Damages Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Picked up by DirecTV's Audience Network, season four has Patty and Ellen working on a wrongful death case against Howard T. Erickson (John Goodman), whose company supplied security for the government.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 13, 2011
    91
    The first two hours are marked by surprising twists and betrayals. TV's most cunning series is back in session.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 13, 2011
    90
    Trust me, Damages is worth it. And for those without access to DirecTV, worth the wait.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 11, 2011
    83
    Devious Patty is still drinking like a fish, while wan Ellen is still seeking her advice (still, Ellen? Really?), and I still will not be able to resist watching every episode I possibly can.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    While a bit deliberately paced, a good start, with (as always) an excellent guest-star roster.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The poisoned relationship of attorneys Ellen Parsons and Patty Hewes has gone slack. But The supporting cast is superb. [8 Aug 2011, p.40]
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 12, 2011
    70
    As has always been the case, Damages remains a mystery-thriller whose characters and their psychological quirks are more intriguing than the plot.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    If you're one of the people who've so far managed the suspension of disbelief required to accept that Close's Patty Hewes could yet again find a way to pull protege Ellen Parsons (Rose Byrne) back into her orbit, Season 4 shouldn't disappoint.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    One o the best shows on TV, plain and simple. Just as good as the previous 3 seasons. Unfortunately I don't have the channel, but I hold myOne o the best shows on TV, plain and simple. Just as good as the previous 3 seasons. Unfortunately I don't have the channel, but I hold my friends' tvs hostage instead. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Brilliant tv show with excellent acting damages is back in action! Whats really cool is that Ellen is more of the main character and they areBrilliant tv show with excellent acting damages is back in action! Whats really cool is that Ellen is more of the main character and they are using last season stylization to show what happened to Michael (Patty's son). This season is amazing and Rose Byrne definitely deserves the Emmy and Golden Globe this year. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Damages is one of the most captivating shows out there in my opinion; the plot is complex yet polished & refined, the acting is brilliant...Damages is one of the most captivating shows out there in my opinion; the plot is complex yet polished & refined, the acting is brilliant... It saddens me to think few people get it. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    All the flash backs, repeated endlessly, look like lazy writers trying to fill in the hour for more commercials. And the flash forwards areAll the flash backs, repeated endlessly, look like lazy writers trying to fill in the hour for more commercials. And the flash forwards are very irritating. Not to mention the *endless* coincidences. Not to mention Glen Close overacting constantly. Not to mention the incredible negligence in simple security consciousness of the main characters (e.g. cellphones and other spying). Not to mention my favourite... Well, I will mention it: DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD it is to hit a car at a cross-street dead center? Jeeeeezus. What a load of crap this show is. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2011
    2
    The new season of damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before.The new season of damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of control lackey who takes matters into his own hands and delights in bossing around the boss. Sound familiar? It should - we saw this before when it was called season 1. The editing is even bad - certain shots are clumsily pasted together and clearly show the actors were not engaged in a live exchange during filming (wasn't he mid-laugh and wearing glasses a split second ago??). Not to mention dragging out has-beens like Goodman, who hasn't worked since being the dad on Roseanne. Among other things, this series is quickly becoming the place where washed up actors go to die. The series really has lost something this season. I had to stop watching during the second episode, it was so ill-conceived and poorly stitched together. I highly suggest these actors, a few of them talented, immediately seek work elsewhere and jump from this quickly sinking ship. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    I enjoyed the first 3 seasons immensley. Unfortunately, Season 4 is a shocker. It is obviously produced by the B-team this time, and it was aI enjoyed the first 3 seasons immensley. Unfortunately, Season 4 is a shocker. It is obviously produced by the B-team this time, and it was a con-job of the network to initially lead me to believe this would be another great season. If you have never watched Damages and were turned off with this season ... all I can say is you are right ... but Seasons 1,2, and 3 will not disappoint you. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    Damages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four isDamages is showing symptoms of having been taken over by a content provider who has never done content production before. Season four is marked by a lack of "edginess", less complexity in character development, and a recycling of certain storytelling mechanisms used in prior seasons : evil corporate executive is the target of Ellen's next big case, complete with out of c Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  3. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.