• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 13, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Dallas (2012) Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Emmy-winning CBS series of the same name, the TNT series follows the lives of J.R. and Sue Ellen's son John Ross and Bobby and Pam's adopted son Christopher, who differ on whether to drill for oil or look for alternative energy sources.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Soap
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 7, 2012
    88
    It's both old and new, a comfy piece of nostalgia that doubles as a fresh guilty pleasure. [18 Jun 2012, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2012
    83
    TNT's brighter, shinier Dallas makes an impressively staged re-entrance Wednesday night.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    As the premiere episode nears its end, the plot begins thickening agreeably with so many secrets, dark revelations, shocks and betrayals it all begins to seem familiarly and comfortably absorbing.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    Henderson gives a lunky, forgettable performance, coming nowhere near anyone's idea of a stronger, meaner version of J.R. Thanks to the rest of its ensemble, however, the new Dallas gains some traction and kicks up a little dust.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 13, 2012
    63
    Dallas is full of implausibilities. So are a lot of soaps. But this one offers something the others don't: a nostalgic romp in a dysfunctional ranch that was a Friday night fixture on many a TV set.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 12, 2012
    58
    Hagman--and to a lesser extent fellow returning stars Patrick Duffy and Linda Gray--are so much more fun to watch than their four new, young co-stars that the new Dallas plays less like a passing of the torch than a suggestion that torches were better back in the '80s.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Dallas is terrible....The writing is brutal and obvious, the acting is comical, and none of it is bettered by the directing.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This is a great show with lots of twist and turns and you cannot guess what will happen. If you liked the old series you will only have one regret and that is JR is not there to trump all the other deals. John Ross Jr. is stepping up to the plate and we will see if he has what it takes to keep the show moving. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    I still don't get it why the new Dallas gets so many negative reviews and why some say that it's not plausible. Lemme clarify this for you: it's a tv show (soap), you phuckwits. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The second season of Dallas is really rocking. It is a breath of fresh air. dallas1954. Truly glad to see it and hope that it will be around for a while. Great revival of the who shot J.R. from a few years ago. I will miss Larry Hagman, but I see that the show will and can go on without him. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    So glad that Dallas is back. It has the makings of a great epic drama. Well written and beautifully filmed. The first season lacked good usage of Sue Ellen. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This first season of the remake was awesome. I loved the soapiness to it and JR's whole evilness thing going on.. Cant wait for season 2! love Rebecca's subplot in the finale being Cliff Barnes daughter. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    I like this though it took me until episode 7 to distinguish the two female roles, they both look so pretty yet so empty that I really couldn't remember which was Chris's and which was John Ross's girlfriends. It lacks the punch of the memorable female characters of the original. Similar comments could be made on the male leads but at least I could tell them apart! Having said that, by episode 7 I did start to really enjoy it. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    It is good to have JR back; the character we love to hate. I have been keeping up with the episodes of the 1st season, and they are quite good. I grew up watching the old Dallas; always loved the show, the characters are all great! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews