Deadwood : Season 3

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 1, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 147

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Astonishingly good. With a cast of characters that boasted better villians than fellow TV titans The Wire and The Sopranos, Deadwood was one of a kind. The show died far too young, but it's three seasons shine brighter for it.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome Show
  3. MICkG
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    1-5 episodes I rate a 10. But 6-8 were downers. So, hopefully 9-12 will rise to greatness.
  4. RickF
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    The first season included some of the most realistic violence (Wild Bill's murder, Bullock's Near-Death Experience at the hands of the Sioux warrior)I've ever seen. This season, its last, seems to be approaching the same violent crescendo - only in an ever-so-tantalizing fashion. And I find myself cheering the derringer-toting whore onward through the hotel to her target....
  5. DaveL.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    I am very disapointed the its going away, shame,shame,shame,shame. Al and Seth are two of the best charactors ever, in TV or film. I would go to see these people again at the theater, no doubt. i guess I will just have to go to bed early on sunday nights now.
  6. keithr
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    great
  7. jiggaboy
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Best tv show ever!
  8. DANM
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    I cannot begin to say what i feel about this work of art,because so many superlatives have been whirled about,that anything I say would surely be redundant.Ian Mcshane and Earl Brown/the entire cast-blows my mind.It is the Shane of the 21st century and I am glad that I lived to see it.I am not old just lucky.
  9. BobT
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Damn.........I can't give it an 11
  10. RossV
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Truly the most worthy hour spent watching Television. Spend the entire week waiting for the drama to commence. To those that find the program garish with it's use of speech? "Sweep on, you fat and greasy citizens,
  11. TomM
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    "Deadwood" has raised the bar on what can be achieved on television or film. A true highpoint in entertainment. David Milch has secured himself within the pantheon of writers such as David Mamet. Bravo!
  12. MichaelS
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    Simply put, it's the best written, produced and acted material I've ever watched.
  13. KathyV
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Deadwood brought an entire new level to excellence on TV. My husband and I looked forward to each episode as if we were high school kids waiting on the prom. It is a tragedy that Deadwood has been cancelled, our Sundays will never be the same...sigh!
  14. SteveJ
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    What a great show! I saw each episode (more than once) and enjoyed the nuances more each time I watched them. The writing was superb, the acting the best on tv....just a great show. I will miss it sorely.
  15. StellaS
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I miss Ian McShane's magnificent acting. This show featured one of the greatest television ensemble casts I can ever remember. Shame on HBO for cancelling this show, as well as the Televsion Academy for not bestowing McShane an Emmy for Best Actor in a Dramatic Series.
  16. DaveG
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best programs aired in years; and leave it to HBO to cancel it....Tomorrow at this poiint, I will no longer be subscribing to this entertainment giant.
  17. TomG
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Shame on HBO? If no one watches the series, they have no choice but to cancel it. They're in the business for the money; usually the better the show the more money they get. Shame on those who don't appreciate this show for its greatness. Otherwise it would still be running.
  18. AndyD
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Easily the most elaborate set ever put together, Deadwood shoves the softcore to the side and shows the bloodiness behind America's West.
  19. DamienS
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    TV at its best! HBO execs canceling it..TV at its worst!
  20. TheGypsy
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Deadwood is the main reason I refuse to give up HBO
  21. StriverG
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    Best dramatic TV series - ever. As long as shows like Deadwood, the Sopranos, and Battlestar Galactica exist, owning a TV is justifiable.
  22. Lisa
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Get real. Anything other than a 10 would be a tragedy!!!!!!!!
  23. TanyaT
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Deadwood will forever remain the most brilliantly written, acted, directed and beautifully filmed televsion program I've ever had the great fortune to come across. It's unbelievable that HBO is cancelling this wonderful series before it's rightful full fourth season conclusion.
  24. caseyh
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Un-fuggin-believable... one of the greatest shows ever on television and it's been cancelled with only a minor uproar (by the die-hard fans that watch religiously) because people "can't stand the profanity". If there's EVER been a more ridiculous reason to not watch a show like this, I haven't heard it. I don't know about you all but having been a soldier, a Un-fuggin-believable... one of the greatest shows ever on television and it's been cancelled with only a minor uproar (by the die-hard fans that watch religiously) because people "can't stand the profanity". If there's EVER been a more ridiculous reason to not watch a show like this, I haven't heard it. I don't know about you all but having been a soldier, a trucker and a fricken teenager, I've heard just about every cuss word out there and heard them used with at least as much frequency as they're used in this series. Heck, sitting at a bar with some of my boys towards the end of the night, we've had some conversations that would make Swearengen blush. This is overstating it a bit but not watching "Deadwood" because of cussing is like not looking at the "Venus de Milo" because you can see her boobies. Anyways, great show and at least we get to end with 4 hours worth of specials! Expand
  25. ryanh
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    People should take a page from how this season is being managed. When it wraps up, it concludes with 2 TV movies. The best part? It leaves before its worn itself thin. It'll conclude on a high note and not tarnish its greatness byt stretching itself too thin over 2, 3, or 4 more seasons than it needed to (Sopranos anyone?). Ending this way will set a new trend on how to end a good People should take a page from how this season is being managed. When it wraps up, it concludes with 2 TV movies. The best part? It leaves before its worn itself thin. It'll conclude on a high note and not tarnish its greatness byt stretching itself too thin over 2, 3, or 4 more seasons than it needed to (Sopranos anyone?). Ending this way will set a new trend on how to end a good series properly and, more importantly, CONCLUSIVELY. Something too many good shows neglect too do by sticking around too long, then ending on a cliffhanger leaving a sour taste in the loyal viewer's mouth. Expand
  26. Andrew
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Jason and Reggie, I'm sorry you're so wrong and I'm sorry you saw fit to put Gray's Anatomy or 24 anywhere in the same class. I have to confess that I watch a lot of TV. Deadwood is the best thing on it. The writing, the dialogue not for the run of the mill sex and violence crowd. More for people who love a little intellectual stimulation with their action. Clearly Jason and Reggie, I'm sorry you're so wrong and I'm sorry you saw fit to put Gray's Anatomy or 24 anywhere in the same class. I have to confess that I watch a lot of TV. Deadwood is the best thing on it. The writing, the dialogue not for the run of the mill sex and violence crowd. More for people who love a little intellectual stimulation with their action. Clearly superior to the disappointing Sopranos 06 season. Expand
  27. GeorgeS
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    A near masterpiece. Bravo!
  28. Daniel
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Best damn show on TV! HBO needs to bring it back!
  29. CodyE.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Greatest series ever on Television. People at HBO were absolute idiots to have stopped it. Was the best ever.
  30. jiggaboy
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Best tv show ever!
  31. halb
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Have yet to view seasons 2 and 3, but if they're anywhere close to the level of season 1, then they deserve AT LEAST a "9". This is amazingly good television, one of the best series I've ever watched. Granted, I had to get past the language at first (every other exclamation seems to include the "f word" or c**k-s**ker)... and I had at least one female co-worker tell me she just Have yet to view seasons 2 and 3, but if they're anywhere close to the level of season 1, then they deserve AT LEAST a "9". This is amazingly good television, one of the best series I've ever watched. Granted, I had to get past the language at first (every other exclamation seems to include the "f word" or c**k-s**ker)... and I had at least one female co-worker tell me she just couldn't get past the depiction of women as whores and drunks and/or crippled lackeys)... But I think, on balance, most of the male characters are portrayed as MUCH worse than the women, who are simply trying to survive in a world dominated by violent machismo, evil and pestilence. This is not Gunsmoke, that's for sure. It's more like Cormac McCarthy's incredibly dark/violent novel, Blood Meridian, brought to roaring life. One of the central themes is the challenge of holding onto one's essential humanity in the midst of such a violent and amoral culture. Olyphant, McShane, Dourif and Parker (Alma Garrett) are particularly excellent in their roles; but really, ALL the cast -- including relatively minor supporting characters -- are top notch. Don't miss Robin Weigert as Calamity Jane! Kudos to Milch (sp?) and HBO for creating such an amazing cast of characters and such an incredible story line. The dialogue, acting, cinematography and sets are all top-calibre. Just an incredibly gripping and entertaining series. Expand
  32. JoannS
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    One of the best ever -- I'm so sorry it's the last season, esp. when I see the absolute crap that pervades our screens, such as According to Jim! Unbelievable.
  33. TonyK
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    I had given up hope on TV and movie thinking that the art of storytelling was lost until a friend taped Deadwood, and now that's all we talk about, like a religion. I would pay to go to the movies to see new movie length versions of Deadwood if HBO won't ante up and breathe new life into a fourth season.
  34. BarbaraB
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    So gritty I need to take a shower after every episode! Characters and scenery is fabulous. Hope it never turns into a network-type nighttime soap.
  35. JayT
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Outstanding!!
  36. ChristopherQ
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    Great show will some of the best performances on television today.
  37. JPickering
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Great Show!
  38. DAYNAS
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Best show ever!! all the actors are superb! HBO shpuld not cancel this show. SETH BULLOCK is the sexiest sherrif in town!!!!
  39. DrewP
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The casting, acting, and writing on this show are second to none. The way the story was told and the interweaving storylines were incredible, and the fact that HBO cancelled the best show on television just kills me. Not to mention the fact that they are now attempting to back out of the 2 hour movies to conclude the series, this is an absolute disgrace to one of the best shows in the The casting, acting, and writing on this show are second to none. The way the story was told and the interweaving storylines were incredible, and the fact that HBO cancelled the best show on television just kills me. Not to mention the fact that they are now attempting to back out of the 2 hour movies to conclude the series, this is an absolute disgrace to one of the best shows in the history of television. Expand
  40. DaveR.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    charles, I highly doubt you know much, if anything about your American history. Over 90% of the population of Deadwood was male and a good portion of that percentage were prospectors or miners. The women who where there (with the exception of the character Alma Garrett) were brought there in large part to be prostitutes or workhands in saloons. As a result of their disposition they ended charles, I highly doubt you know much, if anything about your American history. Over 90% of the population of Deadwood was male and a good portion of that percentage were prospectors or miners. The women who where there (with the exception of the character Alma Garrett) were brought there in large part to be prostitutes or workhands in saloons. As a result of their disposition they ended up turning in large part to alcohol and opium to numb the pain of everyday existence. Many committed suicide. ...you did know Deadwood was a real place, with a real history, didn't you? Expand
  41. DianeM
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best shows going.. Intelligent, thought provoking plots, subplots and storylines,wedded to enthralling characters (whether good or bad) keep this show fresh and forward moving..
  42. walterm
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best that i haved watched on hbo i do not want to see it end. but as we know ever thing must have an ending. I only hope that HBO will bring in another show with the same BAD as deadwood?.
  43. dcasey
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    too bad it got killed... reality show meets the old west. Do you really think they said c***s***** so much back then?
  44. DanB.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Whole dang show was. Dialogue was incredibly inventive and often hilarious, and there's a history lesson or ten in there, somewhere. Shame there won't be more seasons, nor two wrap-up films as originally promised.
  45. RickH
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    I don't think I've ever said this about anything, much less a television program. Deadwood is truly art. I feel bad for those who can't see its magnificence, but for the rest of us, what a joy! Heng dai!
  46. RejeanR.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Best series I've watched, ever. Great script, wonderful dialogues, fantastic actors, superb art direction.
  47. BrianL
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Not just one of the best television series of all time, but rather one of the best exercises in narrative form across all mediums.
  48. MikeA.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    A more complex McCabe and Mrs Miller as Shakespeare might have written it. Perhaps the best TV ever, and one of the few series I could watch over and over: the acting of even minor players is revelatory, the scripts are stunning, the photography is striking and rarely gimmicky, the whole town is fully realised and populated. I think the profundity of its characterisations is revealed in A more complex McCabe and Mrs Miller as Shakespeare might have written it. Perhaps the best TV ever, and one of the few series I could watch over and over: the acting of even minor players is revelatory, the scripts are stunning, the photography is striking and rarely gimmicky, the whole town is fully realised and populated. I think the profundity of its characterisations is revealed in the way that the hearts of even the most repulsive characters are somehow illuminated and invite compassion -- and even some self-discovery. Expand
  49. CarolP
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Deadwood is one of the best television dramas ever presented. The complexity of the characters and their language, which juxtaposes a nearly Shakespearean literacy against a raw obscene vernacular, reflect the historical conflicts of the 19th century West, where survival at all costs was pitched (and almost always won) against the desire for compassionate and civilized behavior associated Deadwood is one of the best television dramas ever presented. The complexity of the characters and their language, which juxtaposes a nearly Shakespearean literacy against a raw obscene vernacular, reflect the historical conflicts of the 19th century West, where survival at all costs was pitched (and almost always won) against the desire for compassionate and civilized behavior associated with the East. It's just great. Expand
  50. RichardR
    Jun 26, 2006
    8
    Yo, I love Deadwood, but I'm just starting to see season 2 on DVD, so I don't know poot about season 3. Now, if anyone wants to see Ian McShane in another great part, though, check out Sexy Beast from few years back, especially if you like the Cockney routine. "Fanks fo' finkin' o' me, mate." As far as influences on Deadwood, forgive me if someone else has brought Yo, I love Deadwood, but I'm just starting to see season 2 on DVD, so I don't know poot about season 3. Now, if anyone wants to see Ian McShane in another great part, though, check out Sexy Beast from few years back, especially if you like the Cockney routine. "Fanks fo' finkin' o' me, mate." As far as influences on Deadwood, forgive me if someone else has brought this up, but check out McCabe & Mrs Miller, one of Robert Altman's masterpieces, from '71. It's one of the great groundbreaking westerns of all time, and, well, let's face it, Deadwood stole from that movie blind. In fact, last year I was thinking about whether the Deadwood people knew about McCabe and VOILA! Keith Freakin' Carradine was in both of them! There you have it, boys and girls. Less cussing in McCabe, of course. Expand
  51. JamoneQ
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest serial drama ever produced for television. Possibly one of the greatest artistic works of this era.
