• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    There is nothing about this show that is likeable. When the CW first dropped it, it should've stayed that way. The writing, acting and direction are atrocious. Whatever the CW was thinking in reviving it was a bad idea. I don't see this show lasting the season to be honest.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best tv shows I have seen in a while. Definitely gets better as the season progresses. The acting is great. The show within a show idea is intriguing, but the acting in the fake show is a little campy, but that's to be expected. All I can say is I'm hooked
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    Alright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The only thing good that comes out of this show is Matt Davis, whose character still isn't impressive. The premise isn't that strong so it requires a great deal of writing, acting and direction. The beginning of the episode seemed like a joke, to me, becauseAlright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The only thing good that comes out of this show is Matt Davis, whose character still isn't impressive. The premise isn't that strong so it requires a great deal of writing, acting and direction. The beginning of the episode seemed like a joke, to me, because of the way Robert Knepper was acting. I don't know how the CW manages to run okay (exaggeration) shows and doesn't do anything about it. This review is only based on what I watched in pilot and I'm rating it in accordance with that. Let's see what would become of it in future episodes. Not expecting anything at all. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    While the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutely horrendous. Within the first 15 minutes of the pilot the audience is left (or at least I was) scratching their heads at the bizarre concept. Upon hesitation I continued to watch the pilot, but it only got worse from there ranging from the character'sWhile the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutely horrendous. Within the first 15 minutes of the pilot the audience is left (or at least I was) scratching their heads at the bizarre concept. Upon hesitation I continued to watch the pilot, but it only got worse from there ranging from the character's interactions with each other to the ridiculous idea that people are killing themselves over a TV show. Overall, the pilot doesn't even leave any suspense instead it was baffling. Finally, on top of all of this absolutely dreadful plot the acting doesn't get much better either, but what else do you expect from the CW nowadays? Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    In my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what is going on. Heres what it is. A show named "Cult" (This is what we watch), has a show named "Cult" (Inside the show that seems to be exactly the same as what we see just different actors and scenes [Same Name, Same Channel, Same Story, Same Direction]),In my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what is going on. Heres what it is. A show named "Cult" (This is what we watch), has a show named "Cult" (Inside the show that seems to be exactly the same as what we see just different actors and scenes [Same Name, Same Channel, Same Story, Same Direction]), has got attention from fans who are in a Cult (The ones who reenact scenes from the show and put online), then a deeper group of fans who also go by Cult (The True Believers who think the show wants them to kill for them). Sounds original, but switching from cult-to-cult-to-cult-to-cult is getting to diffiCULT. Personally I dont see the show lasting more then one season, if it does then season two will be the last. But I can definintly say whenever I have time I will watch it. So my advice is watch the first 5 episodes. Then decide on taking the chance and seeing what happens from then on. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. After the first two episodes the show really takes off, there is a bit of world building that has to be done in order for a viewer to understand what type of danger the characters could possibly be in. The main problem is that unwillingness of otherThis show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. After the first two episodes the show really takes off, there is a bit of world building that has to be done in order for a viewer to understand what type of danger the characters could possibly be in. The main problem is that unwillingness of other viewers to sit down and watch something that they will have to think through. If you are willing and able to sit down for an hour and use your brain you should enjoy this amazing show. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Quite original and unpredictable. However, it lacks the suspense, is constantly evolving and with some twists. is a mysterious TV series. I was quite happy but I do not think there will be a second season.
  8. Dec 28, 2013
    1
    Despite all the promises their marketing campaign made about Cult being a revolutionary T.V. show, what it is really a terrible show that would disappoint even without the hype. With idiotic and repetitive plot lines and acting that barely registers emotionally at all (excluding the main actor, who actually is really good considering the trash he has to make due with), manages to be theDespite all the promises their marketing campaign made about Cult being a revolutionary T.V. show, what it is really a terrible show that would disappoint even without the hype. With idiotic and repetitive plot lines and acting that barely registers emotionally at all (excluding the main actor, who actually is really good considering the trash he has to make due with), manages to be the worst television of the year. To top it off, the show does not even try to be genuinely exciting, and has possibly the worst catchphrase ever. All this is after seeming to have a revolutionary premise and massive potential for greatness. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 20, 2013
    20
    It's definitely too laughably convoluted to go into.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 19, 2013
    25
    An ill-conceived, poorly scripted, woodenly acted mess, Cult is watchably crazy, but that's the highest praise I can give it.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 19, 2013
    40
    Cult is too messy and unnecessarily complex to be the show it could and should be.