Cult : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 19, 2013
Cult Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After Jeff Sefton's (Matt Davis) brother mysteriously disappears, the clues point toward his current obsession, the TV show Cult. Jeff teams up with show's researcher Skye Yarrow (Jessica Lucas) to investigate the fans, the mysterious creator of Cult, and the show itself.

    Cult, the
    After Jeff Sefton's (Matt Davis) brother mysteriously disappears, the clues point toward his current obsession, the TV show Cult. Jeff teams up with show's researcher Skye Yarrow (Jessica Lucas) to investigate the fans, the mysterious creator of Cult, and the show itself.

    Cult, the show-within-the-show is about a cult led by Billy Grimm, played by actor Roger Reeves (Robert Knepper) and Kelly Collins, a former cult member-turned LAPD detective, played by actress Marti Gerritsen (Alona Tal), who returns to the cult to find her kidnapped sister.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    This series-in-a-series is an innovative and creative way to make TV, which I love. What would I have loved even more? A scripted series about a scary, charismatic cult leader.
  2. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    It takes awhile to get into the investigation launched by Jeff and Skye. At the same time, the fictional "Cult" TV show seems more compelling than the real Cult TV show we're watching.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 15, 2013
    67
    You get the feeling creator Rockne S. O'Bannon is building a puzzle box to nowhere here, but Knepper's malevolent glare sets a nice, unhinged tone, and there's certainly plenty of room to move forward.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 19, 2013
    50
    Beyond the gimmick, will there be enough to maintain our interest? If not, Cult could easily wind up as one TV show in search of an audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 19, 2013
    40
    The show has got a ponderous B-movie quality, everything so serious and simultaneously so silly.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 19, 2013
    37
    Knepper is wonderfully creepy. But that's the last of the good news. From Rockne S. O'Bannon, Cult is too complicated for its own good, and not satisfying enough to make it worth figuring out.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 19, 2013
    20
    Some scenes play like those stiff “re-creations” in crime reality shows and the camera’s constant quick-cuts promote headaches, not intrigue.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best tv shows I have seen in a while. Definitely gets better as the season progresses. The acting is great. The show within a showOne of the best tv shows I have seen in a while. Definitely gets better as the season progresses. The acting is great. The show within a show idea is intriguing, but the acting in the fake show is a little campy, but that's to be expected. All I can say is I'm hooked Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. AfterThis show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. After the first two episodes the show really takes off, there is a bit of world building that has to be done in order for a viewer to understand what type of danger the characters could possibly be in. The main problem is that unwillingness of other viewers to sit down and watch something that they will have to think through. If you are willing and able to sit down for an hour and use your brain you should enjoy this amazing show. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2017
    8
    In the age of streaming, DVRs, and On Demand, networks still aren't getting it! Even the best and most innovative TV show to come along inIn the age of streaming, DVRs, and On Demand, networks still aren't getting it! Even the best and most innovative TV show to come along in years isn't going to survive, if you debut it with minimal advertising in the middle of the summer! This is the reason why Cult didn't last and why it isn't currently the top rated show on the CW network.

    The wildly creative idea was the brainchild of Farscape's Rockne S. O'Bannon and took nearly a decade to come to television. Cult is a TV show within a TV show, that features a cult, within a cult, I will attempt to explain. The show Cult is centered around a fictitious show called Cult. That fictitious show is centered around an FBI agent (Alona Tal) who lived her whole life in a cult, only to escape and join the FBI, with the hopes of locking up her old family for the abuses she endured. In retaliation, the cult has abducted her sister, brother-in-law, and nephew, who she is attempted to rescue. Back to the "real" Cult, the fans of this fictitious show, claim to see hidden messages in the show, that lead them to commit crimes on behalf of the shows mysterious creator, a man no one has ever met. One such crime is to kidnap Nate Sefton (James Pizzinato), the younger brother of a reporter, Jeff (Matthew Davis). Jeff makes it his mission to investigate these followers of cult, to find his brother, and to figure out what their up to, but he needs help. Jeff recruits Skye Yarrow (Jessica Lucas), a researcher on the show, whose father, was also a reporter, who disappeared fifteen years ago, while attempting to investigate the same man who created this TV show. Every episode is a wild ride into an underworld that has existed for decades, that no one knew anything about, and as always is the case with shows like this, each episode is better than the one before it, as it builds up to an epic conclusion.

    This is the kind of show that had so many original ideas and so much material it could have gone on for years. Cult would have appealed to main stream audiences across every demographic and (pun intended) would have garnered a huge cult following, if it wasn't for the CW. I remember when this show premiered, the CW literally started to advertise for it a week before it aired, and then rarely after that. Cult was on Tuesday nights in the middle of the summer, when lets face it, most people are out enjoying the nice weather. Since the show had no previous exposure, there was no reason for anyone to watch on demand or even DVR it, so it was cancelled. It just doesn't make sense to me, why even spend the money and make the show if you're not going to give it a real chance? If this show debuted on the fall line-up after Supernatural, the ratings would have been enormous, the show would still be on!

    You have a terrific young cast playing duel roles, an experienced creator, with a team that's already had success with Seaquest, Farscape, and Alien Nation, there was no reason to bury this show, but a las, Cult met it's fate after just thirteen episodes, which are currently streaming on Netflix. For all my followers who claim they have nothing to watch, here is 13 hours of some of the most imaginative and creative writing you will ever see on TV, add Cult to your queue and start watching tonight!!!
    Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    In my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what isIn my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what is going on. Heres what it is. A show named "Cult" (This is what we watch), has a show named "Cult" (Inside the show that seems to be exactly the same as what we see just different actors and scenes [Same Name, Same Channel, Same Story, Same Direction]), has got attention from fans who are in a Cult (The ones who reenact scenes from the show and put online), then a deeper group of fans who also go by Cult (The True Believers who think the show wants them to kill for them). Sounds original, but switching from cult-to-cult-to-cult-to-cult is getting to diffiCULT. Personally I dont see the show lasting more then one season, if it does then season two will be the last. But I can definintly say whenever I have time I will watch it. So my advice is watch the first 5 episodes. Then decide on taking the chance and seeing what happens from then on. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    Alright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The onlyAlright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The only thing good that comes out of this show is Matt Davis, whose character still isn't impressive. The premise isn't that strong so it requires a great deal of writing, acting and direction. The beginning of the episode seemed like a joke, to me, because of the way Robert Knepper was acting. I don't know how the CW manages to run okay (exaggeration) shows and doesn't do anything about it. This review is only based on what I watched in pilot and I'm rating it in accordance with that. Let's see what would become of it in future episodes. Not expecting anything at all. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    While the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutelyWhile the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutely horrendous. Within the first 15 minutes of the pilot the audience is left (or at least I was) scratching their heads at the bizarre concept. Upon hesitation I continued to watch the pilot, but it only got worse from there ranging from the character's interactions with each other to the ridiculous idea that people are killing themselves over a TV show. Overall, the pilot doesn't even leave any suspense instead it was baffling. Finally, on top of all of this absolutely dreadful plot the acting doesn't get much better either, but what else do you expect from the CW nowadays? Collapse
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    There is nothing about this show that is likeable. When the CW first dropped it, it should've stayed that way. The writing, acting andThere is nothing about this show that is likeable. When the CW first dropped it, it should've stayed that way. The writing, acting and direction are atrocious. Whatever the CW was thinking in reviving it was a bad idea. I don't see this show lasting the season to be honest. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews