• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 12, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Da Vinci's Demons Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty five-year old artist/inventor Leonardo da Vinci (Tom Riley) works for Lorenzo Medici (Elliot Cowan); attracts the attention of Medici's mistress, Lucrezia Donati (Laura Haddock); battles Count Girolamo Riario (Blake Ritson); and seeks the mysterious Book of Leaves in this historical fantasy series. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 11, 2013
    88
    The mystical mumbo jumbo nearly derails the proceedings, but Goyer reins in the hookum in favor of frolicking adventure that's more fun than fact.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    We see promise in Tom Riley's Leonardo da Vinci. [12 Apr 2013, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 12, 2013
    70
    No one should base a term paper on it, but Da Vinci's Demons is at least an entertaining lie.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2013
    63
    To work, this overheated alchemy needs a magnetic Leo, but Tom Riley is miscast--too smart-alecky and brash. [13 May 2013, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    It feels at times like part “Da Vinci Code,” part “National Treasure,” part “Borgias” and part “Sherlock,” all with its own underlying tongue-in-cheek bemusement.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 12, 2013
    58
    Ultimately, I found Da Vinci's Demons ridiculous but fairly amiable.
  7. 30
    Series creator David S. Goyer seems to be going for exuberance; but Da Vinci’s Demons is never exuberant enough to overcome a crippling combination of leadenness, silliness, and mediocre storytelling.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    10++++++++ out of 10+. A very good show and Tom Riley is dreamy in it. The actors give stellar performances. I don't need to say anything else about this wonderful show. Collapse
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Da Vinci's Deamons is exactly what i was expecting from David S. Goyer. It is one of the best seasons i have see. Cast is superb and they have shown the reality of that time's Pope. I like it very much. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    I was too excited when I first heard the news that they're releasing Da Vinci's Demons. Honestly though, when I first heard of it, I was scared that it wouldn't be as successful as I want it to be, considering the fact that it's more of a renaissance series. Based on recent reviews though I have to say that Da Vinci's Demons is getting better reviews. I really liked the show, it has a cunning storyline and the cast is easy to love. It might have some R rated scenes, but honestly, what recent show doesn't. Da Vinci's Demons is an easy to recommend show, and an easy show to give a 10. If you've read some of Dan Brown's work, and loved it, then Da Vinci's Demons could be your new favourite show. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    7
    There is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the first few episodes fail to justify that and a lot of build up and little pay off leaves too much for Season 2. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    It could go either way, too soon to tell. I want to like it, the subject matter certainly could turn this into an epic show... Hopefully the story line takes a more serious path, rather than trying to be too lighthearted and "fun", which there were (cringe worthy) snippets of in episode one. Another small gripe I have with this new Starz series is the gratuitous male nudity. As with Spartacus, once again, they really need to learn their viewing demographic... this isn't the Bachelor after all -"guys guy" TV show viewers do NOT want to see other "guys" junk every episode. If the sillyness and male nudity continues, you've lost another viewer. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    Ultimately I was disappointed with Demons considering it's creator. When the show was announced I wondered what 'demons' the title was referring to and it's these demons that for me detract from the narrative's stronger elements. The show is strongest when Da Vinci is caught up in the power struggle fought between the Medici's and the Pope through his sly nephew Count Riario.

    The 'demons' element weakens Da Vinci and has him fighting a repressed childhood memory while hunting for clues of his mother. He is contacted by the Son's of Mithras, who instruct him to access the Fountain of Memory to find the Vault of Heaven where he will find the Book of Leaves. Seriously, you couldn't make it up. The Book of Leaves will probably be followed by the Turd of Glory.

    In terms of historical accuracy the show is tongue in cheek and pretty good fun. For me Da Vinci is a bearded old man, but here is he reinvented as a cool, fast talking, talented sword fighter. I wondered if Goyer would stay true to dialogue of the time but this was answered in the first ten seconds of the opening episode when Hugh Bonneville, in a cameo as the Duke of Milan, responds 'Balls!' to be told he was late! Tom Riley is charismatic as Leonardo and is well supported by Elliot Cowan as Lorenzo de Medici and Blake Ritson as Count Riario.

    The production is glossy and features some decent CGI used to illustrate Da Vinci's brain at work as he plots and develops his inventions.

    The finale was disappointing finishing not just following a cliffhanger but midway through one which I found incredibly unsatisfying. At only eight episodes, the season was the perfect length, short and punchy and the show has been renewed for another round in 2014.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Come on, seriously? I've watched three episodes of this and i don't even know how and why. Maybe the show can be good if you want to laugh at...at...just everything you see in the show. But if i want to laugh i'd just go with some comedies like louis c.k, parks and recreation, arrested development and so on. Usually i don't want to laugh watching something that is supposed to be a drama.

    Also, i find that the da vinci's actor it was just bad and without an inch of charisma.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews