• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Crossing Lines Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: International Criminal Court Inspector Michel Dorn (Donald Sutherland) and Detective Maj. Louis Daniel (Marc Lavoine) ask ex-NYPD detective Carl Hickman (William Fichtner) to come out of retirement to help find a serial killer.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    An attractive, multi-accented cast and far-flung locales make it worth the trip. [1 Jul 2013, p.36]
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    It seems that international crime fighting has the same wearying turf wars as American police work and that border-crossing serial killers practice the same sorts of sadistic violence against women that domestic ones often do.... Still, Crossing Lines makes for satisfying viewing; with Mr. Fichtner’s and Mr. Lavoine’s performances it might continue to do so for the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    Though constructed from off-the-rack tropes and predictable dialogue, the show also keeps moving forward, causing its characters enough trouble that you feel compelled to stick around at least to see how they get out of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    The whole melting pot of European coppers swapping insults is a rather stale twist on an old formula. That’s not to say Lines is without its merits, starting with Fichtner.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 21, 2013
    50
    The cops, led by Marc Lavoine, are an interesting mix, and the scenery's great. If only the crime itself didn't seem so drearily familiar.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    Crossing Lines isn’t breezy enough for a summer diversion. Instead it’s ponderous, pretentious and too predictable.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 24, 2013
    42
    There's potentially a very interesting show about cops from different cultures, with different methods of policing, learning to work together. Based on the pilot, at least, Crossing Lines just treats all that as window dressing for the same old, same old.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    an amazing show, i can't stop watch! a great story with a lot of things that make you think about, that was a good season and i hope have morean amazing show, i can't stop watch! a great story with a lot of things that make you think about, that was a good season and i hope have more seasons with this quality Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Just found this show and love the concept! It's a thriller with a fresh take. I hope will see it go the distance!! It is interesting, withJust found this show and love the concept! It's a thriller with a fresh take. I hope will see it go the distance!! It is interesting, with mystery, action, and intrigue! Collapse
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    A very surprising tv show that has good action, drama and talented actors from many diffrent countries. I can´t wait for the next episode, theA very surprising tv show that has good action, drama and talented actors from many diffrent countries. I can´t wait for the next episode, the story is very well written and is very similar to reality. Having Donald Sutherland in the show makes it intresting and likeble.. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    I like the international flavor for a change. May have to watch with subtitles turned on occasionally. It would certainly be an interestingI like the international flavor for a change. May have to watch with subtitles turned on occasionally. It would certainly be an interesting twist if they killed off one of the team each week.

    Technical snafu morphine transdermal patches are slow acting, so the character's instant relief is bogus.
    Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    Great cast, great locales, terrible writing and overly dramatic musical score. I want to love this show, but find it more and more irritatingGreat cast, great locales, terrible writing and overly dramatic musical score. I want to love this show, but find it more and more irritating the more I watch it. I almost turned it off during tonight's episode but will give it a few more weeks. Its summer. I just wish the writing wasn't so predictable and amateurish. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    The producers and writer went to great pains to create a unique international setting, interesting cast, and generally 'different' outer skin,The producers and writer went to great pains to create a unique international setting, interesting cast, and generally 'different' outer skin, only to hide a frustratingly run-of-the-mill core: Cop with a debilitating injury AND a secret torment, another cop with a broken marriage, a wise sage teleported in at key moments for 'important' meetings on discreet park benches, same old interactions amongst the group. The point is, it's really hard work creating something fresh and original (Homeland, Justified, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, etc.). A mere change of scenery and European faces is not nearly enough. Hopefully, plots will get better as the show progresses but, it's been my experience that, if that potential is not evident in the pilot, it usually doesn't happen later. Too bad! Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We are ze Interpoool, excuse ze very bad french.

    Our Story begins with a girl not any just any girl, but unfortunately she died.

    Am ze Interpoool, zis meh crim sceen, are you suer monsieur, zis un jurisdiction. No monsiuer it is because of ze seral killied. Okay fine will be leaving now. Off to hire the narrating morphine addict, who coincidentally reads palms, but cannot use his own palm. DUNNANANA... To the ICC HQ. Language is lost in translation when taking the piss out of dicks. Into the Lab and introducing the team, he is, no he is, but he is, and finally he is continuing each others lines. Any logical person has turned this show off at this point.

    However strangely enough to gain closure may have fast forwarded until the ending this premiere. Did the show get any better? No it went beyond stupidity. They gone and lost a member of their elite ICC team. Because they went in guns blazing without using headsets to communicate to each other, or using local police to sweep the park. Their reasoning was because their target was a diplomatic serial killer. Being equally as stupid, needing rituals to become a sadist. The team employs drug users, brawlers, voice impressionists, and generally every other questionable character in their elite unit.

    The ICC have been given the sheriff's badge to do as they like. Like the producers for an American network they have that team USA mentality. Any logical agency would use extradition orders when commanded by the Hague. Have related firearms permits and work alongside local resources while structuring their disposal. Not be given a sheriff 's badge literally deputised as a hit squad. Questionably stupid upon discovering their personal issues, lives, families. Given quackers to solve.

    This show had a starting premise of diplomatic serial killers. I can only imagine what they will be pulling out of the cracker box next week. Probably guessed it right, being completely quackers when lead by this team of parrots, with warning of do not feed the pigeons. Like clowns dress up and play cops and robbers when crossing lines and accents. How did the Pikey become an actor, he was employed by the circus or was it the carnival? Yes we understand how fun fiction is.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews