Death Note : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Death Note Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written
    "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written down in it. However, matters get out of hand when the Japanese Police Force tries to solve the case of the mysterious upsurge in criminal deaths alongside master detective L.

    It's a battle of wits in this anime based on the popular manga by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata.

    Opening Themes:
    - "the WORLD" by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "What's up, People?!" by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-37)

    Ending Themes:
    - "Alumina" (アルミナ, Arumina) by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "Despair Billy" (絶望ビリー, Zetsubō Birī) by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-36)

    Airings Outside of Japan:
    US Airing: Cartoon Network (Adult Swim)
    - Sundays @ 12:00 AM (10/21/07-12/23/07; episodes 1-10)
    - Saturdays @ 11:30 PM (1/5/08-2/2/08; episodes 11-15)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (2/10/08-3/30/08; episodes 16-23)
    - Sundays @ 1:00 AM (4/6/08-4/27/08; episodes 24-27)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (5/4/08-7/6/08; episodes 28-end)

    Canada Airing: YTV (Bionix)
    - Fridays @ 10:00 PM (10/26/07-7/4/08; episodes 1-end)
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Animation, Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    My personal favourite anime. It is a battle of wits from the beginning to the end, with L and Light's character design amazing. There were soMy personal favourite anime. It is a battle of wits from the beginning to the end, with L and Light's character design amazing. There were so many times when I cried from sadness, especially with the loss of a character who I did not expect to die. Amazing. Expand
  2. DME
    Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Death Note is a smart psychological battle from beginning to end.
  3. Oct 2, 2014
    10
    Brilliant. I'll give a list of pros and cons
    Pros
    Brilliant English dub Nice art GREAT story Long series Cons Weak last quarter
    Brilliant. I'll give a list of pros and cons
    Pros
    Brilliant English dub
    Nice art
    GREAT story
    Long series

    Cons
    Weak last quarter
    Terrible theme songs
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just askI could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just ask you: What are you still doing here and reading? GO WATCH IT! You can't regret it. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Death Note takes a route much different to most other anime. No doubt we have heard of standards settings in which the protagonist must fightDeath Note takes a route much different to most other anime. No doubt we have heard of standards settings in which the protagonist must fight as a hero but Death Note rewrites the rules with it's morally questionable anti-hero, Light. The battle between the two characters of Light and L is beautifully portrayed with stunning shocks and thrills along the way. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is no words to describe how amazed i felt episode after episode watching this. This psychological battle is epic and the story is pretty amazing. This type of suspense and drama it's what i love to see either on an Anime or a TV Show. Although, I felt Death Note lost too much with L's death and the attempt to replace him failed a bit but it is still one of the best animes i've seen and i am already re-watching it. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    Don't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is aDon't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is a very poor copy of L and 'mello' is the worst character i have ever seen tries to act like a bad ass eating chocolate, turns from and edgy dark well written roller coaster of a plot to 'what the hell have they just done!' i will soldier on to see what happens..............well this just turned into a childrens show. thanks for wasting my time death note Expand

See all 55 User Reviews