Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    88
    It's all so much fun, in fact, that I propose Dancing viewing parties: Break out the wine and crackers and let ABC provide the delicious, calorie-free cheese.
  2. 80
    It's just what TV viewers want in summer -- fun. [23 Jun 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Ryan
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    Maybe it's the heat, but it's difficult to imagine anyone disliking Dancing With the Stars, so far the most entertaining new series of TV's off-season. [22 Jun 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 9, 2013
    70
    Dancing With the Stars is an improbable, goofy delight, more fun to watch than the bombastic American Idol for at least two reasons. The first: Unlike Idol wannabes, contestants on DWTS know they're amateurs. ... The second reason DWTS makes for better watching than American Idol is purely kinetic: Bad dancing is simply more fun to watch than bad singing is to listen to.
  5. Reviewed by: Karla Peterson
    Jul 9, 2013
    63
    You get the absorbing pleasure of watching celebrities try a demanding art form that could leave their toes blistered and their egos bruised. It also has the potential to make them look like dorks. [9 Jun 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: Heather Havrilesky
    Jul 9, 2013
    60
    Like the millions of other emotionally unstable imbeciles who tuned in, I found myself strangely drawn to the idiotic flair of the whole thing. Watching this show is like traveling back in time, to a simpler era, when most of our pop culture was considered foolish and sad.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    While mildly amusing, what the show lacks is charm. And humor. And tension. [2 Jun 2005]
  8. Reviewed by: John Rockwell
    Jul 9, 2013
    40
    Everything looks tacky: the set, the costumes, the lighting, the script (one host actually says, "The tension mounts") and above all the dancing, with its tiresome emphasis on tricks over human contact, or the dancing illusion thereof.
  9. The stars (Trista Sutter, John O'Hurley and Joey McIntyre, et al.) are strictly marginal. The host (Tom Bergeron) is excruciatingly lame. And the dancing is only sporadically scintillating. [26 Jun 2005]
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. AGK
    Jan 1, 2014
    3
    the first negative review for dancing with the stars. I just hate dancing so much! it's just weird and I watched the show and guess what? drum roll! (drum roll) I hated it! please put on something good TV but not this! Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Fun to watch, new challenges, and celebrities, bring this reality TV show to work well. "Dancing with the Stars" won't disappoint if you enjoy celebrities taking on new challenges. Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    This season was the first season of the so far 12 aired seasons. Overall, I would have to say, the winner was crowned unfairly, since the winner had a way worse dance score average than the second place finisher. Full Review »