User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    Damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of c
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    2
    The new season of damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of control lackey who takes matters into his own hands and delights in bossing around the boss. Sound familiar? It should - we saw this before when it was called season 1. The editing is even bad - certain shots are clumsily pasted together and clearly show the actors were not engaged in a live exchange during filming (wasn't he mid-laugh and wearing glasses a split second ago??). Not to mention dragging out has-beens like Goodman, who hasn't worked since being the dad on Roseanne. Among other things, this series is quickly becoming the place where washed up actors go to die. The series really has lost something this season. I had to stop watching during the second episode, it was so ill-conceived and poorly stitched together. I highly suggest these actors, a few of them talented, immediately seek work elsewhere and jump from this quickly sinking ship. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    I enjoyed the first 3 seasons immensley. Unfortunately, Season 4 is a shocker. It is obviously produced by the B-team this time, and it was a con-job of the network to initially lead me to believe this would be another great season. If you have never watched Damages and were turned off with this season ... all I can say is you are right ... but Seasons 1,2, and 3 will not disappoint you.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst season ever- after a brilliant 3rd season with a bevy of wonderful characters and actors. Now we have one basic plot line with the same boring and unbelievable bad guy with the power of God, manipulating whole government agencies. Looked like he never washed and probably smelled. Sure people are going to do whatever he says. NOT. Repetitive shots of the same war scene again and again and again. And luckless Chris Sanchez almost being killed again and again and again. And even though he was tortured, his teeth were still sparkly white !!! Oh dear. I did like John Goodman but in a tediously two dimensional role. "Ellen" looking like an Anne Hathaway clone. Patty looking the worse for wear. What's all that about her son Micheal returning to claim custody? That's pretty manipulative on the part of the writers. Wouldn't someone just ask him what he is now doing? How he is supporting himself? Where is he living etc etc? Oh no. We're supposed to wait until Season 5 to find out?? Puhleese. A real real disappointment. . Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    2
    John Goodman brilliantly played a believable religious and patriotic fanatic. Also, Glenn Close' callous and cunning performance was equally perfectly executed. However, I found Rose Byrne difficult to watch. Her pouty face hidden by her hair, her bedroom voice, and her weak script made her scenes slow moving, not credible, and annoying. I was hoping for a much more assertive and commanding presence from her. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The poisoned relationship of attorneys Ellen Parsons and Patty Hewes has gone slack. But The supporting cast is superb. [8 Aug 2011, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    If you're one of the people who've so far managed the suspension of disbelief required to accept that Close's Patty Hewes could yet again find a way to pull protege Ellen Parsons (Rose Byrne) back into her orbit, Season 4 shouldn't disappoint.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    Damages returns to spiteful, vindictive and wildly entertaining life Wednesday night after resuscitation by satellite-television provider DirecTV.