  52. ChrisC
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Foulmouthed Shakespeare!
  53. NancyH
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    This show is why I subscribe to HBO--the cast is fabulous, multi-dimensional. Scripting is like Shakespeare of the West--at times, a little discerning as to what they are trying to say, but who cares. Excellent TV viewing and acting, and Ian McShane is the man you love to hate and hate to love.
  54. Duncan
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    Charles - You've got a point. In the real "wild west" women held moral positions of authority, had the best jobs and all went to college. It was truly the golden age for women and the memory has been grossly corrupted by those nasty male chauvinists at HBO. In the future I
  55. JohnD
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    great show ... one of the most, if not, realistic programs shown on tv ... definitely puts all mainstream programs to shame and shame shame shame on hbo for cancelling it ... perhaps too many had problems with reality as did charles
  56. GeorgiaC.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    this was the BEST show ever. BRING Deadwood back.
  57. ChrisG
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Shows like Deadwood, 24, Lost, House, and Studio 60, prove that THIS IS THE GOLDEN AGE of TV Drama... I will miss seeing Al Swearingen more than some of my cousins.. I will weep at the depsrture of E.B.'s spineless lapdog characterizations, and will vote for Bullock for President in 2008... I now need Gregory House more than ever, along with Earl, and Jack Bauer to keep me awake... Shows like Deadwood, 24, Lost, House, and Studio 60, prove that THIS IS THE GOLDEN AGE of TV Drama... I will miss seeing Al Swearingen more than some of my cousins.. I will weep at the depsrture of E.B.'s spineless lapdog characterizations, and will vote for Bullock for President in 2008... I now need Gregory House more than ever, along with Earl, and Jack Bauer to keep me awake... BECAUSE THESE SHOWS BLOW MOVIES AWAY! Collapse
  58. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    In this western series could be several reasons. I really liked all the season third Good story great actor performances. I can highly recommend to everyone!
  59. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    90/100, or an A-
    By far the weakest of Deadwood's three seasons, suffering, in light of its expansion in scope, from a girth of plot-lines, not all of interest. A favorite characters like Doc. Cochran will have little to do but suppress lung disease in the background of an episode, while much time will be awarded to a frequently redundant conflict between a black livery owner and a racist
    90/100, or an A-
    By far the weakest of Deadwood's three seasons, suffering, in light of its expansion in scope, from a girth of plot-lines, not all of interest. A favorite characters like Doc. Cochran will have little to do but suppress lung disease in the background of an episode, while much time will be awarded to a frequently redundant conflict between a black livery owner and a racist drunk.
    That being said, this is Deadwood, so there's plenty of magnificent verbiage and heartwarming character beats to spare. As the protagonists are united in their attempt to ward off an unstoppable threat to the town, the community that has sprouted from a ramschackle mining camp becomes all too apparent. And it's fitting that it ends on a quiet note, several threads still up in the air, to emphasize that this is the story of a community's beginning, not its end.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Like last season, the plots are thick and quick-flying. (Also like last season, the abstruseness can sometimes feel showy.)
  2. What makes Deadwood so fascinating is not the action we put up with; it’s the language we listen to.
  3. 90
    A gorgeously living thing.