Dancing With the Stars Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Joey McIntyre, John O'Hurley, Lisa Canning
  • Summary: Dancing with the Stars is a unique series that pairs up celebrities with professional ballroom dance partners in an intense competition -- live -- in front of a studio audience and the nation. Each season has a select number of celebrity/professional dance pairs. The pairs are then judged by a panel of expert judges (Bruno Tonioli, Carrie Ann Inaba, Len Goodman) as well as by the viewers at home. One team will be eliminated each week. The couples must maintain their focus, grace and composure while learning precise movements and maneuvering in extravagant costumes. Will they remain compatible during the course of the competition?Dancing with the Stars has broad appeal, offering viewers dazzling costumes, dancing, celebrity gossip, behind-the-scenes training and contemporary music performed by a live 15-piece band. The format has already been an international hit in several countries.Dancing with the Stars is the U.S. installment of the international smash hit series, Strictly Come Dancing. Expand
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show, Arts
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    88
    It's all so much fun, in fact, that I propose Dancing viewing parties: Break out the wine and crackers and let ABC provide the delicious, calorie-free cheese.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Ryan
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    Maybe it's the heat, but it's difficult to imagine anyone disliking Dancing With the Stars, so far the most entertaining new series of TV's off-season. [22 Jun 2005]
  3. 80
    It's just what TV viewers want in summer -- fun. [23 Jun 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Karla Peterson
    Jul 9, 2013
    63
    You get the absorbing pleasure of watching celebrities try a demanding art form that could leave their toes blistered and their egos bruised. It also has the potential to make them look like dorks. [9 Jun 2005]
  5. Reviewed by: Heather Havrilesky
    Jul 9, 2013
    60
    Like the millions of other emotionally unstable imbeciles who tuned in, I found myself strangely drawn to the idiotic flair of the whole thing. Watching this show is like traveling back in time, to a simpler era, when most of our pop culture was considered foolish and sad.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    While mildly amusing, what the show lacks is charm. And humor. And tension. [2 Jun 2005]
  7. The stars (Trista Sutter, John O'Hurley and Joey McIntyre, et al.) are strictly marginal. The host (Tom Bergeron) is excruciatingly lame. And the dancing is only sporadically scintillating. [26 Jun 2005]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Fun to watch, new challenges, and celebrities, bring this reality TV show to work well. "Dancing with the Stars" won't disappoint if you enjoy celebrities taking on new challenges. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Love This Show! Although It Seems Like Sometimes The "Stars" Are Not Really "Stars" I Think They Could Get Better Celb's On The Show... But Still A Good Show Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    This season was the first season of the so far 12 aired seasons. Overall, I would have to say, the winner was crowned unfairly, since the winner had a way worse dance score average than the second place finisher. Collapse
  4. AGK
    Jan 1, 2014
    3
    the first negative review for dancing with the stars. I just hate dancing so much! it's just weird and I watched the show and guess what? drum roll! (drum roll) I hated it! please put on something good TV but not this! Expand