Damages : Season 4

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 13, 2011
    91
    The first two hours are marked by surprising twists and betrayals. TV's most cunning series is back in session.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 13, 2011
    90
    Trust me, Damages is worth it. And for those without access to DirecTV, worth the wait.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 11, 2011
    83
    Devious Patty is still drinking like a fish, while wan Ellen is still seeking her advice (still, Ellen? Really?), and I still will not be able to resist watching every episode I possibly can.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    Damages returns to spiteful, vindictive and wildly entertaining life Wednesday night after resuscitation by satellite-television provider DirecTV.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 12, 2011
    80
    Damages isn't on the level of 'The Sopranos,' but, like Ellen Parsons, it knows what it's about these days. And if you want to see some prime, grade-A Acting, well, you could do a lot worse.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 12, 2011
    80
    Patty returns to the unanswered question that Ellen asked her last season: "Is it worth it?" For viewers, yes, it is.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The poisoned relationship of attorneys Ellen Parsons and Patty Hewes has gone slack. But The supporting cast is superb. [8 Aug 2011, p.40]
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    While a bit deliberately paced, a good start, with (as always) an excellent guest-star roster.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    If you're one of the people who've so far managed the suspension of disbelief required to accept that Close's Patty Hewes could yet again find a way to pull protege Ellen Parsons (Rose Byrne) back into her orbit, Season 4 shouldn't disappoint.
  10. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    The show has become a little like legal 24 for me: lots of talent and strong performances, but it has increasingly seemed to strain to up its stakes in its one-case-a-season format.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 12, 2011
    70
    To its credit, Damages remains the kind of show that demands genuine attention; there's no reading the newspaper or scribbling crosswords while watching it. Moreover, Goodman, Close and Baker are the kind of fine actors that a certain class of viewer would happily watch read the phone book. It's just that given the pacing in these first two episodes, that analogy's not far off.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 12, 2011
    70
    As has always been the case, Damages remains a mystery-thriller whose characters and their psychological quirks are more intriguing than the plot.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I love this series. I did not catch on to it until season 3 so I watched 1 and 2 on line. Season 4 starts with a bang. So well casted. I don'tI love this series. I did not catch on to it until season 3 so I watched 1 and 2 on line. Season 4 starts with a bang. So well casted. I don't think I blink until it is over and then it's like "oh no!!!" Look forward to it every week. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Worst season ever- after a brilliant 3rd season with a bevy of wonderful characters and actors. Now we have one basic plot line with the same boring and unbelievable bad guy with the power of God, manipulating whole government agencies. Looked like he never washed and probably smelled. Sure people are going to do whatever he says. NOT. Repetitive shots of the same war scene again and again and again. And luckless Chris Sanchez almost being killed again and again and again. And even though he was tortured, his teeth were still sparkly white !!! Oh dear. I did like John Goodman but in a tediously two dimensional role. "Ellen" looking like an Anne Hathaway clone. Patty looking the worse for wear. What's all that about her son Micheal returning to claim custody? That's pretty manipulative on the part of the writers. Wouldn't someone just ask him what he is now doing? How he is supporting himself? Where is he living etc etc? Oh no. We're supposed to wait until Season 5 to find out?? Puhleese. A real real disappointment. . Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    I enjoyed the first 3 seasons immensley. Unfortunately, Season 4 is a shocker. It is obviously produced by the B-team this time, and it was aI enjoyed the first 3 seasons immensley. Unfortunately, Season 4 is a shocker. It is obviously produced by the B-team this time, and it was a con-job of the network to initially lead me to believe this would be another great season. If you have never watched Damages and were turned off with this season ... all I can say is you are right ... but Seasons 1,2, and 3 will not disappoint you. Full Review »