• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Dads Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this live-action comedy from producer Seth MacFarlane and his Ted co-writers (Alec Sulkin and Wellesley Wild), the lives of video game company co-founders Eli and Warner (Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi) are turned upside down when their fathers (Peter Riegert, Martin Mull) move in with them.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 26 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 16, 2013
    58
    Yes, offensive, but the second episode loses that element, which suggests Fox got the message. Not surprisingly, it's the better of the two.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 17, 2013
    30
    Dads just isn't very funny. A cast this good--Martin Mull and Peter Riegert are loser fathers to business partners played by Giovanni Ribisi and Philly's Seth Green--deserves more than the raucous studio laughter that warmed-over bigotry generates. And, honestly, there are glimpses at times of a better show.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 16, 2013
    25
    If the two whiny sons and their equally unlikable fathers aren't enough to push you away, the boorish childishness of the show's obvious efforts to offend should do the trick.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    16
    Friends Warner (Giovanni Ribisi) and Eli (Seth Green) have clueless dads (Martin Mull and Peter Riegert) who might be racist, or maybe it's just the show. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.141]
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    0
    What’s galling is the utter absence of originality, spirit or even new jokes. ... The poor actors look like they’re serving mandatory sentences for the creators’ crimes of laziness.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    0
    A crass generation-gap sitcom with the wit if not the intelligence of an elementary-school flatulence contest.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Creatively speaking, Dads comes off as if it were a much-resented homework assignment for all involved.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Love this show, it's crude and rough around the edges BUT what comedy's first season isn't? So many haters on here, it's sad really. Maybe it's hatred towards Ribisi being a scientologist? Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    I thought this was the funniest show on Television! It was a feel good show without too much smut. I pray it will be renewed. I told everyone I knew to watch and then it was gone. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I think this show is great. I laugh out loud EVERY episode! Giovani Ribisi is so funny, and if you don't like Seth Green, there's just something wrong with you. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    This is perfectly watchable. I wondered why they pushed it to 1.50am in the UK on ITV2 so I came here. Turns out either there is a campaign against the show on here and in the press or I enjoy this show and am in the minority. It's pretty good, I mean what kind of rating does 2 and a half men have these days? This is basically that. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    "Dads" fue una comedia especial con un mal argumento, que te hace reir en algunos momentos.Lo malo de esta serie fue que nombro y critico temas delicados, tambien es predecible algunas veces.Lo bueno de esta serie fueron las actuaciones comicas de los protagonistas. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I love Family Guy and American Dad and thought this had a good shot since Ted was so enjoyable. But, no. It wasn't funny, was poorly written, and even the very talented cast couldn't make it work. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    TOTALLLLY INAPPROPRIAT FOR THE TIME-SLOT----DEFINITELY NOT FUNNY,TERRIBLE LANGUAGE,DRUG USAGE PROMOTED AND ANNOYING CANNED LAUGHTER...WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH ILLEGAL DRUGS IN THIS COUNTRY ---WE DO NOT NEED A TV SHOW PROMOTING THIS AS COMICAL,ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR----SHAME ON EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS ATTTTTROCITY---WHERE ARE YOUR MORAL VALUES????? Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews