Dance Moms : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 13, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Dance Moms Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reality show takes a look at the Abby Lee Dance Company where girls between the ages of 6 and 13 learn competitive dance.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Game Show, Arts
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Once you get past the reality-TV grabbers, you realize that while there is some of that, more importantly there's a lot of Miller. It is great to watch her work.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Inexorably transfixing, whether you're taking names or taking notes.
  3. 67
    I love a show about crazy stage moms, and at moments this one doesn't disappoint.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 15, 2011
    0
    The new worst show on television debuted Wednesday night on Lifetime--Dance Moms, an ugly docu-circus featuring a megaton bully of a Pittsburgh dance instructor, the little princesses she costumes as lunatic street whores, and a quorum of strenuously pathetic stage mothers, one of whom warbles that she would slit her wrists if her daughter even thought of trying out for softball.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Horrible people are what makes reality programming memorable and that's what sets Dance Moms apart. The little girls mother's are horrible.Horrible people are what makes reality programming memorable and that's what sets Dance Moms apart. The little girls mother's are horrible. Little star Maddie is rotten, but the very worst of all is Abby Lee Miller, the star of the show and the major domo of the allegedly world-famous Abby Lee Miller Dance Studio, a small cinder block building in a suburb of Pittsburgh.

    Abby is hysterical in every sense of the word. She is a dead-ringer for Divine as Edith Turnblad in the original Hairspray movie. Abby is so over the top that one wonders if this is a Christopher Guest - "Wating for Guffman" type satire rather than supposed reality. Episodes are loaded with "Waiting for Guffman" type moments as we meet an variety of third-rate show business detritus presented as "one of the biggest talent scouts on Broadway", etc..

    The little girl dancers are generally innocent victims of their attention starved mothers - who should know better - and the tyrannical Abby. The one exception is little angelic star Maddie who is easy to detest.

    The show has turned into a suprise hit and has been renewed for a second season. I'm wondering is someone from Alleghany County Child Protective Services should intervene.services is
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    I love this show!!!!! Yes Abby is critical but these are very spoiled little girls with even more spoiled Mothers and when these kids get outI love this show!!!!! Yes Abby is critical but these are very spoiled little girls with even more spoiled Mothers and when these kids get out in the real world they will thank Abby for all the strict discipline!!! Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    I Love this show. If you can get over the strong, confident Abby, this is the show for you. I little bit of everything. Trust Me you willI Love this show. If you can get over the strong, confident Abby, this is the show for you. I little bit of everything. Trust Me you will enjoy yourself. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I love this show. Every episode is packed full of dance mom drama which can be stressful at times but its all worth it in the end when you getI love this show. Every episode is packed full of dance mom drama which can be stressful at times but its all worth it in the end when you get to watch the girls dance. They truly are incredible and the show showcases their talent while also keeping viewers involved in drama created by their mothers. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Despite its clearly bogus chain of events, Dance Moms remains a thoroughly and surprisingly enslaving look into the life of a scary danceDespite its clearly bogus chain of events, Dance Moms remains a thoroughly and surprisingly enslaving look into the life of a scary dance teacher, the impressionable dance kids, and their pushy mothers. If it wasn't for the delightful antics of the mothers, this would remain a mediocre documentary with some fat woman screaming at blonde girls. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2015
    6
    Dance Moms pode demostrar várias danças e inspirar pessoas para pratica-las, porém parece que tudo isso é apenas um fingimento, seria melhorDance Moms pode demostrar várias danças e inspirar pessoas para pratica-las, porém parece que tudo isso é apenas um fingimento, seria melhor focar mais na dança e não fazer parecer que tudo aquilo é falso, mas a qualidade de Dance Moms é a dança, apenas a dança de crianças que podem estar enfrentando desafios. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    1
    This show is depicting the people I always think about when I ask myself why is the world such a mess. If you want to feel depressed thenThis show is depicting the people I always think about when I ask myself why is the world such a mess. If you want to feel depressed then watch this show, and pity the children in it, then go and give your own father and mother a giant hug and bless them for NOT BEING LIKE THE FREAKS ON THIS SHOW! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews