• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Dads Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Seth Green, Martin Mull, Giovanni Ribisi
  • Summary: In this live-action comedy from producer Seth MacFarlane and his Ted co-writers (Alec Sulkin and Wellesley Wild), the lives of video game company co-founders Eli and Warner (Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi) are turned upside down when their fathers (Peter Riegert, Martin Mull) move in with them.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Alec Sulkin, Wellesley Wild
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 26 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 16, 2013
    58
    Yes, offensive, but the second episode loses that element, which suggests Fox got the message. Not surprisingly, it's the better of the two.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 17, 2013
    30
    Dads just isn't very funny. A cast this good--Martin Mull and Peter Riegert are loser fathers to business partners played by Giovanni Ribisi and Philly's Seth Green--deserves more than the raucous studio laughter that warmed-over bigotry generates. And, honestly, there are glimpses at times of a better show.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 16, 2013
    25
    If the two whiny sons and their equally unlikable fathers aren't enough to push you away, the boorish childishness of the show's obvious efforts to offend should do the trick.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    16
    Friends Warner (Giovanni Ribisi) and Eli (Seth Green) have clueless dads (Martin Mull and Peter Riegert) who might be racist, or maybe it's just the show. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.141]
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    0
    What’s galling is the utter absence of originality, spirit or even new jokes. ... The poor actors look like they’re serving mandatory sentences for the creators’ crimes of laziness.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    0
    A crass generation-gap sitcom with the wit if not the intelligence of an elementary-school flatulence contest.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Creatively speaking, Dads comes off as if it were a much-resented homework assignment for all involved.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    This show is amazingly funny and perhaps funny for a smaller audience. I think people who dislike the show have issues seeing a show where there are 2 successful male in their 30s. The show is funny and healthy for many males to see a different aspect to comedy around male figures. Much better then everybody loves raymond and kings of queens which both makes men look like complete idiots. So this show is better written and planned to make a better attempt to make a comedy around two succesfull male characters rathern then making stupid fart, drinking and idiot jokes about men. Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    This is a fun show that is not for kids or easily offended adults. The shows don't end with a major problem solved or a life lesson that you are supposed to learn from the story. It is just meant to give you some laughs at characters that remind you of people you know in your life. I find it funnier that "critics" are bombing this show with their reviews. Hank Stuever who writes for the Washington Post tanked this show in his review. If you find this show offensive or crude then don't read The Washington Post. I almost bought a bird just so I could put The Post at the bottom of the cage for the bird to crap on. Hopefully the bird would have good aim and give Ole Hank's reviews the reception they deserve. Looking at that guy you would think he would be a tv critic I would imagine he doesn't have much else going on other than TV. Glen Garcin from the Miami Herald blew it out of the water as well. But Glen is from Miami and this isn't the first thing he's blown. Maureen Ryan from the Huffington Post piled on this show also. The Huffington Post.... Yup. Terrific to hear from "Mo"... Her all time favorite show as Battlestar Galactica. That makes me want to punch kittens. I have never met anyone that watched an episode of Battlestar Galactica and we have this as a "critic"? Dads is a funny show that allows you to enjoy selfish adult humor for 30 minutes. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I think this show is great. I laugh out loud EVERY episode! Giovani Ribisi is so funny, and if you don't like Seth Green, there's just something wrong with you. Collapse
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    It has been 3 episodes so far and I have to say that despite some noticeable flaws I am enjoying "Dads". It does have some jokes that fall short or are racist and not funny, a completely awful intro/theme song, and an overall cheap sitcom feel, but so far the number of moments that provide genuine laughs have kept me coming back. Its issues do decrease the overall quality of the show but I still find myself laughing enough to recommend it to the right crowd. So if you're a fan of the fantastic cast and don't mind immature humor than I recommend this show. I know it gets me laughing.

    *Like I said earlier in the review the show has only aired 3 episodes so far, so as more episodes air if I feel like the show is getting better or worse I will update my review and score to reflect that. Until then consider this my definitive review.*
    Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Dads does have a few moments that are actually funny even if some of them are in more of a 'so bad its good' way but overall the misses outnumber the hits. It's not worth staying for the good bits since the ratings are so bad it will probably soon be gone. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I love Family Guy and American Dad and thought this had a good shot since Ted was so enjoyable. But, no. It wasn't funny, was poorly written, and even the very talented cast couldn't make it work. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    TOTALLLLY INAPPROPRIAT FOR THE TIME-SLOT----DEFINITELY NOT FUNNY,TERRIBLE LANGUAGE,DRUG USAGE PROMOTED AND ANNOYING CANNED LAUGHTER...WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH ILLEGAL DRUGS IN THIS COUNTRY ---WE DO NOT NEED A TV SHOW PROMOTING THIS AS COMICAL,ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR----SHAME ON EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS ATTTTTROCITY---WHERE ARE YOUR MORAL VALUES????? Expand

See all 30 User Reviews