Death Note Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Kappei Yamaguchi, Mamoru Miyano, Shidou Nakamura
  • Summary: "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written
    down in it. However, matters get out of hand when the Japanese Police Force tries to solve the case of the mysterious upsurge in criminal deaths alongside master detective L.

    It's a battle of wits in this anime based on the popular manga by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata.

    Opening Themes:
    - "the WORLD" by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "What's up, People?!" by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-37)

    Ending Themes:
    - "Alumina" (アルミナ, Arumina) by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "Despair Billy" (絶望ビリー, Zetsubō Birī) by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-36)

    Airings Outside of Japan:
    US Airing: Cartoon Network (Adult Swim)
    - Sundays @ 12:00 AM (10/21/07-12/23/07; episodes 1-10)
    - Saturdays @ 11:30 PM (1/5/08-2/2/08; episodes 11-15)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (2/10/08-3/30/08; episodes 16-23)
    - Sundays @ 1:00 AM (4/6/08-4/27/08; episodes 24-27)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (5/4/08-7/6/08; episodes 28-end)

    Canada Airing: YTV (Bionix)
    - Fridays @ 10:00 PM (10/26/07-7/4/08; episodes 1-end)
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Animation, Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    One of the most complicated, yet exciting stories ever. Light is super cool, and works out every situation professionally. He manipulates other characters to reach his goal like a pro. Collapse
  2. DME
    Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Death Note is a smart psychological battle from beginning to end.
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Hi ,

    This anime a is masterpiece. I never see a better anime in intensity and suspense it s like a drug when you started this anime you
    can't stop at least until the first huge plot. After that it's different but this quality in an anime is unbelievable. Personnaly i watched while it was diffused in the Japan and i waited each episod with lot of impatience...

    Thanks for this anime i will never forget it
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I don't think there will be an anime better then Death Note. Death Note is awesome. It is like mind battle.
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    Death Note is, simply put, the best anime I've ever seen. The premise is fascinating, the plot is fantastic, and the characters are complex and well-developed. Watching the visionary villain protagonist Light Yagami and the mysterious and brilliant detective L's battle of wits is ten times more exhilarating than the standard actions scenes that pack entertainment today. The cat and mouse games they play are so well executed that the show becomes completely addictive very quickly. I recommend this over virtually any other anime, or western television show for that matter, with all my heart. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic series. Great animation. Brilliant and clever writing. Astounding and deep characters. I adore this series.

    I know
    it's been said countless times before, but the show is only hampered by the last third after a certain event (if you've seen the show, you know what I'm talking about.) The last third isn't bad, it's just a bit underwhelming when compared the beginning of the show.

    Overall:
    Even with a dilute last act, it's still a fantastic show.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    Don't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is a very poor copy of L and 'mello' is the worst character i have ever seen tries to act like a bad ass eating chocolate, turns from and edgy dark well written roller coaster of a plot to 'what the hell have they just done!' i will soldier on to see what happens..............well this just turned into a childrens show. thanks for wasting my time death note Expand

See all 38 User Reviews