• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 12, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Twenty five-year old artist/inventor Leonardo da Vinci (Tom Riley) works for Lorenzo Medici (Elliot Cowan); attracts the attention of Medici's mistress, Lucrezia Donati (Laura Haddock); battles Count Girolamo Riario (Blake Ritson); and seeks the mysterious Book of Leaves in this historicalTwenty five-year old artist/inventor Leonardo da Vinci (Tom Riley) works for Lorenzo Medici (Elliot Cowan); attracts the attention of Medici's mistress, Lucrezia Donati (Laura Haddock); battles Count Girolamo Riario (Blake Ritson); and seeks the mysterious Book of Leaves in this historical fantasy series. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 11, 2013
    88
    The mystical mumbo jumbo nearly derails the proceedings, but Goyer reins in the hookum in favor of frolicking adventure that's more fun than fact.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    We see promise in Tom Riley's Leonardo da Vinci. [12 Apr 2013, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 12, 2013
    70
    No one should base a term paper on it, but Da Vinci's Demons is at least an entertaining lie.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2013
    63
    To work, this overheated alchemy needs a magnetic Leo, but Tom Riley is miscast--too smart-alecky and brash. [13 May 2013, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    It feels at times like part “Da Vinci Code,” part “National Treasure,” part “Borgias” and part “Sherlock,” all with its own underlying tongue-in-cheek bemusement.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 12, 2013
    58
    Ultimately, I found Da Vinci's Demons ridiculous but fairly amiable.
  7. 30
    Series creator David S. Goyer seems to be going for exuberance; but Da Vinci’s Demons is never exuberant enough to overcome a crippling combination of leadenness, silliness, and mediocre storytelling.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    I was too excited when I first heard the news that they're releasing Da Vinci's Demons. Honestly though, when I first heard of it, I wasI was too excited when I first heard the news that they're releasing Da Vinci's Demons. Honestly though, when I first heard of it, I was scared that it wouldn't be as successful as I want it to be, considering the fact that it's more of a renaissance series. Based on recent reviews though I have to say that Da Vinci's Demons is getting better reviews. I really liked the show, it has a cunning storyline and the cast is easy to love. It might have some R rated scenes, but honestly, what recent show doesn't. Da Vinci's Demons is an easy to recommend show, and an easy show to give a 10. If you've read some of Dan Brown's work, and loved it, then Da Vinci's Demons could be your new favourite show. Expand
  2. May 26, 2013
    10
    10++++++++ out of 10+. A very good show and Tom Riley is dreamy in it. The actors give stellar performances. I don't need to say anything10++++++++ out of 10+. A very good show and Tom Riley is dreamy in it. The actors give stellar performances. I don't need to say anything else about this wonderful show. Collapse
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    It's not a factual account of Leonardo's life and has never claimed to be, but it's a lot of fun and very refreshing. It takes off ratherIt's not a factual account of Leonardo's life and has never claimed to be, but it's a lot of fun and very refreshing. It takes off rather weakly, so bear with the first two episodes. It picks up wonderfully as the plot thickens. Also, amazing performances! Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    7
    There is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the firstThere is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the first few episodes fail to justify that and a lot of build up and little pay off leaves too much for Season 2. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    7
    There is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the firstThere is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the first few episodes fail to justify that and a lot of build up and little pay off leaves too much for Season 2. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    While clearly lacking historical accuracy, Da Vincin's Demons is a fun, beautifully-set adventure, like an Italian Renaissance SherlockWhile clearly lacking historical accuracy, Da Vincin's Demons is a fun, beautifully-set adventure, like an Italian Renaissance Sherlock Holmes. I'm sure that humorously erroneous book reports from junior high students are sure to follow. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Come on, seriously? I've watched three episodes of this and i don't even know how and why. Maybe the show can be good if you want to laughCome on, seriously? I've watched three episodes of this and i don't even know how and why. Maybe the show can be good if you want to laugh at...at...just everything you see in the show. But if i want to laugh i'd just go with some comedies like louis c.k, parks and recreation, arrested development and so on. Usually i don't want to laugh watching something that is supposed to be a drama.

    Also, i find that the da vinci's actor it was just bad and without an inch of charisma.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews