Season #: 1, 2
Death Note Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written
    "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written down in it. However, matters get out of hand when the Japanese Police Force tries to solve the case of the mysterious upsurge in criminal deaths alongside master detective L.

    It's a battle of wits in this anime based on the popular manga by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata.

    Opening Themes:
    - "the WORLD" by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "What's up, People?!" by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-37)

    Ending Themes:
    - "Alumina" (アルミナ, Arumina) by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "Despair Billy" (絶望ビリー, Zetsubō Birī) by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-36)

    Airings Outside of Japan:
    US Airing: Cartoon Network (Adult Swim)
    - Sundays @ 12:00 AM (10/21/07-12/23/07; episodes 1-10)
    - Saturdays @ 11:30 PM (1/5/08-2/2/08; episodes 11-15)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (2/10/08-3/30/08; episodes 16-23)
    - Sundays @ 1:00 AM (4/6/08-4/27/08; episodes 24-27)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (5/4/08-7/6/08; episodes 28-end)

    Canada Airing: YTV (Bionix)
    - Fridays @ 10:00 PM (10/26/07-7/4/08; episodes 1-end)
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Animation, Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    My personal favourite anime. It is a battle of wits from the beginning to the end, with L and Light's character design amazing. There were soMy personal favourite anime. It is a battle of wits from the beginning to the end, with L and Light's character design amazing. There were so many times when I cried from sadness, especially with the loss of a character who I did not expect to die. Amazing. Expand
  2. DME
    Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Death Note is a smart psychological battle from beginning to end.
  3. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    By far THE most engaging anime show I have ever seen! In fact, the most engaging TV show I've ever seen! After episode 25, though, not asBy far THE most engaging anime show I have ever seen! In fact, the most engaging TV show I've ever seen! After episode 25, though, not as much, but still very good. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just askI could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just ask you: What are you still doing here and reading? GO WATCH IT! You can't regret it. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    An incredibly original and addictive show that is so radically different from the majority of other anime that it can't be missed. The plot isAn incredibly original and addictive show that is so radically different from the majority of other anime that it can't be missed. The plot is richly layered and the tension between the two leads is excellently maintained throughout. It is uncompromisingly intelligent, trusting in the viewer's ability to follow events. The logic surrounding the death note is well thought out and is effectively weaved into the plot. Light makes a great anti-hero, a character we can't help but like even though we shouldn't. The character of L is a solitary genius, brilliantly written and totally unique. Death Note always knows where it's going and this creates an intricate yet condense show that is unlike anything else. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deathnote is definitely worth the watch. Suspense, action, a bit of romance, and a supernatural twist all pulled into one, well-made anime. The animation itself was amazing, and had slim to no flaws. Though the English dubbed version brings the rating down majority of the time, the scripting in this one, was wonderful. The actors for the English, and well as the original version, were well-picked, and made no mistakes. It would be a 10/10 rating, had it not done what it had to L. Though it prolonged the story, Mello and Near were not the best characters. Mello played basically no part, and Near seemed like he was only around 7 years old, and also seemed too cocky to have won in the end. L was a main character, and was much better off to have stayed alive. That, was the only flaw in this series. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    Don't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is aDon't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is a very poor copy of L and 'mello' is the worst character i have ever seen tries to act like a bad ass eating chocolate, turns from and edgy dark well written roller coaster of a plot to 'what the hell have they just done!' i will soldier on to see what happens..............well this just turned into a childrens show. thanks for wasting my time death note Expand

See all 58 User Reviews