• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 15, 2000
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Larry David, Larry David, Jeff Garlin
  • Summary: Each half-hour episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm features verité-style footage of David (playing himself) at home, at work and around town, as he gets into predicaments with fictional and real-life personalities. With cast regulars Jeff Garlin (as manager Jeff Greene) and Cheryl Hines (as wifeEach half-hour episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm features verité-style footage of David (playing himself) at home, at work and around town, as he gets into predicaments with fictional and real-life personalities. With cast regulars Jeff Garlin (as manager Jeff Greene) and Cheryl Hines (as wife Cheryl), the series features appearances by guest celebrities playing themselves or character roles. Candid, unsparing and self-deprecating, Curb Your Enthusiasm brings the off-kilter comic vision of Larry David--co-creator and co-executive producer of one of the most lauded comedy series in TV history, Seinfeld--to HBO. The series blurs the lines between reality and fiction, as David (playing himself) and a cast of real and fictional characters are followed around Los Angeles by a ubiquitous camera that chronicles the private, often banal world of a (relatively) public man. Having evolved from the 1999 HBO special Larry David: Curb Your Enthusiasm, this series proves how seemingly trivial details of one's day-to-day life--a trip to the movies, a phone call, a visit from some trick-or-treaters--can precipitate a "Murphy's Law" chain of misfortune to hilarious effect. Like George Costanza in Seinfeld, the protagonist of Curb Your Enthusiasm has a knack for getting himself into uncomfortable situations that end up alienating him from peers and acquaintances. To keep the narrative fresh and spontaneous, Curb Your Enthusiasm is shot without a script; the cast is given scene outlines and often improvise lines as they go. The result is an unpredictable format that's unlike anything else on TV.
    In Germany the show is known as Lass es, Larry! ("Stop it, Larry!")In Portuguese the show is known as A Louca Vida de Larry ("Larry's Crazy Life")In Norway it is known is Ingen grunn til begeistringIn Sweden it is known as Simma lugnt, Larry!In Finland it is known as Jäitä hattuun
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Larry David
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 15, 2000
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 9, 2013
    100
    With this delightful and boldly distinctive new series, the co-creator of "Seinfeld" has managed to accomplish two seemingly impossible things at once: He has given HBO its best sitcom since "The Larry Sanders Show," and given all of television the best sitcom since "Seinfeld." [13 Oct 2000]
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    91
    Curb Your Enthusiasm has an unhurried, improvisational style that may cause restlessness. And David, playing himself as a cranky pessimist, is a determinedly unlovable star. But stay with the 10-week series and you'll be ensnared by his sly humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Julie Salamon
    Jul 9, 2013
    90
    On "Seinfeld," this cranky sensibility was filtered through likable actors. Here, nothing stands between the audience and Mr. David's acerbic vision and morose face. There is every reason to despise the man, or at least to feel irritated by his narrowness and self-pity. Instead, for those who aren't immediately put off, Mr. David's comic brilliance becomes even more apparent in this unvarnished form. [13 Oct 2000]
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    The first four episodes contain more solid laughs than most sitcoms manage in a year. [13 Oct 2000]
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    As with most HBO series, "Curb Your Enthusiasm" isn't for everyone. Prerequisites include not only a desire for more of the best of "Seinfeld" but a willingness to go along with David's Brooklyn-bred grumpiness. [13 Oct 2000]
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 9, 2013
    75
    Curb is an experiment in free-form TV, one that is just as happy to make you cringe in embarrassment as make you laugh, and even happier just to dawdle along provoking no response at all. [13 Oct 2000]
  7. Reviewed by: Barbara Vancheri
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    Reminiscent of "Seinfeld" but not as funny.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Such a great comedy series. Witty, absorbing, astonishing...
    I just can't understand why the hell Larry David didn't win emmy for his great
    Such a great comedy series. Witty, absorbing, astonishing...
    I just can't understand why the hell Larry David didn't win emmy for his great work in this series.

    ___________________________________________________
    Boy **** girl **** E-I-E-I-O!
    Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Watching Curb is like watching Seinfeld all over again. It's incredibly smart, entertaining and original. To be able to write three or fourWatching Curb is like watching Seinfeld all over again. It's incredibly smart, entertaining and original. To be able to write three or four possible issues Larry must face and overcome and bring them all together at the end of each episode makes the show one of the best I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    It's the best and funniest show ever made! I love it! :D I am watching the series for the third time and it keeps surprising me evreytime. ItIt's the best and funniest show ever made! I love it! :D I am watching the series for the third time and it keeps surprising me evreytime. It is a must watch. LD for president!
    "Big vagina?!?" "Biggest vagina known to man!"
    Collapse
  4. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Larry David certainly is a talented man. It's Too intriguing how much he will call ANYONE out on their b.s. Constantly finding myself inLarry David certainly is a talented man. It's Too intriguing how much he will call ANYONE out on their b.s. Constantly finding myself in scenarios where i wish L.D was around to socially assassinate someone. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    No show makes me laugh harder at its best. This show must infuriate writers of heavily-scripted sitcoms. The cast and creators make it seem soNo show makes me laugh harder at its best. This show must infuriate writers of heavily-scripted sitcoms. The cast and creators make it seem so easy and organic. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    The genius is all LD. He may be a victim of circumstance, but I can honestly say I have never laughed harder in any sitcom, especially oneThe genius is all LD. He may be a victim of circumstance, but I can honestly say I have never laughed harder in any sitcom, especially one that co-created Seinfeld. Every episode can have realism in it, with seemingly unrelated plot points that come together nicely. For every season and episode, there are things that I would have wanted to say to people in real life but couldn't because of social graces...well, finally, Larry David has given us a gift. That gift is the highly esteemed Curb Your Enthusiasm. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    A Great Example Of How Story Is The King!!! No effects, no pompous shoots, no great investments & big risks taken. Follow The Man, in hisA Great Example Of How Story Is The King!!! No effects, no pompous shoots, no great investments & big risks taken. Follow The Man, in his unfitting role as an upper middle class hero, trying to make sense of American suburbia. A journey into middle class social behavior Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.