Crossing Lines : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Crossing Lines Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: International Criminal Court Inspector Michel Dorn (Donald Sutherland) and Detective Maj. Louis Daniel (Marc Lavoine) ask ex-NYPD detective Carl Hickman (William Fichtner) to come out of retirement to help find a serial killer.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    An attractive, multi-accented cast and far-flung locales make it worth the trip. [1 Jul 2013, p.36]
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    It seems that international crime fighting has the same wearying turf wars as American police work and that border-crossing serial killers practice the same sorts of sadistic violence against women that domestic ones often do.... Still, Crossing Lines makes for satisfying viewing; with Mr. Fichtner’s and Mr. Lavoine’s performances it might continue to do so for the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    Though constructed from off-the-rack tropes and predictable dialogue, the show also keeps moving forward, causing its characters enough trouble that you feel compelled to stick around at least to see how they get out of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    The whole melting pot of European coppers swapping insults is a rather stale twist on an old formula. That’s not to say Lines is without its merits, starting with Fichtner.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 21, 2013
    50
    The cops, led by Marc Lavoine, are an interesting mix, and the scenery's great. If only the crime itself didn't seem so drearily familiar.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    Crossing Lines isn’t breezy enough for a summer diversion. Instead it’s ponderous, pretentious and too predictable.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 24, 2013
    42
    There's potentially a very interesting show about cops from different cultures, with different methods of policing, learning to work together. Based on the pilot, at least, Crossing Lines just treats all that as window dressing for the same old, same old.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    an amazing show, i can't stop watch! a great story with a lot of things that make you think about, that was a good season and i hope have morean amazing show, i can't stop watch! a great story with a lot of things that make you think about, that was a good season and i hope have more seasons with this quality Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Just found this show and love the concept! It's a thriller with a fresh take. I hope will see it go the distance!! It is interesting, withJust found this show and love the concept! It's a thriller with a fresh take. I hope will see it go the distance!! It is interesting, with mystery, action, and intrigue! Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    A very surprising tv show that has good action, drama and talented actors from many diffrent countries. I can´t wait for the next episode, theA very surprising tv show that has good action, drama and talented actors from many diffrent countries. I can´t wait for the next episode, the story is very well written and is very similar to reality. Having Donald Sutherland in the show makes it intresting and likeble.. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2016
    7
    This series most definitely has the potential. I find some elements disturbing, but I'm not gonna whine about that now. What I am going toThis series most definitely has the potential. I find some elements disturbing, but I'm not gonna whine about that now. What I am going to talk about is the acting crew, most notably the new acting crew. Namely, Donald Sutherland, Elizabeth Mitchell and Goran Visnjic are brilliant in season 3. I will not forget to mention William Fichtner, who had his good times in the show. Tom Wlaschiha is definitely doing good, I like his character and I really like Sebastian, he looks like a normal detective, under German influence mixed with a little Game of Thrones. But hey, that is me Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2013
    6
    This show would be so much better if people were to speak in their own languages. The plots are decent. I really think the show needs aThis show would be so much better if people were to speak in their own languages. The plots are decent. I really think the show needs a little more character development and team development in the next few episodes. I find that some of the cast aren't as engaging as others. It most likely is the writing. I find the writing to be devoid of style or wit. The actors are what keep me coming back. I believe the actors are decent. I have to say that Fichtner is playing the same old stereotypical character that he always plays. It is boring and I usually fast forward him. It also could be the American attitude he pours on for the character I don't like. The apparent leader of this rag tag bunch of cops is disengaging as well. I understand I'm supposed to feel for his plight as a suffering father who lost his child and is losing his wife too. But there again, the show has fallen short to fully develop the arc of the character. I l love Donald Sutherland, but I also find his dialogue to be lack lustre. The least favorite of the cast has to be Anna Marie(sp?) and Sebastian, of course this is behind Fichtner's character. These two are uninspired. One has a gambling problem and I know nothing about the girl who was hurt and is seemingly Fichtner's gopher. You could almost axe these two and I wouldn't notice.

    I have to say the best and most interesting characters on the show are Victoria and Tommy. I love how these two actors have dived into their roles. I actually believe them because they seem to believe in their characters. Even though they weren't given much, they still had a presence on screen.

    I would suggest sweeping changes to this show if it is to continue:

    1. Have the characters actually speak their own languages in their own countries! OMGosh, why the hell would they speak English? I know this is an American show, but I would hope the American public can read as well. Not only does this make this show look incredibly cheap, it ruins the feel of being in the wonderful locales.

    2. Someone get a composer or a music producer who can score for this show, so it doesn't seem like some cheesy B rated movie or badly produced foreign tv show.

    3. The writers need to work on some new material. There are so many more interesting crimes. Stop being so pedantic. As well, focus on one or two characters instead of all of them. This will help with the flow of the show as well as have us, the audience, able to not be jarred by every other scene while trying to figure out which storyline we're in.
    Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    Great cast, great locales, terrible writing and overly dramatic musical score. I want to love this show, but find it more and more irritatingGreat cast, great locales, terrible writing and overly dramatic musical score. I want to love this show, but find it more and more irritating the more I watch it. I almost turned it off during tonight's episode but will give it a few more weeks. Its summer. I just wish the writing wasn't so predictable and amateurish. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We are ze Interpoool, excuse ze very bad french.

    Our Story begins with a girl not any just any girl, but unfortunately she died.

    Am ze Interpoool, zis meh crim sceen, are you suer monsieur, zis un jurisdiction. No monsiuer it is because of ze seral killied. Okay fine will be leaving now. Off to hire the narrating morphine addict, who coincidentally reads palms, but cannot use his own palm. DUNNANANA... To the ICC HQ. Language is lost in translation when taking the piss out of dicks. Into the Lab and introducing the team, he is, no he is, but he is, and finally he is continuing each others lines. Any logical person has turned this show off at this point.

    However strangely enough to gain closure may have fast forwarded until the ending this premiere. Did the show get any better? No it went beyond stupidity. They gone and lost a member of their elite ICC team. Because they went in guns blazing without using headsets to communicate to each other, or using local police to sweep the park. Their reasoning was because their target was a diplomatic serial killer. Being equally as stupid, needing rituals to become a sadist. The team employs drug users, brawlers, voice impressionists, and generally every other questionable character in their elite unit.

    The ICC have been given the sheriff's badge to do as they like. Like the producers for an American network they have that team USA mentality. Any logical agency would use extradition orders when commanded by the Hague. Have related firearms permits and work alongside local resources while structuring their disposal. Not be given a sheriff 's badge literally deputised as a hit squad. Questionably stupid upon discovering their personal issues, lives, families. Given quackers to solve.

    This show had a starting premise of diplomatic serial killers. I can only imagine what they will be pulling out of the cracker box next week. Probably guessed it right, being completely quackers when lead by this team of parrots, with warning of do not feed the pigeons. Like clowns dress up and play cops and robbers when crossing lines and accents. How did the Pikey become an actor, he was employed by the circus or was it the carnival? Yes we understand how fun fiction is.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews