• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Dads Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this live-action comedy from producer Seth MacFarlane and his Ted co-writers (Alec Sulkin and Wellesley Wild), the lives of video game company co-founders Eli and Warner (Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi) are turned upside down when their fathers (Peter Riegert, Martin Mull) move in with them.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 26 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 16, 2013
    58
    Yes, offensive, but the second episode loses that element, which suggests Fox got the message. Not surprisingly, it's the better of the two.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 17, 2013
    30
    Dads just isn't very funny. A cast this good--Martin Mull and Peter Riegert are loser fathers to business partners played by Giovanni Ribisi and Philly's Seth Green--deserves more than the raucous studio laughter that warmed-over bigotry generates. And, honestly, there are glimpses at times of a better show.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 16, 2013
    25
    If the two whiny sons and their equally unlikable fathers aren't enough to push you away, the boorish childishness of the show's obvious efforts to offend should do the trick.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    16
    Friends Warner (Giovanni Ribisi) and Eli (Seth Green) have clueless dads (Martin Mull and Peter Riegert) who might be racist, or maybe it's just the show. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.141]
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    0
    What’s galling is the utter absence of originality, spirit or even new jokes. ... The poor actors look like they’re serving mandatory sentences for the creators’ crimes of laziness.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    0
    A crass generation-gap sitcom with the wit if not the intelligence of an elementary-school flatulence contest.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Creatively speaking, Dads comes off as if it were a much-resented homework assignment for all involved.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I think this show is great. I laugh out loud EVERY episode! Giovani Ribisi is so funny, and if you don't like Seth Green, there's just something wrong with you. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    As a dad I love watching this with my kids. The lines are funny and the dads might be goofy but most of what they say is so true! We are hoping this show would be renewed for 2015! Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    I thought it was funny. There was very good chemistry between the actors. There may not be a lot of places the show can go but it was much funnier than the media is saying. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    I think the potential is there for a solid sitcom but the trailers really ruined the pilot episode for me. They spoiled quite a few funny moments and made the pilot a bit predictable. Still, I'd give be willing to give it a few more episodes because it doesn't seem that bad of a show. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    4
    yeah dads are a pain in ass i enjoyed the first episode . now its just old . comedy still terrible and its just old i rather watch Seth Greens Robot chicken .
    Grade F
    Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    Seth MacFarlane was doing great. Ted, Family Guy, American Dad, Cleveland Show. Then Dads came a long, and nearly destroys all that hard work. Thankfully, we'll all forgot about this disappointing show Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    TOTALLLLY INAPPROPRIAT FOR THE TIME-SLOT----DEFINITELY NOT FUNNY,TERRIBLE LANGUAGE,DRUG USAGE PROMOTED AND ANNOYING CANNED LAUGHTER...WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH ILLEGAL DRUGS IN THIS COUNTRY ---WE DO NOT NEED A TV SHOW PROMOTING THIS AS COMICAL,ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR----SHAME ON EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS ATTTTTROCITY---WHERE ARE YOUR MORAL VALUES????? Expand

See all 27 User Reviews