a little awakward and don't really work very well, but once the show hits its stride a few episodes into the first season it does become very funny. The second season was great. Have to say I love Christa Miller - granted her character is very much like her Scrubs character but sheReally enjoyed this show - recently finished watching the first 2 series. The first couple of episodes are a little awakward and don't really work very well, but once the show hits its stride a few episodes into the first season it does become very funny. The second season was great. Have to say I love Christa Miller - granted her character is very much like her Scrubs character but she nails it.

    I think the title is off putting and you can see in the first couple of episodes they had trouble with the series concept and its relation to the title, but once they move beyond that the comedy does improve dramatically.

    Penny-Can!!!
    Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    At first I thought this was a bit of a chick-flick but after the first ten minutes of the first episodes I really Got into it and started laughing not being able to stop but yeah i found this very good so that's why i give it the 10 because it does deserve and i understand it's not every ones cup of tea but it's still good to me!
  13. AndreaM
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    A fun new show for Courteney Cox! Courteney: welcome back!
  14. Bev
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    Love the show, It puts a real twist on everyday life and Courtney's character says what all middle age women and thinking but afraid to say...Love it and love the clothes and fashion. Good entertainment.
  15. GeraldP
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Great show ! Courtney looks better than ever and she has a great supporting cast to go with her comedic genius . Wish the show was 3 hours long !!!
  16. KennethL
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    This show is awesome! That the series haven't got better critics shocks me!
  17. DebbieA
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    best show on TV for a long time
  18. Flavio
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Great comeback for Courteney! If you don't think so, just look at her Golden Globe nom.
  19. JoeH
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    I think this show is a riot! Sure, many stereotypes but the over-the-top situations and frantic pace of the humor and characters make it fun. I actually see many similarities to my 40s-50s single lady friends. Glad to see some of the women here like it too.
  20. anonymous
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    This show has potential and the last couple episodes made me actually laugh out loud. Ex: the scene showing what courtney's character did her first night out with the girls. Priceless.
  21. DeeM.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Excellent mix of visual and verbal humour. Full marks.
  22. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    The show started off as crass and distractingly sexual, but morphed into a wonderful dysfunctional ensemble comedy as the season progressed. Busy Phillips and Christa Miller are two of the finest supporting comedy actresses on television. And despite the silliness of the show, it has a weird capability of executing really emotional, heartfelt episodes well.
  23. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    I find this show very entertaining. I don't know why they chose the title, it is definitely unfortunate, but otherwise, the writing is really sharp and funny and the actors do a good job. (It's certainly 100 times better than the last several seasons of Friends.)
  24. Kess
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    Really painful to watch. 1 1/2 episodes is it for me. Courtney Cox is NOT funny.
  25. JudyF.
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    Too painful to watch - ugh - cancel it already!
  26. DinoS
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    It's not funny, unimaginative, creepy, boring, insipid, 10-cliche-per-minute sitcom fare topped off with a bizarrely distracting soundtrack in lieu of a laugh track.
  27. RaymondR
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    This show is simply to painful to take seriously. A 40 year old woman starving to satisfy her sexual desires with 20 year olds, while at the same time being a mom isn't a nice plot line. I really hope this gets cancelled soon...for Courtney Cox's sake. She really does herself a disservice in this series.
  28. NitaK
    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    It was awful. C Cox has either gone overboard on the Botox or she has truly lost her acting ability. She reduces herself to one "funny" expression, which is a stiff, annoyed grimace to her neighbor. I think it's intended to be funny because she does it all the time. ugh. lee.
  29. KDG
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    I can't remember the last time I watched a TV show, let alone a comedy, and walked away genuinely angry. Oh, Mr. Lawrence, please leave this mistake behind you and return to Scrubs. And Courtney, I love you, but this is an even worse choice (& I can't believe it either) than Dirt.
  30. TarynW
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    I love this show, and I think it's hilarious!!
  31. ChrisS
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    One-note and almost entirely unwatchable, if they reverse the sex then one could call it "creepy old men stalking young women"...what you don't find that tasteful and topical?
  32. RichardJ
    Oct 21, 2009
    2
    Yes, because her behavior will go a long way towards teaching her teen aged son who to respectfully treat his future relationships. What a sorry excuse to pornography.
  33. LINDAa
    Jan 7, 2010
    1
    This show is so stupid. Just another show about white women obsessing about how they look. This is not cougartown. The whole point is that she is suppose to be dating younger guys and confident that she is older. Now she is dating this new guy Scott Foley and he is just as old as she is. They obsess about eating and that's why white girls are anorexic today. That episode about This show is so stupid. Just another show about white women obsessing about how they look. This is not cougartown. The whole point is that she is suppose to be dating younger guys and confident that she is older. Now she is dating this new guy Scott Foley and he is just as old as she is. They obsess about eating and that's why white girls are anorexic today. That episode about don't watch me eat was just ridiculous. Courtney Cox is so bony and frail. She just looks sick. They could have chosen someone else for the lead. Her best friend is also a mess. Anyone with eyes can tell that she injects her face with botox. This whole show is silly but mess like this will stay on the tv for years. Expand
  34. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    Absolutely awful. Courtney Cox desperately grinds out horrendous writing and ridiculously plays along with an agonizingly terrible supporting cast, especially the wretched Busy Phillips. I cannot express how terrible this show is, the worst on television.
  35. jayeb
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Courtney Cox works too hard at being funny. And she's just not.
  36. MikeG.
    Oct 1, 2009
    4
    I only caught the pilot, but this show seems more mean spirited than funny. Any show with the talented Courtney Cox is going to have its moments, but the bitter undercurrents here would be better suited to an hour long drama and not what at times is a broad comedy.
  37. NanA.
    Sep 25, 2009
    1
    The premise is sophomoric and the dialogue isn't much better. What a waste of Courtney Cox's talent?
  38. ClaireD.
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Cougartown was so bad it was actually painful to watch. What's funny about a teenage boy walking in on his mother performing oral sex on a younger man she just picked up? This show was insulting to everyone. Try Modern Family for a comic look at real life family issues.
  39. christineg.
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    Too painful to keep watching. It went from bad to worse. So unrealistic. So sick of the "Friends" people, including Jennifer Aniston. Get them off the screen, PLEASE!!!
  40. PaulP.
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    This features two quite appealing comic veterans - Courtney Cox with some assistance from Christa Miller - but, if the scripts don't improve, it's likely it will just be a forgotten blotch on both their reusmes. It's the "New Adventures of Old Christine" with even less subtlety. The first half was almost all rapid fire dialogue, which doesn't work because the show This features two quite appealing comic veterans - Courtney Cox with some assistance from Christa Miller - but, if the scripts don't improve, it's likely it will just be a forgotten blotch on both their reusmes. It's the "New Adventures of Old Christine" with even less subtlety. The first half was almost all rapid fire dialogue, which doesn't work because the show lacks the edge to make rapid fire make sense. It's obviously just a phony script that says "line, line, line, bizarre situation, line, embarassing situation, line, line, sex scene, line, embarassing situation, lne, etc.... Just to make sure you understand that it's Contrived Scriptwriting 101, Cox even gets a shot speech. A speech! For Cox's sake, I hope it becomes funny. But it ain't, yet. Expand
  41. robN
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Absolute crap. Not only was the show not funny, it was actually uncomfortable to watch!
  42. matt
    Sep 24, 2009
    1
    I don't get it. Is Courtney Cox in love with her son?
  43. PaulG.
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Needs character development, not 50 20 second meaningless joke set up scenes.
  44. WesleyH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    I lasted 8 minutes into it. Vular and it seemed to be trying way too hard. Won't watch it again, even though I'm a Courtney Cox fan. Find a better vehicle for this talent.
  45. RobertH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    The show gets 2 points for having Ms. Cox in it. Other than that, it is a glimpse at the future of the death of television comedy.
  46. SW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Couldn't finish it, and I love her!
  47. DeniseB.
    Sep 27, 2009
    2
    Hated the show. Cox's x-husband is so lame, he makes me cringe. The show is so completely over the top in a way that is beyond annoying, Crude to say the least. Flashing a jr. high boy is jail material in some states. I couldn't wait to delete it (before teh end) and discontinue the season pass on the dvr.
  48. [Anonymous]
    Sep 28, 2009
    3
    It's sad to see Courtney Cox play such a brash & raunchy character in a show that seems like a "Sex in the City" spin-off with a single mom. I felt uneasy watching this and thinking about what liberal television networks believe to be ok for free television. Courtney's character talks about her "coochie" and gets interupted by her son while giving oral sex to another young man It's sad to see Courtney Cox play such a brash & raunchy character in a show that seems like a "Sex in the City" spin-off with a single mom. I felt uneasy watching this and thinking about what liberal television networks believe to be ok for free television. Courtney's character talks about her "coochie" and gets interupted by her son while giving oral sex to another young man and does not even seem bothered by it! This is trash television and Courtney' Cox should hold out for something better than this. Don't let your kids watch this garbage. I gave it a three just based on the fact that I got to see Courtney In her underwear twice in one 30 minute show and she looks great! Expand
  49. MattS
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    What a vile, vile show. I'm not objecting to sex
  50. jennys
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    Horrible, unfunny, annoying show!
  51. BrandonS.
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    Awful. The pilot had some dialogue that said it all: "Why don't you ever laugh at my jokes?" "Because your jokes make me sad." Got that right. Get ready to be canceled, Cougar Town. What a disaster.
  52. BonnieL
    Sep 28, 2009
    0
    Terrible. Waste of time. Loved Courtney Cox in Dirt. Could only watch for 15 minutes. Would rather watch Dirt Reruns. Take this off the air quick.
  53. Mar 12, 2011
    0
    BOYCOTT. MISOGYNY.

    The term Cougar is just another woman-hating, woman-loathing, undermining put-down. Courtney Cox - Shame on you! Were you really that desperate for work you had sell-out your own sex to get it?
  54. May 25, 2011
    0
    This show is shockingly bad. The dialogue is forced, predictable, cliched and just not funny. The few times I've seen it, I just cannot believe that this is what is being presented as entertainment. Please cancel this show, it is just terrible.
  55. May 7, 2012
    2
    Bad. Uncomfortable scenes seem to be Cougar Town's order of the day. These can be great if done with style, but unfortunately, the sort of level of crazy desperation shown by the central character seems to make the whole thing a little farcical. Farce can be great for a few minutes, but please don't make a TV series out of it.
  56. aev
    Feb 5, 2013
    0
    This show is so terrible. The acting is the worst (Courtney Cox needs to get a hint). The jokes are boring, and the alcoholism shown as it was so funny it's just sad. I really do not understand how this show got to come back to tv.
  57. TanyaH.
    Oct 1, 2009
    6
    I didn't think it was bad, not great, but not bad. Some of us don't have the money to pay for HBO, Showtime etc so we only have so many choices. And I'd much rather watch Cougartown and laugh than all the scripted "reality" shows.
  58. BiancaF.
    Oct 1, 2009
    7
    Its funny but not hilarious...Plot has potential do develop, but not there yet. As a big fan of Cox I will give it a chance.
  59. StewartP.
    Sep 24, 2009
    8
    It's amusing and CC looks great and still can deliver some lowbrow comedy. The supporting cast is clever enough and the leadin with Modern Family will help it as well.
  60. ShayS
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    I was kind of "ewww" at the first 10 seconds But it wasn't that bad! It was actually kind of hilarious.
  61. GrantS.
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    I thought this show was suprisingly funny. Fans of Scrubs shoudl definitely enjoy this show. Bill Lawrence has done it again. The acting and jokes were all very well done. I've only seen one episode, but I'll keep watching.
  62. DanL.
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Am I the only one who really enjoyed Cougar Town? Come on! It´s full of funny jokes and I think it´s basically one of the best new comedy series in this season. Bill Lawrence rocks! I hope that Scrubs will be this year at least as good as Cougar Town.
  63. Jennifer
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    I am not sure how long this show will last. Cougars are a hot topic right now and the show is cute. I do not think it will last long but I do enjoy watching.
  64. LatrobeP
    Nov 21, 2009
    7
    While not the greatest comedy ever, it's not a waste of time either; definitely worth watching. Given the huge spread in the reviews it would be interesting to see a demographic breakdown of the critics by age, sex and sexual preference.
  65. Feb 11, 2014
    2
    Awful, awful, awful! Maybe in the minority, but this is possibly the most painful "comedy" show I have watched in a while. It was cancelled and picked up by TBS. But it is still terrible.
  66. Jan 3, 2014
    1
    I just don't like it! Loved friends, it's just the women have very annoying personalities. The guys not so bad. I don't think it will go far. At least I hope not. I have tried several times to watch it. The commercials. Change the brew statement (is that what they are saying). Courtney dresses terrible stripe tees and high heels. They look like dirty women. Please bring backI just don't like it! Loved friends, it's just the women have very annoying personalities. The guys not so bad. I don't think it will go far. At least I hope not. I have tried several times to watch it. The commercials. Change the brew statement (is that what they are saying). Courtney dresses terrible stripe tees and high heels. They look like dirty women. Please bring back House of Payne and the Browns. Family shows. Expand
  67. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    A bunch of old actors trying to hard. Courtney Cox's character is just one huge alcoholic who doesn't work, along with everyone else in the show? Stupid comedy and a waste of money to make.
  68. Dec 15, 2014
    0
    I don't see how this predictable cast of characters lasted as long as it did. The fact that everyone sleeps with everyone is par for the course I suppose but when the son is thrown into the mix it makes the whole thing incestuous. Few jokes ever get off the ground and the emotion is forced.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Alasdair Wilkins
    Jan 6, 2014
    75
    Five seasons in, Cougar Town may not have many new points to make about its characters, but those viewers already convinced of the show’s charms will find the show as amusing and entertaining as ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    63
    What we have is a light, fast show about friends and couples who hang together, banter together and drink together. [8 Nov 2010, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    50
    This is a story of desperation, not liberation. Cox is too good for this.