• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 13, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Horrible people are what makes reality programming memorable and that's what sets Dance Moms apart. The little girls mother's are horrible. Little star Maddie is rotten, but the very worst of all is Abby Lee Miller, the star of the show and the major domo of the allegedly world-famous Abby Lee Miller Dance Studio, a small cinder block building in a suburb of Pittsburgh.

    Abby is
    hysterical in every sense of the word. She is a dead-ringer for Divine as Edith Turnblad in the original Hairspray movie. Abby is so over the top that one wonders if this is a Christopher Guest - "Wating for Guffman" type satire rather than supposed reality. Episodes are loaded with "Waiting for Guffman" type moments as we meet an variety of third-rate show business detritus presented as "one of the biggest talent scouts on Broadway", etc..

    The little girl dancers are generally innocent victims of their attention starved mothers - who should know better - and the tyrannical Abby. The one exception is little angelic star Maddie who is easy to detest.

    The show has turned into a suprise hit and has been renewed for a second season. I'm wondering is someone from Alleghany County Child Protective Services should intervene.services is
    Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    I Love this show. If you can get over the strong, confident Abby, this is the show for you. I little bit of everything. Trust Me you will enjoy yourself.
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    All the dance moms need to remove all their talented kids from Abby because she's a nightmare instructor who doesnt deserve those kids. All the moms need to start their own dance company for their kids..
  4. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    I love this show!!!!! Yes Abby is critical but these are very spoiled little girls with even more spoiled Mothers and when these kids get out in the real world they will thank Abby for all the strict discipline!!!
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I love this show. Every episode is packed full of dance mom drama which can be stressful at times but its all worth it in the end when you get to watch the girls dance. They truly are incredible and the show showcases their talent while also keeping viewers involved in drama created by their mothers.
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Despite its clearly bogus chain of events, Dance Moms remains a thoroughly and surprisingly enslaving look into the life of a scary dance teacher, the impressionable dance kids, and their pushy mothers. If it wasn't for the delightful antics of the mothers, this would remain a mediocre documentary with some fat woman screaming at blonde girls.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 15, 2011
    0
    The new worst show on television debuted Wednesday night on Lifetime--Dance Moms, an ugly docu-circus featuring a megaton bully of a Pittsburgh dance instructor, the little princesses she costumes as lunatic street whores, and a quorum of strenuously pathetic stage mothers, one of whom warbles that she would slit her wrists if her daughter even thought of trying out for softball.
  2. 67
    I love a show about crazy stage moms, and at moments this one doesn't disappoint.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Once you get past the reality-TV grabbers, you realize that while there is some of that, more importantly there's a lot of Miller. It is great to watch her work.