• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Dads Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Seth Green, Martin Mull, Giovanni Ribisi
  • Summary: In this live-action comedy from producer Seth MacFarlane and his Ted co-writers (Alec Sulkin and Wellesley Wild), the lives of video game company co-founders Eli and Warner (Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi) are turned upside down when their fathers (Peter Riegert, Martin Mull) move in with them.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Alec Sulkin, Wellesley Wild
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 26 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 16, 2013
    58
    Yes, offensive, but the second episode loses that element, which suggests Fox got the message. Not surprisingly, it's the better of the two.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 17, 2013
    30
    Dads just isn't very funny. A cast this good--Martin Mull and Peter Riegert are loser fathers to business partners played by Giovanni Ribisi and Philly's Seth Green--deserves more than the raucous studio laughter that warmed-over bigotry generates. And, honestly, there are glimpses at times of a better show.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 16, 2013
    25
    If the two whiny sons and their equally unlikable fathers aren't enough to push you away, the boorish childishness of the show's obvious efforts to offend should do the trick.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    16
    Friends Warner (Giovanni Ribisi) and Eli (Seth Green) have clueless dads (Martin Mull and Peter Riegert) who might be racist, or maybe it's just the show. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.141]
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    0
    What’s galling is the utter absence of originality, spirit or even new jokes. ... The poor actors look like they’re serving mandatory sentences for the creators’ crimes of laziness.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    0
    A crass generation-gap sitcom with the wit if not the intelligence of an elementary-school flatulence contest.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Creatively speaking, Dads comes off as if it were a much-resented homework assignment for all involved.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Love this show, it's crude and rough around the edges BUT what comedy's first season isn't? So many haters on here, it's sad really. Maybe it's hatred towards Ribisi being a scientologist? Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    I thought this was the funniest show on Television! It was a feel good show without too much smut. I pray it will be renewed. I told everyone I knew to watch and then it was gone. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I think this show is great. I laugh out loud EVERY episode! Giovani Ribisi is so funny, and if you don't like Seth Green, there's just something wrong with you. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    It has been 3 episodes so far and I have to say that despite some noticeable flaws I am enjoying "Dads". It does have some jokes that fall short or are racist and not funny, a completely awful intro/theme song, and an overall cheap sitcom feel, but so far the number of moments that provide genuine laughs have kept me coming back. Its issues do decrease the overall quality of the show but I still find myself laughing enough to recommend it to the right crowd. So if you're a fan of the fantastic cast and don't mind immature humor than I recommend this show. I know it gets me laughing.

    *Like I said earlier in the review the show has only aired 3 episodes so far, so as more episodes air if I feel like the show is getting better or worse I will update my review and score to reflect that. Until then consider this my definitive review.*
    Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Dads does have a few moments that are actually funny even if some of them are in more of a 'so bad its good' way but overall the misses outnumber the hits. It's not worth staying for the good bits since the ratings are so bad it will probably soon be gone. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I love Family Guy and American Dad and thought this had a good shot since Ted was so enjoyable. But, no. It wasn't funny, was poorly written, and even the very talented cast couldn't make it work. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    TOTALLLLY INAPPROPRIAT FOR THE TIME-SLOT----DEFINITELY NOT FUNNY,TERRIBLE LANGUAGE,DRUG USAGE PROMOTED AND ANNOYING CANNED LAUGHTER...WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH ILLEGAL DRUGS IN THIS COUNTRY ---WE DO NOT NEED A TV SHOW PROMOTING THIS AS COMICAL,ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR----SHAME ON EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS ATTTTTROCITY---WHERE ARE YOUR MORAL VALUES????? Expand

See all 29 User Reviews