Season #: 1, 2
Death Note Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written
    "The human whose name is written in this note[book] shall die."

    These are the first words read in the Death Note by Light Yagami, a straight-A student who develops a god complex when he finds a notebook, dropped by shinigami Ryuk, that has the power to kill anyone whose name is written down in it. However, matters get out of hand when the Japanese Police Force tries to solve the case of the mysterious upsurge in criminal deaths alongside master detective L.

    It's a battle of wits in this anime based on the popular manga by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata.

    Opening Themes:
    - "the WORLD" by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "What's up, People?!" by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-37)

    Ending Themes:
    - "Alumina" (アルミナ, Arumina) by Nightmare (episodes 1-19)
    - "Despair Billy" (絶望ビリー, Zetsubō Birī) by Maximum the Hormone (マキシマムザホルモン) (episodes 20-36)

    Airings Outside of Japan:
    US Airing: Cartoon Network (Adult Swim)
    - Sundays @ 12:00 AM (10/21/07-12/23/07; episodes 1-10)
    - Saturdays @ 11:30 PM (1/5/08-2/2/08; episodes 11-15)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (2/10/08-3/30/08; episodes 16-23)
    - Sundays @ 1:00 AM (4/6/08-4/27/08; episodes 24-27)
    - Sundays @ 12:30 AM (5/4/08-7/6/08; episodes 28-end)

    Canada Airing: YTV (Bionix)
    - Fridays @ 10:00 PM (10/26/07-7/4/08; episodes 1-end)
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Animation, Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    It's the best anime I've ever seen. The story is so clever. Every character in this show is so original. I can't even put it into words of howIt's the best anime I've ever seen. The story is so clever. Every character in this show is so original. I can't even put it into words of how much I love this show. Expand
  2. DME
    Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Death Note is a smart psychological battle from beginning to end.
  3. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    This is one the best and most engaging shows i have ever seen. it's so well written and animated and you will enjoy the characters no matterThis is one the best and most engaging shows i have ever seen. it's so well written and animated and you will enjoy the characters no matter how despicable they are being. if you enjoy good storytelling and great character you owe it to yourself to watch this from start to finish Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just askI could write how awesome, intelligent, fascinating, complex, addicting, developed, stunning and thrilling this anime is. Or I could just ask you: What are you still doing here and reading? GO WATCH IT! You can't regret it. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    An incredibly original and addictive show that is so radically different from the majority of other anime that it can't be missed. The plot isAn incredibly original and addictive show that is so radically different from the majority of other anime that it can't be missed. The plot is richly layered and the tension between the two leads is excellently maintained throughout. It is uncompromisingly intelligent, trusting in the viewer's ability to follow events. The logic surrounding the death note is well thought out and is effectively weaved into the plot. Light makes a great anti-hero, a character we can't help but like even though we shouldn't. The character of L is a solitary genius, brilliantly written and totally unique. Death Note always knows where it's going and this creates an intricate yet condense show that is unlike anything else. Expand
  6. May 18, 2015
    9
    "Death Note" is a controversial anime show, controversial just for what is the main theme of the story. The mature approach of the subject"Death Note" is a controversial anime show, controversial just for what is the main theme of the story. The mature approach of the subject (there is some humor though) is what makes the show so compelling and thought-provoking. The animation is great, one of the more detailed I have seen in animes. The music fits the somber aspect of the story well and feels no tiring. Characters in the show are well constructed, and the relationship between the main characters is the most intriguing aspect, making an excellent case of the "cat and mouse" detective game. This is what makes "Death Note" so interesting despite some episodes can feel less compelling, like fillers, or despite some events are exaggerated, bordering into the unbelievable. Still "Death Note" is not just one of the best animes I have seen, it is also one of the best animated shows I have ever seen. It is not perfect but you won't regret having seen it all. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    Don't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is aDon't even bother, yea the first season is amazing! but all it does is build for the biggest fail, they kill L and the show dies 'near' is a very poor copy of L and 'mello' is the worst character i have ever seen tries to act like a bad ass eating chocolate, turns from and edgy dark well written roller coaster of a plot to 'what the hell have they just done!' i will soldier on to see what happens..............well this just turned into a childrens show. thanks for wasting my time death note Expand

See all 56 User Reviews