User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    2 episodes in and it's very intriguing as all the seasons have been. Great show. You never know what the truth is. extra charactersssssssssssssssss
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    This last season was a total dissapointment. It was a one trick pony played over and over again. Ellen has to beat Patty in court, and for this she's willing to turn her back on all scruples, all ethics, all relationships. To get there we have to see endless repetitions of past scenes ad nauseam, which drags out the boring proceedings even more. The wrting is poor, the holes in the plot are beyond belief, and clearly no legal mind vetted this. The characters are now too well known and the lack of redeeming elements makes watching them as interesting as watching one's drearier family members kvetch about the same old thing. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    The best season to date!!! The first season was of course 'the most expensive'. The first was filmed perfectly and included a large cast. This one is not as expensive and you can see that, and only three characters receive main star billing. But unlike all the other four seasons combined these one includes more music (something rare for Damages) and every episode is a stand-alone. The first four seasons were like 13-hour thriller cut at certain places. This is different. The case is the MOST intriguing ever and Patty vs Ellen is riveting! The best show ever. If the first season played in this manner the show would have seen a different fate. But still this is the end and the first episode feels sad, and you can see how everything is ending. Shocking, riveting, mesmerizing, sharply written, amazingly acted. Again it features award-wining, high profile actors in its supporting cast. The only thing that I mind is one of the actors. That's Naomi Walling's daughter. The actress is terrible. You can see how desperately she tries to act and how bad she is. This is a very silly thing to comment but when watching a show like Damages you don't expect such a thing. They are many young actresses that can act better then Alexandra Socha! Otherwise a magnificence of a show! Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    1
    Since Season one of Damages, this was a "must see" show for me. And I looked at this season with great anticipation. But after watching for five weeks, I stopped watching. Glenn Close is phoning in her performance. The guests are average at best. But I'd say the main culprit is the lethargic, boring writing. Nothing has happened. None of the usual unexpected twists and turns. The dialog is mundane. The highly anticipated conflict between Patty and Ellen is tepid. So long to a once great show. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Damages is back! The fantastic opener has a feel of season 1 and it has brought its edginess and thrill back. Cast is amazing as usual , the writing has never been sharper and Patty and Ellen are put up against each other in a new case Whats not to love? This season will go out with a bang, you must watch it since it will be the last.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    My wife made it a routine to watch one episode per night and now that we have watched the all five seasons I can say emphatically that this has to be one of the best acted shows out there. I am not a big fan of flashbacks but this show directors and writers have made flashback an art. Koodos to both lead women for carrying this show to the heights.
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Three episodes into the fifth season, and I can say it's a real showstopper, and exactly what I expected from Damages. The 'Patty vs. Ellen' scenario thus far appears to have been well-thought out by the writers, who continue to display a terrific ability to juggle intense drama, well-developed characters, humor, and the usual fractured narrative. The acting is, of course, second-to-none, with every single actor (especially guest actors Jenna Elfman and Ryan Phillippe) giving 1000% to their roles. I am definitely looking forward to seeing how this series ends. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    An initially promising series with strong,complex female characters that devolved into insufferably American provincial crap. Ellen can't seem to find a decent way to practice law? She has to dump her career altogether so she can wear headbands and ballet flats and find true "fulfillment" in just being a plain old mom? How can she afford to shop in a high-end Manhattan boutique now? On her husband's group counselor salary? They should just call it The Devil Wears Damages because it's about as fresh as a stale romantic comedy. Bad girl for having ambition and aspirations and financial independence! Bad, bad girl!
    Careers are evil! Mommies are pure!
    What a load of uninspired good-old-boy garbage. The middle-aged male showrunners, as usual, are still grappling with long-standing mommy issues. Get some therapy and get over it.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jul 17, 2012
    75
    While the show's certainly grown more tightly plotted in the last several seasons, especially after cutting the number of episodes down to 10 and reducing (often via murder) the number of secondary characters, Damages is still suffering from some seemingly needless bloat.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Damages proves once again why it is one of the smartest thrillers on TV.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 11, 2012
    83
    Her Patty knows how to spread the hurt. Get in on Damages' final round.