Damages Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Ted Danson, Tate Donovan, Zeljko Ivanek
  • Summary: Newly hired Ellen Parsons (Rose Byrne) enters the cutthroat world of New York attorney Patty Hewes (Glenn Close).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. The law-firm arena is one of TV's oldest and most familiar genres, but Damages enlivens it by defying expectations.
  2. It demands commitment and a willingness to pay attention to the smallest bits of information, but it's also riveting. Once you decide to go take this case, you won't want to turn back.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    80
    Richness of detail permeates this modern tube-noir. The more damage done, the more juicy fun for us to savor.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Who's a villain and who's a hero here? Can you tell the pawns from the players? All excellent questions as we become absorbed in FX's latest thrill ride.
  5. 80
    A legal thriller with the depth and structure of an engrossing novel.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    The producers have assembled a solid cast and deftly employ flashbacks to ratchet up suspense.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    By far the dumber and hammier of the two shows ["Saving Grace" is the other].

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 65
  2. Negative: 7 out of 65
  1. BetsyK.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This had me from beginning to end. Glenn Close and all the others put on the best TV suspense I have seen for a long time. Please FX, go This had me from beginning to end. Glenn Close and all the others put on the best TV suspense I have seen for a long time. Please FX, go another season. The word is just getting out. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Given the cast, i expected acting at least. This series is so thin, and depends on so many tricks, it's maddening. Maybe just theGiven the cast, i expected acting at least. This series is so thin, and depends on so many tricks, it's maddening. Maybe just the frustration has kept me watching. Characters seesaw from naive to hard as nails and so far, the actors have a hard time knitting those extremes into believable characters. I imagine them saying "how am I going to get into this" and then giving up and just reading the lines. The plot twists, bizarre as they are, get predictable because they repeat initial plot patterns. Disappointing. Expand
  3. CharlieB
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    This is an instant hit! Glenn Close is superb!
  4. RisaD.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Excellent show. They left an opening for continuation (will Ellen catch Patti, did Frobisher really sustain a fatal wound, etc) Hmmm, I wonder.
  5. CarolM.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    I enjoy this show and can't wait until the following week for the next episode. It is a little frustrating with the flashbacks but it is I enjoy this show and can't wait until the following week for the next episode. It is a little frustrating with the flashbacks but it is so compelling...Glenn Close looks like she is thoroughly enjoying playing such a high power meanie...and what a great job she does..Ted Danson isn't quite as compelling but he is a complex figure..probably more truth about the Corporate World than we think! Yikes! Expand
  6. VeraB
    Jul 25, 2007
    8
    Excellent Show. I totally enjoyed it and rewatched it immediately following the pilot show.
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can't really judge a show till it's over. This, along with the Sopranos are the finest examples of shows that would have rated very high were it not for the awful finales. But where the writers for the sopranos simply failed to do their job, these writers failed to do it well. Nothing bothers me more than plot holes and unfortunately the finale was riddled with them. The most outrageous of them being Patrick Scully, a man willing to testify in court for immunity in a weak case for attemted murder, doesn't hesitate to put himself in an open and shut case of second degree murder. Keeping in mind the man has never killed more than a dog before, i find it nearly impossible to believe. Also, Ellen not only doesn't turn in the woman who tried to have her killed but she gives up a promising career. Not one part of this finale made a bit of sense. It's like the writers just started smoking crack. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  3. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.