Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 13, 2011
    91
    The first two hours are marked by surprising twists and betrayals. TV's most cunning series is back in session.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 13, 2011
    90
    Trust me, Damages is worth it. And for those without access to DirecTV, worth the wait.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 11, 2011
    83
    Devious Patty is still drinking like a fish, while wan Ellen is still seeking her advice (still, Ellen? Really?), and I still will not be able to resist watching every episode I possibly can.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    Damages returns to spiteful, vindictive and wildly entertaining life Wednesday night after resuscitation by satellite-television provider DirecTV.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 12, 2011
    80
    Damages isn't on the level of 'The Sopranos,' but, like Ellen Parsons, it knows what it's about these days. And if you want to see some prime, grade-A Acting, well, you could do a lot worse.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 12, 2011
    80
    Patty returns to the unanswered question that Ellen asked her last season: "Is it worth it?" For viewers, yes, it is.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The poisoned relationship of attorneys Ellen Parsons and Patty Hewes has gone slack. But The supporting cast is superb. [8 Aug 2011, p.40]
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    While a bit deliberately paced, a good start, with (as always) an excellent guest-star roster.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    If you're one of the people who've so far managed the suspension of disbelief required to accept that Close's Patty Hewes could yet again find a way to pull protege Ellen Parsons (Rose Byrne) back into her orbit, Season 4 shouldn't disappoint.
  10. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    The show has become a little like legal 24 for me: lots of talent and strong performances, but it has increasingly seemed to strain to up its stakes in its one-case-a-season format.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 12, 2011
    70
    To its credit, Damages remains the kind of show that demands genuine attention; there's no reading the newspaper or scribbling crosswords while watching it. Moreover, Goodman, Close and Baker are the kind of fine actors that a certain class of viewer would happily watch read the phone book. It's just that given the pacing in these first two episodes, that analogy's not far off.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 12, 2011
    70
    As has always been the case, Damages remains a mystery-thriller whose characters and their psychological quirks are more intriguing than the plot.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I love this series. I did not catch on to it until season 3 so I watched 1 and 2 on line. Season 4 starts with a bang. So well casted. I don'tI love this series. I did not catch on to it until season 3 so I watched 1 and 2 on line. Season 4 starts with a bang. So well casted. I don't think I blink until it is over and then it's like "oh no!!!" Look forward to it every week. Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    Damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four isDamages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of c Full Review »
  3. Jul 23, 2011
    2
    The new season of damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before.The new season of damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of control lackey who takes matters into his own hands and delights in bossing around the boss. Sound familiar? It should - we saw this before when it was called season 1. The editing is even bad - certain shots are clumsily pasted together and clearly show the actors were not engaged in a live exchange during filming (wasn't he mid-laugh and wearing glasses a split second ago??). Not to mention dragging out has-beens like Goodman, who hasn't worked since being the dad on Roseanne. Among other things, this series is quickly becoming the place where washed up actors go to die. The series really has lost something this season. I had to stop watching during the second episode, it was so ill-conceived and poorly stitched together. I highly suggest these actors, a few of them talented, immediately seek work elsewhere and jump from this quickly sinking ship. Full Review »