Covert Affairs : Season 1

  • Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 13, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 112
  2. Negative: 13 out of 112

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    The show calls for Annie to be a sleek strong intelligent agent rearing to explore the world, saving people on the way while being sexy and confident. Yet we are let with miss Perabo, her acting is so below par that she translates Annie into an inexperienced deer in the light intern, who seems so out of place in the CiA. Making the show so wrong and awkward. And even though it is wellThe show calls for Annie to be a sleek strong intelligent agent rearing to explore the world, saving people on the way while being sexy and confident. Yet we are let with miss Perabo, her acting is so below par that she translates Annie into an inexperienced deer in the light intern, who seems so out of place in the CiA. Making the show so wrong and awkward. And even though it is well written the simple miscasting of Piper Perabo reduces the show to less than it could have been. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2015
    3
    Annie Walker is probably the most inept, incompetent CIA officer ever to work for the agency and yet despite her many failures and screw ups she's constantly lauded for her so called "Achievements". The only reason my score isn't a 1 is because of their willingness to shoot scenes on location, the changes in scenery do a lot to make the series bearable through Annie's bumbling joke of anAnnie Walker is probably the most inept, incompetent CIA officer ever to work for the agency and yet despite her many failures and screw ups she's constantly lauded for her so called "Achievements". The only reason my score isn't a 1 is because of their willingness to shoot scenes on location, the changes in scenery do a lot to make the series bearable through Annie's bumbling joke of an attempt at espionage. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2015
    3
    This show is almost **** Concentrated on good looking perabo. No real craft behind the stories. Why is Annies friend blind? Annie keeps on breaking CIA protocols and orders episode after episode and has to be saved in each episode. I mean I say die already. Keeps on making bad decisions and still coming out front like she knew it all along.
  4. Sep 22, 2010
    1
    covert affairs painfully asks women to look more masculine than they are, making the actors look awkward in their roles. The story line is so cliche of a chick flick but to be honest, if you're like me and you're a fan of shows like criminal minds and city homicide seeing a show like covert affairs really pisses you off because the story line is so **** I WANT BLOOD AND GUTS PEOPLE!!!!!
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    1
    I have to say there was only 2 good things about this show I mean the pilot got me hooked and left me wanting more. But after that it was dull episode after dull episode I mean i fell asleep after first 25 mins of the show. The other good thing was Christopher Gorham's character the rest i just would want to leave because i did not care about them at all. I mean Annie had to be saved soI have to say there was only 2 good things about this show I mean the pilot got me hooked and left me wanting more. But after that it was dull episode after dull episode I mean i fell asleep after first 25 mins of the show. The other good thing was Christopher Gorham's character the rest i just would want to leave because i did not care about them at all. I mean Annie had to be saved so many times she could not do anything without being saved by another male character (and i say male because Matt Corman
    said she was supposed to be better then bourne could ever be yeah right) and the rest of the cast was just so unrealistic like the married couple who kept arguing i just wanted them to shut up already. im only going to watch the first 2 or 3 episodes of the second season and hope they improve pretty much everything instead of wasting my time again with this show
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2012
    1
    this is the biggest mistake on tv.. poor acting. total crap. i'd rather watch teletubbies. the show is just a sad attempt to infuse humour into the spy world. instead of covert affair, it should be something butterflies and sunshine with guns. i am surprised the show made it to the 3rd season. i didn't even make it beyond the 1st 20 minutes of the pilot before deciding to engage myself inthis is the biggest mistake on tv.. poor acting. total crap. i'd rather watch teletubbies. the show is just a sad attempt to infuse humour into the spy world. instead of covert affair, it should be something butterflies and sunshine with guns. i am surprised the show made it to the 3rd season. i didn't even make it beyond the 1st 20 minutes of the pilot before deciding to engage myself in something more productive Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    saw the show - loved the story - cant watch anymore because the lead lady is so annoying by flipping her hair constantly. why does she insist on doing that?
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. 70
    The mood is bright and whimsical--easy to take and just as easy to forget.
  2. Right from the start, Perabo's Annie Walker is after a foreign agent, ''one of the most danger- ous men in the world.'' Yes, the dialogue spells things out like that.
  3. Unfortunately, whoever developed this show couldn't trust the audience to accept Piper Perabo's character as strong enough to get out of a pickle or two without male intervention. I won't reveal how, because the first episode is otherwise very enjoyable, thanks to a solid supporting cast including "O.C." dad Peter Gallagher, Kari Matchett and former WB/UPN heartthrob Christopher Gorham.