• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 12, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Da Vinci's Demons Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty five-year old artist/inventor Leonardo da Vinci (Tom Riley) works for Lorenzo Medici (Elliot Cowan); attracts the attention of Medici's mistress, Lucrezia Donati (Laura Haddock); battles Count Girolamo Riario (Blake Ritson); and seeks the mysterious Book of Leaves in this historical fantasy series. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 11, 2013
    88
    The mystical mumbo jumbo nearly derails the proceedings, but Goyer reins in the hookum in favor of frolicking adventure that's more fun than fact.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    We see promise in Tom Riley's Leonardo da Vinci. [12 Apr 2013, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 12, 2013
    70
    No one should base a term paper on it, but Da Vinci's Demons is at least an entertaining lie.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2013
    63
    To work, this overheated alchemy needs a magnetic Leo, but Tom Riley is miscast--too smart-alecky and brash. [13 May 2013, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    It feels at times like part “Da Vinci Code,” part “National Treasure,” part “Borgias” and part “Sherlock,” all with its own underlying tongue-in-cheek bemusement.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 12, 2013
    58
    Ultimately, I found Da Vinci's Demons ridiculous but fairly amiable.
  7. 30
    Series creator David S. Goyer seems to be going for exuberance; but Da Vinci’s Demons is never exuberant enough to overcome a crippling combination of leadenness, silliness, and mediocre storytelling.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    10++++++++ out of 10+. A very good show and Tom Riley is dreamy in it. The actors give stellar performances. I don't need to say anything else about this wonderful show. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Da Vinci's Deamons is exactly what i was expecting from David S. Goyer. It is one of the best seasons i have see. Cast is superb and they have shown the reality of that time's Pope. I like it very much. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    I was too excited when I first heard the news that they're releasing Da Vinci's Demons. Honestly though, when I first heard of it, I was scared that it wouldn't be as successful as I want it to be, considering the fact that it's more of a renaissance series. Based on recent reviews though I have to say that Da Vinci's Demons is getting better reviews. I really liked the show, it has a cunning storyline and the cast is easy to love. It might have some R rated scenes, but honestly, what recent show doesn't. Da Vinci's Demons is an easy to recommend show, and an easy show to give a 10. If you've read some of Dan Brown's work, and loved it, then Da Vinci's Demons could be your new favourite show. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    7
    There is a lot to like in Season 1 of Da Vinci's Demons. The acting is fine, the production values great and the fun, lots. However, the first few episodes fail to justify that and a lot of build up and little pay off leaves too much for Season 2. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2014
    6
    Even a "historical fantasy" has to have some internal logic, and Da Vinci's Demons is frequently dragged down by ludicrous writing. Apparently, it's easier to let random innocents hear your secret plans and then kill them for dramatic effect than it is to talk in private. Someone walks in on you doing a job you were paid to do? Hide, because it's dramatic. And while Da Vinci's real inventions are pretty wild, I'm pretty sure the automated flying metal birds in the pilot were not among them. Likewise, the other gratuitously salacious elements, including multiple pedophile priests, and nudity (which, unlike many shows, is fairly egalitarian) and violence aplenty, are simply too much.

    The series' high points derive from its engagement of the real Da Vinci's contradictory and unique character, a whimsical score by Bear McCreary, and the female lead. Despite being frequently nude, she seems to be having the time of her life playing dress-up in fancy costumes the rest of the time, and effectively conveys a sense of being both vile and appealing at the same time. The show is quite cynical about religion, and to anyone easily offended it may offend. Me, I count that as another high point.

    Shot in Britain with largely British actors (despite being said in Italy and elsewhere), the series lacks a sense of authenticity. The intrigue and splatter are sometimes interesting, but given that the guy who wrote The Dark Knight is in charge of it, the series is something of a disappointment. It'll never be great, but it may get better.
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    5
    I really want to enjoy this show, but I just can't *quite* buy into it. (Partly because none of em can pronounce the name Medici correctly). The casting is fine, although I have trouble picturing Tom Riley growing into the images of Leonardo da Vinci that have come down in his sketches: somehow, he just doesn't seem substantial enough. Sets, costuming and make-up are all lovely, but the stories just don't hang together. Overall, I'm disappointed. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Come on, seriously? I've watched three episodes of this and i don't even know how and why. Maybe the show can be good if you want to laugh at...at...just everything you see in the show. But if i want to laugh i'd just go with some comedies like louis c.k, parks and recreation, arrested development and so on. Usually i don't want to laugh watching something that is supposed to be a drama.

    Also, i find that the da vinci's actor it was just bad and without an inch of charisma.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews