• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 1, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Deadwood Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In an age of plunder and greed, the richest gold strike in American History draws a throng of restless misfits to an outlaw settlement where everything - and everyone - has a price. Welcome to Deadwood...a hell of a place to make your fortune. From Executive Producer David Milch ("NYPDIn an age of plunder and greed, the richest gold strike in American History draws a throng of restless misfits to an outlaw settlement where everything - and everyone - has a price. Welcome to Deadwood...a hell of a place to make your fortune. From Executive Producer David Milch ("NYPD Blue") comes DEADWOOD, a new drama series that focuses on the birth of an American frontier town and the ruthless power struggle that exists in its lawless boundaries. The story begins two weeks after Custer's defeat at Little Bighorn, combining fictional and real-life characters and events in an epic morality tale. Located in the Black Hills Indian Cession, the "town" of Deadwood is an illegal settlement, a violent and uncivilized outpost that attracts a colorful array of characters looking to get rich - from outlaws and entrepreneurs to ex-soldiers and racketeers, Chinese laborers, prostitutes, city dudes and gunfighters. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    HBO just might have found its next great dramatic addiction --- a vulgar, gritty, at times downright nasty take on the Old West brimming with all the dark genius that series creator and screenwriter extraordinaire David Milch has at his fingertips. [19 Mar 2004, p.2]
  2. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Sep 30, 2013
    100
    A fascinating and disturbing vision. [21 Mar 2004, p.F5]
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Oct 3, 2013
    90
    In the same way that "The Wire" showed there is an HBO way to update that staple of regular TV, the cop show, Deadwood demonstrates that the western can be revitalized, too, with a dose of extreme realism. [19 Mar 2004, p.C1]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 30, 2013
    80
    It's a true character piece with top-notch acting all around. [21 Mar 2004, p.TV-5]
  5. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    Get past the language, though, and Deadwood slowly but surely draws you in. Keith Carradine, as Hickok, brings quiet stoicism and strength to a new level; Timothy Olyphant as Seth Bullock, who has hung up his lawman's badge to hang a hardware-store shingle in town, isn't far behind. [18 Mar 2004, p.101]
  6. What Deadwood becomes within its first four episodes is a complex, neo-Shakespearean take on social and institutional corruption, racism, environmental barbarism, and the nature of good and evil. It not only provides a different view of how the West was won but also muses on how the taming of the frontier mirrors modern times. [21 Mar 2004, p.3E]
  7. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Sep 30, 2013
    40
    The bonanza of off-color dialogue makes Deadwood a hard sell: Who knew the Wild Wild West could be such a joyless place? [21 Mar 2004, p.4]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    HBO absolutely gets the biggest thumbs down ever for the cancellation of this one. Swearengen absolutely one of the greatest characters ofHBO absolutely gets the biggest thumbs down ever for the cancellation of this one. Swearengen absolutely one of the greatest characters of all time. So so sad it is no more :( Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The acting, the direction, the set design, the economical use of music and the plotting are all fantastic. What really makes this the bestThe acting, the direction, the set design, the economical use of music and the plotting are all fantastic. What really makes this the best television series in history, however, is the engaging literary style that Milch and the other writers bring to the dialogue. All I can say about the cancellation is "what conceivable godly use is our suffering? What conceivable godly use was the screaming of all those characters? Did you need to hear their death-agonies to know your omnipotence, HBO?" Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    A very small number of TV series are as compelling as a terrifically written book, and provoke a sense of loss when one completes watchingA very small number of TV series are as compelling as a terrifically written book, and provoke a sense of loss when one completes watching them. For me, this is not only once of those few, but arguably the best, contending favorably against (some) seasons of 24, Lost & Prison Break. Well before the end of the 3rd series, I liked or disliked and cared about the future about almost every character. The show has too many outstanding features for me to credit, but the dialogue does delight and beguile. Watch. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    Excellent acting, great aspect of the period of the gold rush, I recommend this series, only one small criticism, sometimes a bit slow atExcellent acting, great aspect of the period of the gold rush, I recommend this series, only one small criticism, sometimes a bit slow at times and some lack of action. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I could not believe that im the first reviewer of what i see as the most daring exiting and groundreaking TV series of the past 10 years. PutI could not believe that im the first reviewer of what i see as the most daring exiting and groundreaking TV series of the past 10 years. Put simply the script and characterisation is as good as it get's. All the actors excel and its no wonder with the tools at their disposal. I beg anyone who reads this to buy the 3 season box set and take a whole weekend and immerse yourself in a world of pure unadulterated genius. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    IIn this western series could be several reasons. I really liked all the season third Good story great actor performances. I can highlyIIn this western series could be several reasons. I really liked all the season third Good story great actor performances. I can highly recommend to everyone! Collapse
  7. May 28, 2011
    8
    Very good television show. Ian McShane as Al Swearengen is the most charismatic character I've ever seen on television. Well written, wellVery good television show. Ian McShane as Al Swearengen is the most charismatic character I've ever seen on television. Well written, well acted and believable as f**k. Sometimes it's a little slow and sometimes you want to throw up when Calamity Jane is speaking/on the screen, but this show has created it's own goddam dialect that, hell, even if it's completely ahistorical (which I have no f***ing idea either way), fits perfectly and makes it better than it ever would've been. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.